Phone Scoop

printed October 31, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=1493&s=h&p=2

Home  ›  Phones  ›  Motorola  ›

Motorola Renegade V950

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  39  

Average Ratings

4.16
Overall
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      
Page 1 2 34

Well built phone

 

Sep 30, 2008 by ammkad

Great Phone!!! Very rugged and durable!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Best Phone Ever

 

Sep 2, 2009 by X-Sprint

This is the phone I have been waiting for. It is the best phone I have ever owned. I worked for Sprint for just over two years and it is the best phone that I saw during that time period.

PROS: Solid phone. Good camera. All the features. Is what it is.

CONS: When the battery dies it beeps REALLY LOUD. This loud beep goes on for hours. Everybody around you will hate you. It beeps when you are using it. When the phone is up to your ear it hurts! There is no option in the settings to turn the beep off. I have checked. I hated it so much I called Motorola and complained. They verified that there is no way to stop it or turn it down.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


Not a Great Phone by a log shot

 

Aug 28, 2009 by jerry1876

I purchased this phone in March of 09 it is now August. The Phone has burned through 6 chargers and an extended battery. Now the Phone will not charge at all. What is worse is that I purchased the same phone for my 12 year old son in February and he is now having the same problems. It has a very short battery life and seems to have problems with the charges these chargers were all Motorola chargers not the cheaper generic ones. I would not recommend this phone to anyone I work in the construction type business and this is the worst Motorola product I have owned in 20years of cell phones.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


LOVE MY RENEGADE V950!

 

Jul 21, 2009 by JEEPOFFROADV8

got to say this is 1 bad ass phone!! was with nextel for 5 years, had the i880 prior to this phone. should have switched along time ago! sprint is sooooo much better and this phone makes the i880 feel really really old!

pros:
evdo reva= fast internet, i use opera and bolt for my browsers.
great display
rugged military spec
great speaker quality
sprint tv
gps autonomus,and assisted
great camera, and video quality
on demand
850mhz roaming

cons
battery: i dont have dc enabled, so i turn of data when not using it, and it lasts for 2 days, all you could expect from a feature rich phone

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Practically Perfect In Every Way

 

May 22, 2009 by bry1023ny

So... you need a phone that's going to last and stand the test of time. You want rock-solid dependability, durability, and performance. Well you've found it in the Renegade V950!

The Basics:
Call quality is excellent, earpiece volume can go very loud with no distortion. Speakerphone quality is excellent, volume can wake up the dead with no distortion here either. Ringtones are plentiful and again can go ear-piercingly loud if needed. Signal strength is excellent, I would say above average than most Sprint phones. If your phone isn't in a coverage area, it will enter into roaming automatically (moving from one mode to the other is relatively quick).

Build:
In a word, muscular. RAZR styling, with the ruggedness of rubber, and military spec to make it withstand rain, dust, vibration, etc. The flip closes with absolute authority. Beneath it is a chrome bezel highlighting the high-resolution display. The keypad is well-spaced apart allowing for easy dialing and basic texting (lights up in blue).

Camera, Video, Music Player, Bluetooth:
Great resolution and quality. There is the included MicroSD card situated beneath the battery that will store all of your photos and videos. Haven't tried the music player or bluetooth but I'd recommend a matching Motorola headset.

Battery:
Lots of complaints but there is an easy solution. Go to the settings for "Data Access". Turn this feature "Off". When you do, battery life is on par with any other phone similar in class. Also turn off Bluetooth and Location if you don't use these features to help improve battery life further. The reason the standby time is so short is that this being a Nextel walkie-talkie it constantly talks with the network and requires access once every 5 minutes or so, draining precious battery power.

I'd highly recommend this phone to anyone who is looking for the basics - who values Motorola dependability and quality. I came from a pre-paid service so the V950 is great!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


EVDO REV. A ROCKS THE V950 ON THE 2 WAY NEXTEL RADIO

 

Mar 12, 2009 by artp59

Real good phone the direct connect is the best i had the iden it did not work well in my area but the v950 is the good one for Sarasota FL
and if you go in to Rural areas it works it has the 1900 CDMA and 850 for roaming where the iden don't or the ic902 ic602 they only have 1900 sprint side 800 iden side for nextel you go in to the country your not getting out.

Cons.

When they update your software the audio goes down such as your voice Ring tones music player etc. sprint updated the firmware/software march 11 of 2009 now the sprint TV is way down in audio the sprint music radio is low in audio if you have a real mp3 ring tone you might not here it 10 feet a way. software ver as of March 11 2009 CDMA WATER2_00.65.01p.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


RENEGADE V950

 

Feb 22, 2009 by FATMANN853

Best Phone Out Thare Just That BATTERY lIFE Is Verry Short.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


V950

 

Feb 17, 2009 by guerilla2424

The only reason i give this phone a 4.5 is due to the battery. A lot of people complain about this but what do you expect from a phone with a lot of features. just go buy a car charger or spare battery on Amazon or ebay.

Other than that, this phone is awesome, no questions asked. I have a outdoor job where this a lot of moisture and rough terrain, this phone lives up to its ruggedness and it is definitley rain proof. Speaker is the best yet even comparable to the Sanyo 4900. The reception is about the same as every other phone. The earpiece volume is loud. the phone is a good piece of equipment.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Best Rugged Phone w/ features.

 

Feb 10, 2009 by jgroland

Since signing on with Sprint for a year I have had the Sanyo SCP-3200 basic fliphone, and ever since I have wanted a rugged phone simply because I am rough with my phones. Well in doing my research it seems this phone is packed with the best features you can have with the fastest speeds.

I just purchased the phone and it is solid and looks like it can take a beating:

PROS:
----------------------------
* EXTRA RUGGED (TAKES MORE THAN OTHER RUGGED PHONES SALT FOG ANYONE?)
*2 MEGAPIXEL CAMERA W/ FLASH... COMES IN HANDY
*FAST DATA REV A.. NONE FASTER
*8GB MEMORY CAPABLE?? WHO NEEDS THAT MUCH?
*GREAT MOTOROLA SUPPORT
*SOLID W/ GOOD WEIGHT, NOT A PLASTIC FEEL
*THIN FOR A RUGGED PHONE, JUST A TAD OVER THE THICKNESS OF THE RAZR.
*LIVE TV ANYONE?
*NOT SLOW LIKE iDEN PHONES ESPECIALLY FOR TEXT AND MMS MESSAGING iDEN IS AWEFUL.

CONS:
-----------------------------
*BATTERY LIFE (EVERYONE WILL ENCOUNTER THIS IF NOT JUST A SMALL AMOUNT SO DO LIKE I DID AND BUY THE EXTENDED BATTERY AND COVER)
*QCHAT ONLY WORKS IN HIGH SPEED DATA AREAS (IF YOUR NOT USING THE 'CHIRP' TURN IT OFF IT DRAINS THE BATTERY)
*BLUETOOTH DRAINS BATTERY ALSO (TURN OFF IF NOT USING)

Although I know the battery issue is a major one I have a feeling it will improve with firmware, this phone is great and with all of the features no wonder the battery is drained.
I agree with others that the phone should ship with the extended battery and cover (They may start doing this).
Don't let others get you down about buying this phone it is good for everything and you wont be able to break it like your other phone (Even versus other ruugged phones).

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


V950 from Ic902/i880

 

Jan 29, 2009 by KennyJ19

I just got my new V950 and so fare i love it, the Direct connect is fast, I have had the Ic502,Ic902,i880 and a few other's I have had nextel for over 6yrs and i could never change from SprintNextel, i was scared about getting this phone just becuse the Direct Connect dose not work every were that the Iden network dose but i really do like it so fare.

I just hope that sprit will soon exspand the Qchat out to cover every were that Nextel Iden is.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

Page 1 2 34

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
1