Phone Scoop

printed August 28, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=952&s=h&p=2

Home  ›  Phones  ›  Motorola  ›

Motorola W315

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  52  

Average Ratings

2.7
Overall
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      
Page 1 2 34

GREAT Basic Phone

 

Dec 4, 2008 by juanmi2793

This phone is an awesome phone overall. Though not super-packed with additional features, the phone is very comfortable and easy to use.

PROS:
> Texting is a breeze with comfortable, large keys.

> Menus are familiar and easy to follow.

> Very durable.

> Large address book capacity.

CONS:
> Not too many extra features.

> No Bluetooth.

> Not many preset ringtones to choose from.

Overall, this phone is the perfect basic phone. I had no issues with it whatsoever; I highly recommend it.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


I hate this phone

 

Oct 4, 2008 by judia

The only reason that I even give it a 1.0 is simply because it is OK to text on.

I've replaced this phone with Verizon once already because the battery life on it is short. If I want to use it I better be near a regular outlet, because the travel charger does not work either.

The phone will cut me off in the middle of conversations, and half of the time I don't even know that I have a voice mail until the person calls me on my regular home phone.

I'm due up for an upgrade with Verizon and will be getting the Samsung Alias. So far the ratings that I've read I think that I can deal with. I'll definately be getting the extended battery for that phone though.

Also if you buy the W315 from Verizon with the online discount it is 9.99 for a refurbished one, but I will (NEVER) buy this phone again nor recommend it to anyone.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


Lemon? What to do?

 

Aug 11, 2008 by bettyboop127

I have a contract with alltel and received this phone free.
Drops calls. Can hear myself when trying to talk. Speaker phone does not work. Loses phone book. Battery lasts under 12 hours. Some calls go directly to VM without ring.
Tried to take back to store. They told me I only had 30 days. Tried to return on a Monday(32 days). Had to call and have one sent from Alltel. Second phone does all of the above. They will not take back because it has been 49 days since I signed the contract.
What's a person to do?

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


It Won't Break!!

 

Mar 9, 2008 by iwantanewfone

I have had this phone for about a year and a half. It works fine, but it is probably the most basic phone out there. If I were you, I'd get something with more features.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Alltel Motorola W315

 

Feb 7, 2008 by Psxmoe

My previous Phone the Motorola E815 had problems charging because of the contacts, i ended up getting angry and yanking the charging cord out of the phone and thus breaking off the port. The end of a great phone, except for it's charging interface!

As a replacement I bought the Motorola w315. Over all it is a durable phone with good RF in fringe Area's it has never dropped a call on me, Although the only complaints I have are the battery life and text message interface.

To send a message you first have to select who it will be sent to, then make your message after that you have to go thru another screen to send it. I found to be too time consuming, compared to my moto E815.

The battery on heavy use with mostly heavy messaging use and 30+ minutes of calling really uses the battery, but it did seem to improve after conditioning the battery.

The signal indicator is next to useless as it does not accurately tell weather you have strong or weak signal at all.

Browsing on the Internet is slow as heck, I also found the menu system to lag at times, As suggested by another review I turned of the menu animation and speed did improve slightly.

PROS

Flip
USB Charge Port
It's Moto
Ability to save pictures off of browser
Strong Vibrate
Ease of use

CON's
Battery
CPU speed
Speaker phone volume
Ring tone Volume
1x Data
Signal Indicator
No bluetooth

Overall it's a good phone for new comers to that wireless world. Phone would be better if it was faster and had bluetooth.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Good at first, but the weaknesses begin to show

 

Nov 7, 2007 by sp00ge

When we first got the Verizon version of this phone, I though it was fairly decent. No frills, good call quality, just the basics. However, after about 6 months, that opinion has shifted.

First up is the lack of any support by Motorola. One minor nuisance is that ring tones are impossible to get for it, or onto it.

The major issue I have with it is battery life. Unless our phone is the exception, battery life is nowhere near the listed specs. There have been times that within 24 hours of charging, while on standby mode, the low battery chime would start. This was less than a month after purchasing. The battery life started dwindling as the weeks went by, until a charge would last no more than a few hours.

This brings me to my second point on the battery life. We had to replace the battery once already, and we thought everything was fine and dandy. Fast forward to last week, several months since the battery was replaced. Now it won't hold a charge at all.

While Verizon was kind enough to replace the battery for free the first time, they are giving us the cold shoulder this time around.

But as said, this may be a total exception to the majority of w315. Unfortunately, we still have 1.5 years left in our contract and a dead phone.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


My limited experience with the W315

 

Sep 29, 2007 by sixftseven_mn

Just a short review to state that I am happy with the performance of the W-315, however the location of the speaker phone button was a big mistake. It is so easy to engage the speaker phone when attempting to use it in the "normal" mode. This to me is a big negative about the phone.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Solid Starter Phone

 

Aug 1, 2007 by LameWireV3

Bought this phone for my 13 year old son. For those of you who have teenage kids you know how much into tech they are. I thought he would scoff at this phone. I was WRONG!!!
This phone is a GREAT starter phone.

Using this on the US Cellular network. CLEAR sound both ways. LCD display on front shows time without opening the phone. Voice command dialing. Sync with Motorola Phone Tools. 1000 contact phone book (if he fills that up I'll DIE!). Color display, good menu setup.

PROS:
LCD front display
Long battery life
1000 contact phone book
Great sound both ways
Keys good size (son has big hands)
PCSync
Customization
External Display Alert

CONS:
No Camera
No Bluetooth

GREAT starter phone - SOLID

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Motorola W315 MetroPCS

 

May 4, 2007 by cellyoresole

Pros:
Great feel and finish
Decent reception
Adequate volume (earpiece and loudspeaker)
Low cost

Cons:
STN Screen (STOP MAKING THESE)
Relatively short battery life
No ringtone or picture transfer from computer

All and all its average at best, with a tendency towards bad. Its completely serviceable, but you'll be left wanting more.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


This phone sucks

 

Mar 28, 2007 by -Alyssa-

I really hate it. Maybe its my phone I do not know. When I get a text message, my phone rings, and as I am texting back it still rings! Then the phone also freezes on me when its on full battery. I can't get any ring tones, or go on the INTERNET to even buy ring tones! Plus, it doesnt even have Blue tooth! IT SUCKS! YOU SHOULD NEVER GET THE MOTOROLA W315!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

Page 1 2 34

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
1