Phone Scoop

printed August 20, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=868

Home  ›  Phones  ›  Samsung  ›

Samsung SPH-A960

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  57  

Average Ratings

4.36
Overall
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      

A Great Feeling Phone

 

Sep 21, 2006 by FLASH ONE

I have had this phone for a month now, and I love it.
Great sound quality, speaker-phone is phenomenal.

Battery last for about 3hours straight talking time on the Sprint network out of the Philadelphia, PA metropolitan area.

Lastly, this is a rugged great feeling phone that I have dropped a couple of times on the concrete. Still working fine!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Were to get?

 

Aug 22, 2006 by swq24

I would like to say off the top i am a employee of Phone Plus. I do own this phone i think it is a great phone to start tht price is great we are selling it for 69.99 this is a GREAT price for this phone. IF you are looking for alot of accessories for this phone you won't find them because there are only 40,000 ever made. Cool things about this phone is it is only sold at two stores Best Buy and a Corporate Plus store. Corporate Plus will be only in CO,WY,NV, and KS so most people will have to go to Best Buy to get this phone. If you are in CO go to a phones plus.
thanks

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


a960 v. Fusic

 

Nov 14, 2006 by Ndmand

I owned the a960 for two months, and I've had the LG Fusic for two days.

The a960 was easy to handle and dial in one hand. Keys had a definitive click, and perfect lighting for me. For a guy with small to medium sized hands, the a960 is easier to handle than the Fusic. Fusic has a larger screen, but smaller numbers.

Speakerphone on the a960 is much better than the Fusic. It is louder and has a better clarity at high volumes. Most Fusic speakerphone calls are too low and sound bad.

Holding the phones to my ear, the Fusic has a slight edge in clarity. I also get more reception bars on the Fusic. Sometimes the a960 clipped sounds from the caller as if trying to cancel noice-annoying and useless.

Might seem small, but the a960 requires two or three menu clicks in order to turn on the speakerphone. Fusic has a dedicated speaker button, but it is so easy on the Fusic to turn on the mute by mistake. If a call is connected and the speakerphone is on, then a menu that includes mute stays on the screen. If you mistakenly hit the okay button, then you are muted.

Music. The a960 plays music suprisingly well. Despite what you read, you CAN connect the a960 to your computer and drag and drop mp3s and pics onto it. If you close the phone while it is playing music, the music continues to play. I haven't played "music on the Fusic." Hmmmm, I'm a poet, and I didn't even know it.

The a960 has 47.3 megs of built-in memory, but you can't expand. Fusic allows you to expand using micro secure digital (SD) cards. But, if you lose your SD card, your Fusic loses capabilities. It can't connect to the computer, you can't copy from your computer to the telephone.

I had no problem with the a960 battery life but I charge most days. Fusic advantages include memory expansion, I can buy software to synchronize 500 of phone numbers from Outlook, and it plays several muscic formats. The a960 is a solid phone only missing memory expansion and sync-ability.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Almost worth the hassle

 

Oct 20, 2006 by dwellman

This phone has a lot of features, but there are at least three things keeping it from a perfect score: 1) The reception is a average to below average. This may be due to the internal antenna, or the sensitivity being reduced to gain more life from the battery; 2) Lack of expandable memory on a multimedia device is somewhat disappointing-- especially when combined with only having 40MB internal available; and finally 3) As previously noted, Samsung manufactured a limited number of these phones. Samsung does not even list the phone on its website. As such, one can expect support to be. . . non existent. Furthermore, if you need to replace your phone, chances that Sprint will have any models left are slim to none.

One other gripe: the lens cover prevents the phone from fitting easily in holsters intended for phones of its size.

Other than all that, everything else about the phone is GREAT!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


An excellent phone

 

Jul 8, 2006 by b_zeh

Pros:

1.3 meg. camera with flash and lens cover. The phone is set up so you can take a picture with two hands-which means excellent pictures. Phone includes USB cable to put pictures on computer easily.

Excellent sounding speakers

Very sleek phone with internal antenna fits easily into pocket.

Very clear display visible in bright light

Voice quality is good

Voice activated dialing

pros

No expandable memory

Battery life is nothing exceptional

interesting features

motion fun - for example shake phone to roll dice

Speak text messages

Ed. note: corrected typo

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Great and Outstanding phone!~

 

Dec 25, 2006 by skatepunk493

Okay I just got this phone in November. We have a Samsung A920 and a Sanyo 8200 :( on our account.
Now this is the best phone I have.
Pros
Great MP3 Player
Long Video Record
Great Camera Memory (I have 200 Pictures)
Bluetooth
EV/DO Works great
Rugged Design
Small and light weight
Great battery Life and Charge time.
Very Loud and crystal clear Speaker Phone
Loud Ringtones/MP3's
Easy to connect to computer: No memory card reader needed
Cons
When you close the phone during a speaker call it hangs up
No expandable memory

Over all this is a 5 star phone. But I am anxious to try the Sanyo M1

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


SAMSUNG SPH-A960

 

Jul 12, 2006 by THEBEERGUY

This is a nice little phone. The only downfall i have with this phone is the battery life. The talk time is terrible. I usually charge this phone twice a day. If your a talker, this phone isn't for you. There is no extended battery available either. The phone has a nice 1.3 megapixal camera, with a nice lens cover.(slider) The internal screen is very vibrant and colorful. I have dropped this phone several times, and it hasn't effected it at all. Seems like a pretty decent little phone

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

 
 
Page  1  of 1

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
1