Phone Scoop

printed August 23, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=170&s=h&p=2

Home  ›  Phones  ›  Audiovox  ›

Audiovox CDM-9500 / Toshiba CDM9500

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  9  

Average Ratings

4.08
Overall
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      
Page 1 2 34567

All that and a little more!

 

Jan 16, 2003 by Christina Lounsbury

I work for one of verizon's external retail sources and have had several phones. There is NO comparison between them and this phone! The colors are FANTASTIC! The down-loadable ring-tones are great and the screen size is fabulous. The menus are easy to navigate. I wish they had put the alphabetical choice for the phone book first but most everything else is fabulous. I'll admit the antenna length is laughable but I never have to extend it so I hadn't noticed until my husband pulled it out the other night. It made us both laugh so I guess it did it's job huh? If you have any doubts about buying this phone, look at the ratings here and go see this phone in person and you'll make your mind up in no time. The extended life battery IS a MUST if you use your phone a lot though! I have not tried downloading pictures as of yet but the ring-tones are easy as pie to access and the fact that verizon lets you hear them before you buy them is great. BEWARE you will suck battery life WAY down if you hear too many before you choose the right one. FABULOUS PHONE!! Get one if you can!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


VZW Employee's Rating

 

Jan 11, 2003 by roklifter

This is THE best phone VZW offers currently. In the PCS market (FL), Audiovox 9000 series seem to handle PCS signal better than all other VZW phones (excluding the Qualcomm 1900 a.k.a. "Brick phone"). Motorola recently seems to release phones still in need of major testing &/or corrections. Audiovox consistently releases well-designed phones that don't require up to 5 store visits annually for software updates. The CDM-9500 display is excellent, speaker-phone works great, 1-ft antenna for steel metal shop customers (haha), clarity is wonderful...and the list goes on. Just like w/any other phn that offers extensive color displays, lg memory for Voice Activated addresses & other items...you REALLY NEED an extended life battery ($59.99) & car charger ($29.99). This isn't a phone or wireless carrier problem. As wireless moves into this new demand of extensive graphics & mini-computer-like phones, extended life batteries will soon be considered the "standard life battery" must-have!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


BEST PHONE AND LOW PRICE($99)

 

Dec 28, 2002 by Okapeto

I've bought the z-800 and returned it within 2 days for this phone. this is the best phone verizon has. the sound, speekerphone, pictur.the z-800 is agood phone but this is #1. 1 thing that is wierd about this phone is **the antenna is 5 years long** but that doesn't seem to bother much people. i recommend this phone to anyone because of it's color, sound, and low price. also i love the sleek japanese style. p.s. needs a camera.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Audiovox CDM-9500 Rated by VZW Employee

 

Dec 26, 2002 by Jacob Voth

The Audiovox CDM-9500 is a great phone. I previously had the Motorola T720 (also a great phone, but is in need of a newer software version, even .19C doesn't exactly cut the cake). and I beleive that the 9500 is a better phone (but it is more expensive). The screen is a tad better than the T720 (also, a little larger), it has a much louder ringer and earpiece volume level (not to mention a speakerphone), and a much, much nicer, more sorted-out software system than the T720. All in all, I highly recommend this phone (of course I highly rec. any Verizon phone).
The caveats? Well, the battery life is short but not any shorter than the T720 (from what I have noticed), it is not as easy to use as the T720, the external display is a tad smaller than the T720 (not a really big deal) and it is larger in size.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


GREAT PHONE

 

Feb 17, 2003 by tnbabe

I love this phone it is the best i have ever had. I do not know what the people are talking about with the ringer i find that it is one of the loudest phones when it comes to the ringer. And sure the antenna is a little funny but i was out one day could not get any signal and then pulled up my antenna and i had 3 bars. so i am thankful for my long antenna. the only problem that i think i have with this phone is there are GET IT now games that this phone can not download and i wish that i could but other than that i love the phone

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Great phone...except

 

Feb 15, 2003 by D Brooks

I was so happy when this phone was first purchased great picture, cool features-yeah! Noticed that the volume, when maxed, did not seem to be loud enough (on incoming calls). Being that it was used for work and on the road a lot volume is a must. After one week took it back (thinking it must just be this phone they can't all be this way) wrong! Sales clerk brings out another phone activates it cranks up the volume, I use it, same thing. The low volume on my previous model equaled the highest on this, what a bummer! I would have given this model a 5 but instead it gets a 2.5 because I had trouble hearing people on incoming calls. Exchange it for a Motorola T720 which I can hear much better with but graphics pale by comparison-wah!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Awesome Phone

 

Dec 22, 2002 by speedy3

I've had this phone for 8 days now and continuously, it impresses me. I think that Audiovox did well with this one. The color screen is second to none and the Motorola T720 can't even come close. I hear that the CDM 9600 with the digital camera is around the corner in '03. That's probably the only thing that will be able to surpass this model (unless you want the PDA featured Kyocera 7135). But who needs a digital camera that small anyway.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


CDM9500 from Verizon

 

Jan 12, 2003 by Craig Underhill

Absolutely the best cell phone I have ever had, the battery life was kind of short when it was new, however the battery seems to last longer the more often I recharge it, the speaker function is great in my line of work and the only thing that was displeasing was to have to pay to download games, my wifes free phone came with games. Please email me if you want more info or programming tips.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Nice!

 

Dec 16, 2002 by Mike Stolfa

I love this phone. It has few faults, the battery life with the standard battery and the inability to mute the phone without opening it. None of these are significant for me.

Otherwise, the screen is fantastic, the speaker phone works reasonably well and the quility build is awesome.

There is no reason not to buy this phone now that the price has dropped.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Best Reception!

 

Apr 4, 2003 by David L

I like my 9500, despite a few minor annoyances like small keys/no outside keys and battery life.

One of the most important features is fringe area reception...it's incredible. Better than the startac 7868, while out in the country or in poorly covered suburbs.
That long antenna has a purpose... superior signal holding!

Also, an important part of a cellular phone purchase is the ability to share tips, tricks and customizations with other users. The 9500 has many options and takes some time to explore and master.

There is a very helpful forum for 9500 users to pool their collective knowledge at
cdmangels.com.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

Page 1 2 34567

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
1