Phone Scoop

printed October 21, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=117

Home  ›  Phones  ›  Sony Ericsson  ›

Sony Ericsson T62u

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  29  

Average Ratings

3.16
Overall
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      

Great, Durible,Easy 2 use and more

 

Jun 26, 2006 by alsal

This is a great simple little phone. Not to small or feather light that you can't find it. It has all the basic functions need for everyday. You got text messaging, MEdia net to find anything you want, Calendar, Calculator, Games, Large phonebook w/groups, customized ringer so you know whose calling by just the ringtone, easy to upload graphics w/use of the data cable and software provided by Sony/Ericsson and much more. I've had mine for a few years and it took a beating and still works perfect. The joystick in the middle is great for navigation and the phone layout is great for any size hands, big or small.

PROS:great battery life, easy to use, voice dial, navigation, style, duarability

CONS:non color screen

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


from someone who knows

 

May 20, 2003 by sthh rthths

i have worked at cingular for 1 year now. i am a techy freak! i have had every phone that we offer. I use features on the phone that most people don't even know are there.As far as pros/cons/ the last per son nailed it. So the cover gets a little dust in it??? so what...this phone gives you the customization options that no one else does. The network customization is outstanding. [...]

Ed. note: Removed off-topic content

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


DON'T BUY THIS PHONE

 

Mar 11, 2004 by stanthejeep

I've owned 2 different units of this model. BOTH produced painfully loud screeching / beeping noises at random occasions at a rate of about 1 every 3 days. The noises start suddenly and without warning, and have left my ear ringing - - it is truly that loud! I have talked to Cingular about this and they took my original phone to be fixed and gave me the new one as a loaner. After this one started exhibiting the same problem they seem unwilling to help me. I recommend not using Cingular either.

But otherwise the phone is difficult to navigate through, and the volume gets to be only barely within usable range (until it starts screaming anyway). I've used 4 other models of phones in my life - none where that great - this one is by FAR the worst.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Buyer beware

 

Dec 27, 2003 by BENNY_D

This gait phone has one pro, its gait! I am tech. for a large company and I see this phone with problems more than any other (besides Ericsson 1228/R278). We will not carry those phones in our market any longer because of the problems that it has. I can't even really get into any specific problems it has them all from won't turn on to will not place call. do yourself a favor and seek other alternates and with only one other choice it should be pretty clear.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


6340i or T62u

 

Dec 23, 2002 by Shaun Croucher

The software needs a lot work. Try the joystick, it is not the best interface out there.
I used mine for 3 days and returned it to Cingular. Now I have 6340i. The phone is not quite ready for prime time yet. Maybe with new software. I never got used to the odd shape, maybe just a matter of taste.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Decent Phone

 

Aug 2, 2005 by cbsbyte

For the past three years I have been using this phone in Western Mass on Cingular. I have to say at the time it was a good phone but it is now outclassed by newer phone both in reception and features.

PROS:

Nearly indestructible. Dropped it down a flight of concrete stairs it survived with some scrapes.

Good reception in rural areas. GSM/TDMA

Voice dialing.

Menus

Cons:

hard to see monochrome screen

poor layout of menus.

slow response to commands.

Faulty software on first phone. Replaced with second phone which never had a problem.

small buttons.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Horrible!!

 

Jun 18, 2005 by cellseller

This phone is awful. After using the phone for a short period of time, the entire thing will shut off. It is not user-friendly at all. As a wireless consultant, I would say that 65% or more of these phones purchased are brought back with one problem or another. Nothing but a headache.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


GREAT PHONE

 

May 24, 2005 by dimpelss

I think this is a great phone this is one of my first cell phones.I agree with the guy that is working for Cingular its a good phone I like the fact that it has voice dialing and I just found out it is bluetooth enabled.It covers all areas for me that my cellphone I currently have now doesnt cover.It does interact with my tv and computer.My tv makes a noise and com when the phone is near by but so does my current phone.I LIKE IT

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


My last Sony-Ericsson phone

 

Jan 21, 2005 by cliffy01

This phone has had issuses from day one!!
Mainly:locks up! You have to remove the battery for 5 minutes to reset the phone. This is a replacement phone. The first T62U had the same problems.
The battery barely lasts all day! Have to put on car charger on my way home from work so that I have use of the phone at night. I use the phone during the day mostly for text messaging, very few phone calls.
The rubber keypad has been replaced several times. Glad I pay for extended warranty!

Pro's: Menu's are easily accessible
Easy to carry
Screen is viewable in just about all
lighting conditions
Durable(have dropped several times)
Con's: Lock ups
Small battery
Several replacement keypads
Short battery life
Dropped calls
Lack of downloads(ringtones an games)
I'm glad this phone was discontinued!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Best Phone!

 

Jan 13, 2005 by disturbed_sickness16

I am a teenager and having a cellphone is very important to me. I have had other model phones but they have never acheived the quality and dependance as this one. I love that it is very easy to access my options on this phone just by using numbers. Also everyone tells me my phone is very cute.Since I babysit I had to chose a phone that I could depend on to by thrown around. I have had my phone dropped, thrown, and frozen! It works like new, so i know I can depend on it through anything. My service is through WV Wireless and my reception is great! I don't think I could ever have a better phone!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

 
Page  1 234

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
1