Phone Scoop

printed August 1, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=2185&s=h&p=3

Home  ›  Phones  ›  HTC  ›

HTC Touch Pro2 (CDMA)

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  100+  

Phone Scoop Review


User Reviews

Average Ratings

4.01
Overall
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      
Page 12 3 45

The good the Bad and now the sweet

 

Aug 30, 2010 by jetman028

I got this phone on Verizon with WM 6.1. Phone was a dog and super slow. Updated to WM 6.5 2 weeks later and the phone was better but still a dog. Freeze ups, super slow you name it. I disabled the HTC sense weather app and Boom phone is working great. Disable a few other Sense options and no more hang ups or freezing like before. Granted I was getting a few freeze ups here and there, But overall the phone was working as expected. Enter SPB mobile shell 3.5. Since installing this app its like a brand new phone. Highly customizable, fast, never hangs up i mean its like a whole new OS on top of WM. I have been running for 3+ weeks now without any issues whatsoever. The only lag you get still is when you slide out keyboard and screen goes landscape. Once you learn how to use the SPB app and customize your phone you will love your TP2 again. This SPB app is awesome and really makes your phone yours with all the customization. The contacts list is a bit clunky ( better than WM but not HTC) but you can set up different custom contact screens with photos that cures that. I was ready to switch phones and now i can enjoy my TP2's keyboard. Which in my opinion is the best keyboard of any cell phone hands down. Now I can stay out of contract and wait out the Iphone.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Amazing

 

Aug 17, 2010 by narn3049

Simply astonishing device. I was up at a phone store and this phone was on display. It is simply a sweet phone. I'm wondering why Verizon discontinued the TP2?

sweet phone

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


Best phone yet

 

Jun 11, 2010 by benjfoster

I ordered this phone the first day it was available. It has been the best phone/device I have owned to date, but it is still not perfect. Before this phone I have had Treos (700w, 800w, and Pro). This phone outshines each of these phones in every aspect except for one handed use.

To respond to Blah's review. My TP2 has been off the charger for over 14 hours, with over 30 minutes of talk time, lots of texting, emailing, and web use, and my battery shows 40%

Pros
Battery Life
Screen resolution
Speakerphone quality
Call quality
Opera browser

Cons
Occasional freezing
Small improvements with WM 6.5
Have to turn on text completion each time you restart the phone!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Lots of potential

 

May 4, 2010 by jeremylobaugh

Let me start by saying, I love the products that HTC puts out. I have owned many of them, and have always been impressed with their ability do design a solid handset.

The TP2 is a very well designed piece of hardware. Yest, it's big and yes, it's heavy, but what would one expect out of a device that is packed to the gills with bells and whistles.

Where I get confused is the fact that someone thought it would be a great idea to put Windows Mobile on this device. WM 6.5, IMO, is garbage. It is not that different from the original Pocket PC OS, and is really beginning to show it's age. It's laggy, not very customizable, boring, and an all around disappointment.

Pros:
Solid design
Great Speakerphone
Good use of real estate

Cons:
So-So battery life
Windows Mobile
Resistive Touch Screen :(

I have boxed this guy up and swapped back to my HERO until Windows 7 Phone come out...hopefully the TP2 will get the upgrade

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


What it could have been...

 

Apr 30, 2010 by GrumpyJoe

Pros-
Key board
Screen
Solid feel when screen is NOT tilted up
You can do a lot with it

Cons-
Battery life is terrible. I have a spare and can go through both in one day.
Heavy
Screen does not have a solid feel when tilted up.
Takes sometimes a few touches to get the screen to respond,
Slow

This could have been a totally awesome PDA. A faster processor would make it the greatest thing ever. I could live with the heavy part. Overall I do like this phone and I will keep it. I have to have a manual keyboard. But like I said... Man, what this could have been.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


I like!

 

Apr 26, 2010 by dreebiie

im not picky when it comes to phones...i had the touch pro not even a yr and the screen went out then the keypad went out....overall though i loved the pro...hated the battery liife tho.so i switched to the touch pro 2

Pros:
huge screen
alot better battery life
its easier to use...i c enhancements in the touch screen.web browsing and etc

Cons:
its starting to freeze some

overall great phone!!!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Eh its alright

 

Apr 7, 2010 by kebby03

Used it for a few weeks and it was ok. I personally would pick my Blackberry in a heartbeat though.

Pros:
Best keyboard I've ever used
Internet browser
Data speeds

Cons:
Windows Mobile (Very glitchy)
Freezes and reboots
Battery life could be better for amount of use
Size
Touch screen hard to use at times
Email hard to setup unless its Microsoft Exchange

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Disappointing

 

Feb 4, 2010 by adriane86

Pro's: has full qwerty on touch that also includes smart sentencing, really great pic, vid and sound quality

Con's: touch screen is kinda "iffy" of when it wants to work, really sluggish when going from one app to another, keyboard on phone more often then not won't respond as your typing (beware if you type fast), really complicating to navigate

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Great phone.

 

Jan 8, 2010 by Dbzrfl

I love this phone it's more then a phone but a beast of a phone so much power it's the phone of choice for windows mobile users but since my wife wants to switch carriers I have to sale it I got 2 of these on sale brand new never opened on ebay
since we are getting att wirless i'm getting the htc tilt 2 its the same phone with a diffrent name it's like a mini pc in the palm of your hands

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Best qwerty phone

 

Dec 22, 2009 by Lito187

I recently upgraded from My Touch Pro to The Touch Pro 2 with Sprint. I must say that this phone has the best keyboard ever. The screen is nice and bright. Anyone who is a texter than this is the phone for you.

Pros:
Keyboard is big
Big screen 3.6 inch
You Tube app for videos on the go
Great Web browsing
Battery is way better than TP
Customization Options

Cons:
When setting up my hotmail the web browser keeps opening. It is fixable through HTC but still it should not be a problem. Could have came with 6.5 but will soon be available.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

Page 12 3 45

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
1