Phone Scoop

printed April 24, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=908

Home  ›  Phones  ›  Samsung  ›

Samsung SGH-T719

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  27  

Average Ratings

2.64
Overall
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      

T719

 

Jan 15, 2007 by rjohnson

this phone is great.

my sister and i absolutely LOVE this phone.

Pro:
wide screen
*blackberry*
great sound quality

Con:
when I'm taking pictures on camera, it lashes back to its place. so i have a hard time taking pictures with the phone closed. :-[

overall, its great.
it was worth my money.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Good Features Easy to Use & Read

 

Jan 4, 2007 by pagerbob

I have had this phone for a couple of months and I am very pleased with it. I found a way to get free real-time email alerts (subject only). I think it is getting a bum rap!

Pros
Flip style
LARGE Keys (unlike Pearl)
LARGE text (easy to read)
Blackberry service
reception
lot's of features

Cons
No Mac syncing support

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


Don't Buy

 

Dec 18, 2006 by Mzmely

I was excited when I seen this phone coming out this past fall, but I'm having problems with the person on the other end hearing me, and the speaker phone isn't worth anything. I'm always upgrading to different phones through T-mobile. I miss the Motorola V360. I'm going to try the Samsung T619 or T609. I would prefer a Motorola, but Tmobile doesn't have a decent Motorola camera phone.

I also don't like the keyboard and typing when I send a instant message. I'm tempted to switch to Sprint. I'm going to also get the Nokia 6030 phone for my second line and try either of the T619 or T609 phones for my first line. I will make a review when I have tried the other phones.

I would not recommend the T719. I wasted my money on this phone. :( Even though I do get a $50 rebate.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


The Best Phone So Far

 

Nov 4, 2006 by behaviour

I did not buy this phone for the Blackberry capabilities, but I did for the text and camera/video messaging. I went from V66> V300> RAZR> T7105> V360> T and this is the best. I have had a couple Nokia candy bars w/ out cameras but not worth mentioning...
PROS:
-slim, nice in the front pocket.. I don't clip my phones or holster them.
-Cool features, never had a Samsung before (flashlight feature, awesome)
-User friendly menu
-Battery seems good
-Voice recognition software is awesome (was never one to use that feature before this)
CONS:
-Speaker volume (both handset and speaker phone) could be louder.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


High Hopes, but Sadly Disappointed

 

Oct 27, 2006 by sprs24

I had been searching for a blackberry phone for quite sometime, but all of which were too bulky. Samsung comes out with t719 and has all the capabilities I am looking for, but falls way short. The most important thing in a phone is the sound quality and this phone lacks it. I have never heard so many people keep on asking me to repeat myself. I had the phone for less than a week and returned it.

Cons

1. Sound quality on both ends, hard to hear other person, other person could not hear me.

2. You can not take pictures when the phone is closed.

3. Camcorder is blurry and has shoddy sound quality.

4. Picture caller Id only appears when phone is open.

5. Black light stays on while charging.

6. Speaker-phone goes in and out.

Pros

1. Is a flip phone with blackberry capabilities.

2. Slick design

3. Voice-activated dialing picks out the right name 97% of the time.

4. Loads settings fast.

5. Bright screen

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Fall Far Short of Promise

 

Oct 18, 2006 by NotImpressed

I want a SMALL phone that I can carry in my pocket. I bought this phone to replace an existing samsung clamshell and a blackberry, running from a bes server, that lives in my brief case. BIG MISTAKE.

CONS:
LOTS of problems:
If the phone goes in sleep mode, it will not boot at all unless the battery is removed and reinstalled.
The email function often freezes and it is very slow to load emails.
There is no apparent way to delete emails in a group.
Absence of track wheel
Very poor battery life. It will require daily charging.
Ultra small keys to accomodate blackberry functions.
Device will NOT function while on charger.
External Color LCD fades to B&W and freezes--part of the boot problem it appears.
Blackberry software still will not interface with server spam filters--you get ALL of the junk.

PROS:
Nice form factor
Phone reception was improved.

Its going back and I will try a T619 for my phone and return to the Model T blackberry for data until the Pearl comes way down in cost. Freezing problems seem to be an issue with it too.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Delivers The Goods (with some bads)

 

Oct 3, 2006 by dwaynedelario

Have had this T-mobile phone for about 4 days now, and it outperforms my old Motorola in a number of ways. The reception seems to be much better so far, as I live in a canyon where I couldn't even receive calls before and now I can get away with short calls. One great surprise is how well the voice recognition software performs (its speaker-independent) as it always draws the correct name from my phone book (100% correct so far!)

The texting features are a mixed bag. The Suretype keyboard is easy to move around and the keys are relatively easy to depress with accuracy. The built-in dictionary is impressive, but the biggest drawback is that the predictive text mode doesn't seem to "remember" custom words, which is a big deal for someone with a sailor's tongue like mine! I thought it would have this feature since it is powered by the RIM Blackberry software, but alas it does not. Another drawback is the choice of punctuations on the ALT keys..it takes 5 strokes to get an apostrophe. BOO.

PROs:
Reception
Blackberry Email Option
Big phonebook memory
Beautiful LCD
Swivel cam is nice
Voice Recognition accuracy and ease
Keypad is easy to use

CONs:
Predictive text lacks "new word" memory
Grammatical and Symbol shortcuts suck.
Battery performance is mediocre
Built-in ringtones are just pathetic
No Mac OS X sync support

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

 
 
Page  1  of 1

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
2