Phone Scoop

printed July 22, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=1375&s=h&p=2

Home  ›  Phones  ›  Samsung  ›

Samsung BlackJack II SGH-i617

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  100+  

Average Ratings

3.97
Overall
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      
Page 1 2 3456

Nice upgrade from BJ I

 

Nov 23, 2007 by fincher

This is a nice upgrade from the first BlackJack, though I might swap for the 'wine red' color when it debuts in December.

PROS:
• Great size
• Improved d-pad and thumb wheel
• WM6 is snappy
• Lots of on-board memory
• Works flawless with The Missing Sync (Mac user here); I can also BT sync via ActiveSync
• Internal GPS; works great with Google Maps
• Upgraded keypad

CONS:
• The 'piano black' finish shows everything; I miss the soft-touch plastic on the BJ I.
• The plastic overall doesn't seem to be as good found on original BlackJack.
• Charging port has changed
• Cannot change default home page from MEdia Net

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Good Phone Overall

 

Dec 4, 2009 by pedroe13

Good phone- overall it does all the tasks and performs great without freezing or dropping calls.

PROS:
BRIGHT SCREEN
BATTERY IS GREAT
GOOD SPEAKERPHONE
CALL VOLUME IS GOOD
EASY TO TEXT WITH
EASY TO PERSONALIZE

CONS
CAMERA SUCKS (WISH THEY INTEGRATED A FLASH)
THE SCROLL WHEEL WILL WEAR OUT SOON

Perfect starter phone if you are thinking of owning your first pda.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


i do not like this phone

 

Sep 14, 2009 by shoptilyadrop344

This phone was alright, being my first phone. But after about two months, it started taking a bit of time to load anything i wanted to open, forever to delete my messages, and the top back plate broke off, exposing the insides! The keys started scratching off, and random black lines started appearing on the screen. I would advise you no to invest in this phone.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


If you can keep it charged..nice phone

 

Aug 25, 2009 by alcea

Have owned this phone for 14 months and have had it replaced by the manufacturer 2 times because the battery will not hold a charge. It's a nice phone when it works, but I've spent more time with it charging, having it checked at the phone store, and waiting around for the phones to get mailed back and forth, than I have using the phone!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


The good and bad.

 

Jun 21, 2009 by reckless5348

The blackjack 2 is better than the first blackjack, but the 2nd gets on my nerves. It gets on the internet by itself, it does weird stuff for no reason. But when it's not doing that, it's a good phone.

PROS:
good camera
bluetooth
looks sleek and awesome
speaker works well

CONS:
battery still doesnt last very long.
Gets boring after awhile
gets alot of fingerprints.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Lousy connectivity for Web

 

Jun 5, 2009 by jronaldlee

If it's a smart phone, it better have great e-mail management and superior connectivity.

On the AT&T network, it has neither. Not sure if that's unique to AT&T, but I was shocked to see this phone's high rating.

Pros: Great display. Rarely drops calls.

Cons:
- Kludgey Web browser... if you end up at a URL that is 100 characters long, you have to delete every single character to enter a new URL.
- Have to reboot the phone every other day or I get 403 errors when attempting to access the Web.
- It does better for basic e-mail connectivity than it does for the Web, but I still end up having trouble connecting to e-mail about once or twice a week.
- Can't quickly send photos to e-mail (see BlackBerry for a user-friendly, intuitive software interface).
- Photo quality not good enough for 2008/2009. Seems to be technology from three or four years ago.

It's a good PHONE. It's a LOUSY smart phone.

I've had it for over a year, and have hated it almost from the beginning.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


The best phone I've used

 

Apr 28, 2009 by ScurvyMro

Truly the best phone I've used. I was a big fan of the old Blackberry's those blue things. And this comes the closest to that experience. I hated those Blackberry's because they were horrible phones. But the BlackJack II is a good compromise. It doesn't have as good an interface as those old blackberries, but it's excellent phone capability compensates

Pros:
Easy access and setup for my corporate mail. I'm the IT director, so maybe it's easier for me.
Great phone call quality. I use AT&T and am north of Seattle a ways. My previous non-3G phone was sketchy in areas but this one is great
Finally a phone I can hear the ringer on!
Battery life is about what you'd expect, a day and a half. I call anything over a day good for a PDA phone.
I can play music! No need for a separate MP3 player. Take that, iPhone.
Nice looking, sleek.
Upgradeable memory card. That is, when a half a gig is no good, I can grab a 1GB or bigger.
The phone speaks to me. Like just as I was typing this I got a reminder on the phone and it spoke to me what the meeting was "Weekly Team Meeting in 15 minutes in Scurvy's Office"; Of course it was in that speak-n-spell voice, but thats ok
Nice qwerty keyboard

Cons:
Camera is not so great. Ok for quick snaps but no replacement for a real camera
Screen isn't so big.
GPS navigator really isn't all it's cracked up to be.
Internet Explorer occasionally quits on me. I just have to end the task and it's fine. But it's annoying.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Ba ba ba baba I'm lovin' it!

 

Jan 31, 2009 by simoniam

A really great phone, only a few flaws.

Pros:
Music player
Calendar easy to use and sync. Very functional
sync software
Multiple alarms
Intuitive
Plenty of apps to download (google is a great place to get some)
Decent camera
Typing is easy with full keyboard.

Con's:
Have not found a way to make it ring and vibrate at the same time.
Sometimes freezes. I think I have too many apps open though.
Can't switch edge off. (I have at&t)

Over all my wife and I have this phone and we both like it. We keep our personal schedules organized with these phones. My wife does not like change and hates new technology. Her learning curve for this phone was very short. And she liked the pink color. This is my first PDA phone and I don't think I will every be able to go back to anything else.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


The greatest phone yet!!!

 

Jan 17, 2009 by Kerplunq

So the other day I decided to stop punishing myself and trade in that old garbage razr for the Jack. I have worked for a cell company for a few years and have played with a good amount of smart phones. But this by far is one of the best experiences I have had yet.

Pro's:
- Great call quality (Sound is amazing)
- Fits nicely in my hand.
- Keyboard is quick to pick up on. (took me about half an hour to fly throught text's with)
- Indicator LED is a nice feature.
- Easy access to the Micro SD slot.
- Wheel mouse is great.(Add the sound feature to it to enhance the feed back like feature)
- Easy to navigate through WM 6.1
- Unit comes with many options and features.

Con's:
- No WiFi
- Camera isn't the greatest indoors
- Fingerpritns become a bit annoying, but I carry a cleaning cloth for my glasses. so that takes care of that.

If you want a great experiance, I would highly recommend this handset to anyone that wants to have a 3G Smartphone. Thumbs up to Samsung...Your almost there guys, just need that WiFi, lol.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


blackjack ii. . .

 

Nov 22, 2008 by thewolfman691

what can i say that hasnt been said. great phone. very dependable.

wifi would have been nice, flash as well. . .but i am happy. upgraded from the original blackjack. . .

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

Page 1 2 3456

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
1