Phone Scoop

printed October 22, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=170&s=h&p=4

Home  ›  Phones  ›  Audiovox  ›

Audiovox CDM-9500 / Toshiba CDM9500

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  9  

Average Ratings

4.08
Overall
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      
Page 123 4 567

Great Phone

 

Nov 26, 2002 by Jerome Gay

This phone has everything that you would need in a phone. Speaker phone, Voice Dialing, memo and recoding. This is a great and Verizon has the best service in the industry which make the phone even better. This phone is also 1x capable which increases battery, I am in the Carolina marker where 1x has been deployed. The only weird think about this phone is the antenna the antenna is able 3 feet long. lol Realistically about a foot long. This is a great phone. The only phone I see coming out better is the 7135

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


AUDIOVOX!!

 

Jun 22, 2004 by myphone2003

I give this phone 3 stars. Phone has a big color screen, speaker phone is OK, not the best, battery life does not last long, though you can get an extendable batteries. it heats up a little if you've been talking on the phone for a while. The phone is pretty cool, a lot of features, what sucks, no camera, it needs to a have camera, and the size of the phone. The size is pretty big, it just needs to be a little smaller. I would recommend this phone to anyone.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


Overall good phone

 

Jun 9, 2004 by LBHK2

I liked this phone while i had it. The only reason I had to get rid of it was because I broke it. There's only 2 bad things about this phone. The batter life is low, but you can fix that if you buy a battery add on which enhances your battery life. It is also quite big. It's referred to "the tank" when my friends and I speak of the phone. But other than those 2 things, it's a great phone. Holds lots of memory, very good reception all around and has a very good color display.
I had to "upgrade" to a T720 by Motorola after breaking this phone. It's the worst "upgrade" (more like downgrade) in the world.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Still a very nice phone & well worth retaining

 

Mar 12, 2004 by Airwar

I purchased this phone in January 2003 and as of March 2004 I am still very satisfied with it. It was more phone than I expected. I too could not put this phone down the first two weeks I owned it. Signal strength was mostly max-ed on the bar graph display. Some dropped calls but this might be system related from Verizon and not the phone. "Get it now", seems a little hooky with some of the junk offered?
I have seen the Audiovox 9950 and feel this 9500 phone is still a very close version and I will retain it over a present day upgrade to the 9950. I sincerely hope Audiovox will support this phone for several years as I will pass it to my children. What more can I say other than .... I'am Happy with it !!

Present Software as of March 2004 = 111.033

PROs
Big-Bright clear screen.
Volumn & Speaker phone.
Downloadable Everything.
Modern Slim Appearence.
Well organized phone book and messageing menu.
Plenty of phone book entry capacity over previous models.

CONs
No calculator
More Accessories should have come with it for the price.
Standard Battery life can be overcome with good plug in habits.
One more software clean up is necessary and owed the customer.
Flip-Phone Hinge could be more robust as after (1) year I am seeing a little wear.
Screen should be more scratch resistant.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Worst phone I have ever owned.

 

Mar 11, 2004 by scamsta

I've owned every type of phone from nokia, to samsung. This is by far the worst phone I have ever used along with the worst carrier (U.S. Cellular, Chicago). I didn't have my phone more then 3 months when the screen started shorting out (Both external and internal). I have never dropped the phone, and yet the screen now goes out from time to time. The green display light will not work behind the keys at times, and i usually just have no picture at all on the large screen. Because of the large screen the battery life absolutely sucks compared to other color screens. Making one 30 min. call during the day will ensure that you'll be charging the phone that late afternoon. The volume is also terrible. It's a large 'clunky' phone that makes me wonder why I was ever attracted to it. When approaching U.S. Cellular about the problem, they offered me to send it out to service for 8-12 weeks and give me a loaner phone that was far from comparable to my already crappy phone.
So now I have a large ugly phone, which displays don't work, and when I talked to a manager at U.S. Cellular about how I would be happy to purchase a different phone at a discounted price (Seeing it hadn't even been one year since I had it), he told me that there was a "difference between customer service and customer satisfaction." I am canceling my contract with them, and taking my number to a better phone and carrier.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


its pretty tight..

 

Feb 13, 2004 by chino

whats up? i originally got the phone in may of '03 and i thought the phone was pretty dope. the main reason i got it was at the time it was the only phone in my market that had a full nice color display. after having the phone for about a month was when i realized how tight it was really was. all the features from the phonebook, to the speakerphone and the screen...ahhhh i just loved it! but..there were some drawbacks as well. like the frickin battery. its horrible!! this phone is the bomb and you definately need to invest in the extended battery. i hated the battery and i started hating the fact that i couldnt find any cool faceplates or anything. oh well.. after having this phone for 7 months and dropping it repeatedly i had to get something new. but the phone was still pretty tight.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Dont Judge Phone By its cover.

 

Oct 14, 2003 by KDFresh

I work for Verizon Wireless and I have had almost every phone that comes to market and even some test phones that did not make it so far. This phone is the most reliable and has the best signal strength of any phone that I have ever had. If Audiovox would only make the phone a little smaller and gave it some better looks, I would then have to say that this would be the best EVER! I am still waiting for something better to challenge this phone in quality.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Great phone, but a few things could be better

 

Sep 18, 2003 by roamer1

Good things:

- 100 voice dial entries (more than any other phone I've ever seen!)
- fringe reception on both digital AND analog -- I've tested it extensively in places such as the basement of my office in Atlanta and very rural parts of east Tennessee and it outperforms nearly every other phone, and in some cases, every, I've had)
- two-line external display
- the bright color screen that doesn't get nearly as easily washed out as some others, such as the Mot i95cl for Nextel)

Not-so-good things:

- Design of the phonebook -- it seems very clumsy to me, especially having to press three or more buttons to search by name -- but the large voice dial memory helps compensate :)
- no outside buttons -- requires opening the flip to silence rings on unwanted incoming calls or use the speakerphone
- volume of earpiece, speakerphone, and rings could be a bit louder
- battery life is a bit on the short side (but with all the features and the great reception the 9500 has, it's not bad at all...)

Summary: the 9500 is clearly one of the best phones VZW has ever offered; it suffers from only a few minor quirks.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Brew connection doesn't work,and alltel's(customer service) suck

 

Sep 12, 2003 by elbert little

Well, I love this phone but what I really like is its capabilities of having ringtones and pictures. A friend of mine has the exact same phone so I had to get it. I got the phone, great reception, great display, but no ringtones, no funky beats. So I took it in for repair. It stayed in repair about four months and it came back yesterday. The moment I got it back it didn't work. I don't know if its the phone or just alltel. They give me the run around and all I ask for is a phone that I paid for work like it suppose to.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Great phone

 

Sep 5, 2003 by David Ruffin

The best phone I've ever used....battery life is average with extended battery, not so good without...all around great phone

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

Page 123 4 567

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
1