Phone Scoop

printed October 30, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=1375&s=h&p=3

Home  ›  Phones  ›  Samsung  ›

Samsung BlackJack II SGH-i617

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  100+  

Average Ratings

3.97
Overall
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      
Page 12 3 456

Excellent Device

 

Nov 10, 2008 by glennathan

I purchased the device about a month ago and I can say I am very happy with it. Here is a couple of things I noticed.

PROS:
1.User friendly
2.good amount of storage
3.great for text with QWERTY keyboard
4.good camera
5.bluetooth is easy to use

CONS:
1.Smudges on screen come from nowhere
2.Battery life a little less then expected prob due to 3G services
3.Make sure to lock keypad otherwise will open functions by itself

I definitely recommend this device. I also got the 6.1 update for it and very satisfied so far. I will be keeping this device for quite a while.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Favorite Phone yet!

 

Oct 8, 2008 by qdavison

I have found this phone to be almost perfect! I first bought my wife one and found myself playing with it, so i sold my phone (htc 8125) to get this.
PROS
-Battery (id say better than average)
-Fully keyboard
-actual gps ( i hate phones advertised with gps that are only triangulation positioning!)
-call volume (exceptional!)
- call clarity (Better thank any phone ive had)
-recetion (good as most att phones)
CONS
-no wifi (only con if no data plan like me)
-no touch screen (not really a con just takes a littl getting used to after having one.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


bluetooth

 

Sep 20, 2008 by wheels360

I am considering getting this phone....could someone please tell me if CV and Mobitv audio will play through a stereo bluetooth or only when using the voice function. I recently used a samsung 727. the CV and mobitv audio will not play through the bluetooth...HELP!!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


great phone with a few bugs

 

Sep 15, 2008 by kidjbg

overall, this is a great phone. The 3G is lightning quick and is great compared to other 3G devices. the only problem I had with the device is the speaker. After a period of time, 3 months for me, the speaker becomes filled with static and I cannot hear the person on the other end of the phone call. Besides this, it is an awesome phone and a great PDA for anyone

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Sweet

 

Aug 31, 2008 by mikeyrey5

this phone is awesome it does everything that i want it to be. i dont live in a 3g network but even the internet where i live (not a 3g network) the internet is really good. so everybody get this phone it is awesome

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


this phone is great!

 

Aug 27, 2008 by jazibelle

ok, so i got this phone monday and i absolutely love it! this is the first PDA/SmartPhone I've had and coming from a Razr V3xx it's a DEFINITE upgrade! :)

Pros:
*3G is SUPER fast (though sometimes i switch it to EDGE (which is still pretty fast) so save battery life)
*full qwerty keyboard (MAJOR PLUS)
*cheap data package
*microSD card slot (a big plus for all my music and pictures)
*call quality is amazing
*datebook which is great for keeping all my appointments, tests, and other school things in order
*all the other ones everyone else was saying

Cons:
*texts aren't in chat format, but i'm downloading txtman to fix that...
*can't transfer SIM contacts to phone, but i don't mind doing that by hand

....can't think of anymore. i recommend this phone to any college student who does heavy texting and internet browsing. i have the pink and white one and i love it!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Great for a Windows mobile

 

Aug 5, 2008 by dmh3107

The phone works awsome. It is user friendly and looks good too. However, it is a typical "Windows Mobile Phone" in that it freezes for a few seconds and glitches. this is my 2nd windows phone and it seems typical for the phones to glitch. So if you don't mind a few seconds of delay every once in a while then you will enjoy it!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


EXCELLENT PHONE BUT NOT MAC SYNC COMPATIBLE

 

Jul 31, 2008 by Austiniter

Almost the perfect phone but SAMSUNG elected to not include software for syncing the phone up with a MAC. It works fine for any Windows PC but for MAC it does not.
SAMSUNG really needs to get with it and develop a sync program which works with the Blackjack II and MAC.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Issues

 

Jul 29, 2008 by tchaz

I've had this phone for 2 weeks, since having a BBerry for over 2 years. I had to upgrade, by BBerry broke, so I thought I'd expand my horizons. Here's what I found:

On the BBerry, I had a single inbox. On the BJ, I went to a messaging screen, and my text messages, corporate Exchange email and personal email accounts each had separate screens. It lost my internet connection daily, so I had to remove the battery and hard boot the phone. . . DAILY. The connection was okay, but couldn't compare to the consistent connection of the BBerry. The final straw was when I had it set to be my alarm clock and I got a silent (that was the profile set when I went to sleep) that overrode the alarm, so I slept for an extra hour, unplanned. It has some cool features, though I couldn't actually create a new Word or Excel document from the phone, just edit existing docs emailed to me. Unless the Tilt can overcome these "inconveniences", I'm back to the BBerry for real business communication features. I'm in business for myself. I need function, not cool features.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


great phone

 

Jul 26, 2008 by thaiboxer92

got this phone the other day after being tired of sprint and its crappy service at my house. i was looking at the blackberry curve(my girl ended up getting that) and to me the blackjack felt alot sturdier and me being rough on phones went with this and am very pleased

pros
windows users will get the hang of this pretty easy to use once you get the hang of it
lots of music games and apps to select from
internet thats very good id say pay the money and get opera mobile
windows media is quite loud as well

cons
piano black picks up everything
batterylife it died kinda quick on me like 2 days
texting-the letter that you pushed shows up a second after you hit it and it texts you a second later saying your message was sent

thats what i foundso far great phone 2 thumbs up

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

Page 12 3 456

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
2