We're giving away 10 HTC One (M8) harman/kardon edition phones for Sprint! Enter now!
Phone Scoop

printed October 2, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=1113

Home  ›  Phones  ›  Sharp  ›

Sharp Sidekick iD

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  65  

Average Ratings

3.59
Overall
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      

don't get this phone

 

Dec 15, 2008 by sgg123

THIS PHONE WAS BAD , IN MY 6 MONTHS OF HAVING IT , IT WAS SENT BACK 5 TIMES WHEN I NEVER DROPPED IT OR ANYTHING. FREEZES ALL THE TIME, CASE FOR IT IS HORRIBLE THE WORST BATTERY ON ANY PHONE IVE EVER HAD, THE BACK PIECES CHIP EASILY WITHOUT DROPPING.CRAPPY KEYBOARD NO GRIP ONLY SLIP,TRACKBALL IS BAD , NO CAMERA, NO MP3, THERE IS A HIDDEN USB PORT NEXT TO CHARGER BUT DOESNT WORK SO WHY EVEN HAVE IT.
I AM HAPPIER WITH MY OLDER BROS SIDEKICK 1 AND NOW I HAVE THE SIDEKICK SLIDE GREAT PHONE

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


horriblal phone

 

Oct 2, 2008 by skaterferlife

this is now my 4th sidekick id in the past 4 months

all 4 of them all had problems

my lastest sidekick is now in peices

HORRIBAL PHONE
don't waste your money

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


Worst phone I've had

 

Mar 13, 2008 by R3N33

I bought this phone because I thought it looked cool, which it does. The design is nice but 3 things that piss me off is-

It doesn't have an alarm! This is such a SIMPLE feature I figured all cell phones had. All my old ones did. I really miss this feature. I called T-Mobile and the CSR said she also didn't like that about the phone, you can buy/download a program for it but I didn't want to do that.

Also, it doesn't have a camera. I just was used to having a cam on my phone to snap shots of whatever when I'm out but couldn't do that with this phone.
You have to go to a website to get pictures, you can't just get a regular picture message. That is time consuming and annoying.

The only thing I like about this phone is the QWERTY keyboard basically. It's awkward to hold and talk to but it's easy and quick to text which is how I communicate with most people anyways.

I'm selling this on eBay, I've had it over a month and I really dislike it I'm surprised it got such a good rating.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


The competion for the sidekick 3

 

Jan 7, 2008 by Chef Brd-Jason

A great phone, its stylish and creative, its a boost for the sidekick generations considering it out beat the sidekick 1 2 and 3.

pros;
-Stylish
-changeable outter apperance
- beautifully well designed qwerty key pad
-great speaker
-beautifully screen
-6 hour battery life/when using
-smooth sms and instant messanging
-swivel screen

cons;
-no cam
-no mp3 player
-internets a little slow.
-screen pops off if you drop phone white screens out

Not many cons and its an improvement to the sidekicks, so i recomend this phone, and age whise- 8 and up, great for business use.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Sidekick ID is a great alt. option

 

Jun 4, 2007 by theboss924

First off, there are a lot of people bashing this phone for what it doesn't have. The phone was not meant for people who want a camera, mp3 player, memory card, etc. It's the alternative for someone who wants a great messaging device. There is no other device on T-Mobile, AT&T, Verizon, Sprint, or Nextel that has the IM capabilities like a sidekick. It stays connected all the time and is as fast as the IM apps on a home pc. I have a sprint Treo 755P and I only use it for business uses. I have tons of friends on AIM, Yahoo!, and MSN and what better way to stay connected to them on the go with a sidekick. I don't need the camera, the mp3 functions, and all the other stuff. This phone is also for those who don't want to spend a lot of money on a messaging only device and only need it for messaging.

PROS
-Smaller than the SKII
-Comes with a great case
-Trackball
-Keyboard (better than SKII)
-Better reception than SKIII and SKII (I have first hand tested this in many locations with all 3 devices)

CONS
-small screen (could be bigger but I can manage with it)

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Great For The Price

 

May 28, 2007 by xbarron99

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Excellent Phone

 

May 26, 2007 by stlunatic6006

First off anyone bashing this phone for not having mp3 player and camera is dumb. Because the camera for one on the sidekick 3 and 2 both suck. Sidekick 3 are really dark and 2 just aint that good. I had both and had the t-mobile dash and that camera is way better. The mp3 player is also a waste. I had an mp3 player on my phone and never used it. I have a 30g zune what do i need an additional mp3 player on phone for. I think this is great for people that already have those things. I have digital camera and mp3 player so never had need for any of that and now they took it out and made it cheaper so is excellent for people with that same use. Also it has myfaves and the sidekick 3 doesnt and myfaves is very helpful in not goin over minutes. Excellent im happy i got it.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Sidekick ID

 

May 4, 2007 by Mersalis

I would like to begin by saying that the phone itself is a great one. It embraces all the qualities that made the sidekick so popular. In stating that it is a waste of money or a waste of time because it lacks the same features as the Sidekick 3, you are stating that you do not understand the reason for the creation of the the Sidekick ID.

The phone was created with the intent of being cheaper in price and in order to make it more affordable for people who want the full keypad and want the Internet capabilities, not as a replacement for the Sidekick 3. For what it was created for, it's a great phone!

Pros: Affordable (about $100 diff)
Full and convenient qwerty keypad
More Customizing options

Cons: None

((what you all are calling cons is the point of the phone))

So for being an alternate option for the Sidekick 3, it's awesome. It is cheaper and sure you could pay the extra $100 bucks and get the Sidekick 3, but not everyone can afford and extra $100 and believe it or not, not everyone needs/wants a camera on their phone these days. So if you were under the false impression it was made to replace the Sidekick 3 then now you know the difference.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


24/7

 

Jun 5, 2007 by Meatwad

This phone is overall great and im on this phone 24/7, and all i do on this phone is that i caht wit my freinds my AIM and text messaging, with the unlmited texting plan.

PROS (BOOYAH)

Great qwerty keyboard and i can type really fast on it.

great chattin for instant messaging, which

im on 24/7

great texting

and for those who own an mp3 player and an camera, then theres no need to buy the sidekick 3, all u need is just an phone with an keyobard and chattin
My psp already has songs in it and already has a great camera, but no phone, so i already have this phone and it ROCKS. Im on it 24/7, so u gotta get this phone if you already have an mp3 player and/or a good digial camera.

Cons:
no mp3 (well u can get one cheap, but i have my psp)

no camera (well u can get WAY BETTER ONES! but i have an camera for my psp)

intenet speed not that fast (im ok with that, i dont use the internet that much)

smaller than sidekick 3 (not taht much, but still rox!)

overall this phone is awesome. i recommend gettin this phone than the sidekick 3 cuz i know everybody has a wayyyyy better digital camera and an waaayyy better mp3 player.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


What is with all the bad reviews?

 

Feb 19, 2012 by xxiandxx

I used to have this phone when I was either 9 or 10, and I loved it. One of the best phones to come out on T-Mobile. I just went out yesterday and bought another one off Craigslist :D

Pros:
------
Great keyboard
The lighting trackball
Great call quality
Built-in IM
Easy messaging
Not one of those overrated mobile OS platforms
The swivel screen

Cons:
-------
No picture messaging
Slow internet (which is ok because I only have unlimited texting anyway)
No camera (also ok)

If you had anything from the older Sidekick line, you'd know that Danger OS is a good option.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

 
Page  1 23

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
2