Phone Scoop

printed November 24, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=207&s=h&p=3

Home  ›  Phones  ›  Samsung  ›

Samsung SCH-A530

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  34  

Average Ratings

3.99
Overall
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      
Page 12 3 45678

Awesome!!!

 

May 19, 2003 by Scott Godin

This is a great phone. I have been using it for about a week and have found very little to complain about and a whole lot to love. I had the Audiovox 9500 before this and was very disappointed with the battery life and it was a bit large for my tastes. After deciding to add a second line, I had to decide between the A-530 and the LG 4400, which is another great phone. A few of my friends already have the LG so I opted for the Samsung.

Pros:
-Call quality (most important factor to me).
-Color screen.
-Battery life (even with standard battery).
-Reception.
-Size.
-Quality (fit and finish).
-Outside color screen.
-Great deal from Verizon ($200, less $50 rebate plus free extended life battery).

Cons:
-Small caller ID font on outside screen.
-Could use more screen savers.
-Third button for voice dial would be nice (note that the need for this is mitigated by the fact that you can set the voice dial to activate by opening the phone).

If you buy this phone, you will not be disappointed.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Awesome phone!

 

Jun 16, 2003 by Matt Mayate

The A530 has a great color screen both in n' out. The size of the phone is another great part about it. The software seems a little slow, especially for any game play. The ringer is fairly loud with 4 settings plus multiple settings as in single bell, vibrate (which is pretty powerful), and vibrate/ring.
I had the T720 and the software was a little better. Although the screen on the A530
is a lot brighter. The only part I personally do not like is that you cannot download in your personal pictures yet. Overall I think that the A530 is well worth it if your looking for a new phone.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


Simply Great!

 

Aug 10, 2003 by Bill K

Had a V60c for the last 16 months and a V8160 before that, so I come from some good phones. This a530 is a totally new level of technology, audio performnace and connection quality.

Animation is not critical in a phone user interface, but color is not a just a nice-to-have if you want to navigate a phone quickly and efficiently. When color is implemented this well, it's a critical visual cue that aids discrimination between menu picks. The menu design is light years beyond Motorola. Call quality is just like land-line.

I went with "all-digital" because I can in my area - even rural Northern Maryland has 100% digital. The battery life is endless, and that's a another key thing for me - not to mention getting two batteries with the phone!

Get it. It's simply the best hardware Verizon offers right now.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Great Little Phone!

 

Jul 7, 2003 by pmcafee

I work for Radioshack and I just purchased this little phone. What a great phone! It's small, compact, has great signal strength. I have absolutely no complaints about this phone at all. I have had no dropped calls, and my battery life is awesome at at least 4 days standby on the standard battery. I would recommend this phone to everyone who has Verizon service. I have Verizon service on Long Island where it is pretty much all digital. If you live in an area that's not all digital then this phone will not cover it completely. If that's the case get the Samsung A310 which is Tri-mode, and has the same great signal strength of this phone.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Samsung a530 is a Superb piece of Art

 

Jun 28, 2003 by Darren Holmquist

Hi,

I am a Verizon Wireless Employee and this phone is great. I love it! Works great and all digital is THE WAY to go. The Verizon Wireless OWNED network is now 100% digital with overlapping analog in some areas left over.

Thank you and ENJOY!

Darren

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Awesome phone!!

 

Aug 7, 2003 by ddruyor

I used this phone for a month when it first came out. Awesome. Never had any problems with it, my girlfriend is still using it w/ no probs too. Having the 2nd battery is handy. and the talk time is excellent.

Reception is great, lots of good features.

The gold on the outside needs to go, it should be all silver like the rest of the samsungs (or black metalic or black chrome??!!). But the ouside color is just a personal preference, I got used to it.

Only complaint is the screen. Downloaded Pictures look terrible (worst color phone yet I've seen). Also the STN screen really should be a TFT. Oh, last complaint is that it's already almost outdated now that VZ has a camera phone out. Even if you don't use the camera, the TFT display is super-nice.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Great Phone

 

Jun 26, 2003 by Mr Obro

The Good:

Reception/call clarity are great.
Battery life is exceptional for both standard and extended (both included with purchase).
Menu is very intuitive and user friendly.
Size is great, even for large hands.
Dual color screens.
Main color screen is very crisp (see bad).
Nice internal VM feature (see bad).
Digital only format (see bad).

The Bad:

Under bright light conditions the main screen washes out almost entirely. The front color screen cannot be seen w/o back light, which won't stay on.

The phones internal VM called call screening has a max pick wait of 10 seconds. However first ring occurs several seconds after connection leaving little time to pick up call before it goice to internal voice mail.

Antenna post in a position to be damaged if battery is replaced in a 'rough' manner.

Possible bad is the digital only format. Great in you live and travel in the network area. Rural areas may be problem.

The bad are minor issues in my book. Mainly great features that were not executed as well as they should have been.

I recommend.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


samsung a530

 

Jun 4, 2003 by Erin Smith

pro: i loved everything about this phone. basically the only thing that i had a problem with is that the phone never rang. went back switched phones. the new one never rang. called samsung and they told me that apparantly none of them ring in new yorkat all i thought hmm wow they sell phones that dont work now at verizon. so if you live in new york and want to buy this phone dont. it just creates frustration. they said however that they wil be fixing it in a month but verizon apparantly didnt care and wouldnt let me use a different model until the samsung was fixed. i now have the lg which i like but i would prefer the samsung because it has more options and features.

cons: verizon and samsung and cant see the screen in bright sun and it doesnt ring.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


scha530

 

May 10, 2003 by JF

just bought the 530 yesterday to replace my motorola vader 8160.this phone is the best one i've seen out of verizon yet.great size,menus are easy to navigate,rich color lcd,great battery life.would have gotten a 5 except for the size of the font on the front lcd for the caller id the print is smaller than on verizon's contracts,but over all good stuff

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Great Phone so far

 

May 15, 2003 by Planet6

I have been waiting for the release of this phone from Verizon since it was announced last november. So far I really like this phone. Best phone I have seen from Verizon. I have not had the chance to travel with it, so I am not sure how the All Digital capabilities will effect my travel as I roam in and out of analog areas, but so far I am very happy with all the features and ease of use.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

Page 12 3 45678

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
1