Phone Scoop

printed July 27, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=797

Home  ›  Phones  ›  LG  ›

LG CU320

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  52  

Average Ratings

3.7
Overall
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      

It was my best friend.

 

Dec 14, 2006 by thevesper

The phone itself is amazing. Crisp clear photos on the fly, videos, lots of memory for storage. Full MMS support, and lovely menus & options all in the palm of your hand. Predictive text could have been better, and so could the web browsing function. It's somewhere between sidekick web browsing and wap so it's confusing to surf the net. However, it's still hot, crisp clear screen, and its slider style is addicting. I had to say goodbye to it as cingulars plans were getting to expensive and I had to switch to Tmobile. To unlock and use the best parts of the phone you have to pay alot of money for the extra ad on plans. :( Customizable ringtones and uncrippled bluetooth were a huge plus for this phone. It's a must get for you cingular people.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


I Love It

 

Jun 14, 2006 by mparris91

I love buying cell phones for the gadgets. I just bought this phone only after owning the RAZrv3 for only 3 weeks. This looked much better. I was not disappointed. This phone is awesome!!! The internet and live tv add-ons are unbelievable!!! It's like sitting @ home in my living room. My kids love it when we are in the car and I need distractions for them I put it on the cartoon channel and problem solved. No choppiness....let me repeat myself....no choppiness. When I had the RAZrv3 I took the mobitv off because it was like listening to the radio with frames that changed every 2-3 seconds. Not with this phone. I mean the CV(cingular video) and mobitv are spectacular. The phone is very user friendly. I really don't see myself changing phones now for at least 6 months. I am very satisfied. The only drawback if there is one that without the phone being on vibrate the "ding" for confirming choices is annoying. I mean any selection it "dings" but that is a minor detail for a lot of other great features. The lack of voicedial is a little disconcerting but I will live. The Mp3 player is really cool the built-in speaker is very loud. I normally have to turn it down. Overall if you are looking for a fun phone and multimedia is your thing then this one is for you. Enjoy.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


it's a great multimedia phone

 

Jun 7, 2006 by picky33

it's a great phone with 16mb available memory and support for Mini SD card or Transflash card.

the Pros's

- it is a 3g phone
- mobiTV looks like real TV(not choppy)
- transFlash memory port on outside of phone
- Slider( if you like that kind of stuff + sliders make it easier to read text/play songs/play games/etc.)
- Great Bright Flash (better then any phone I've seen)
- MP3 player to play all songs that you put on your flash card or phone
- LOUD speakerphone(I'm not kidding!)
- Vibrator( when you put this in silent mode it can move)
- Bluetooth(u can send files to anyone with bluetooth including computers also visa-versa
- a headphone jack(very usefull)
--------------------------------------------
if you do get this phone i Strongly encourage you to buy a transflash for it because at best buy a 512mb stick was $40 (great deal, better then cingular's $70) and if you have a card reader and a computer ur set, just upload whatever you want and the phone automatically reads it
-------------------------------------------
the Con's

- it does not like to stay in 3g mode it picks the stronger signal(i guess it can also be a good thing)
- low battery life(2 days only of real hard use)
- limited size for ringtones(all ringtones on phone must be less then 600kb)(really only applies to mp3's and wave file formats)
- will not read any file over 40-60characters)(not much of a big deal because you can rename files on a computer)
- the lg menu setup (I'm not a big fan of the lg's menu and how it looks but this is my first lg)

OVERALL:
i would recommend this phone to anyone who wants a new cool phone that can do everything. it has it ups and Downs. You can't beat the No Commitment price $250 for a 3g phone that can do everything. plus it can play video's and if you have video's you want to put on your phone i recommend pqdvd mobile because the trial version gives you 5mins PER video(plenty for music vids, or pay $20 for no restrictions)

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Very happy!

 

Jun 5, 2006 by michellemv

I really like this phone. I am not a techie type person at all. I wanted a phone with a camera and flash; text messaging; internet access to check news, weather and send photos (actually I had no idea how much I would enjoy checking news, weather and movie times on a phone until I got this phone); a good "feel" to the phone; a vivid screen and good reception. With this phone, I got all that I wanted and a whole lot more.

I get a bit of an echo when riding on my train into Chicago - but not so bad. No dropped calls or dropped words. Hopefully the Cingular network will correct the echo.

I traded in my older motorola for this phone - which was a big upgrade. I've always had a motorola, so I was a little hesitant to try something new, but I've found the phone easy to navigate through.

I considered several other similar phones, including the Samsung ZX10, the Sony Erickson w600i and the Motorola RAZR. The Samsung would have been my second choice - it has the same camera and similar features, I just didn't like the "look" as much. The Sony Erickson is a cool-looking phone, but the swivel feature makes the phone go upside down when you open it - I knew that it would bother me. The RAZR is all the rage these days...but it feels too wide in my hand. When it comes down to it, the way a phone "feels" is important to me -and if multiple phones have similar features, I'm going with the phone that "feels" and looks the best to me.

Having said that, I'm really looking forward to the phone of the future. I want a phone that has higher pixels for the camera; as well as the ability to act as an MP3 player and store many songs (so I never need a digital camera or a MP3 player - I can have these all in one).

I've only had this phone for about a week, so I'm still playing with a lot of the features, but I'm really enjoying it. I'm hesitant to spend money for a gadget, but this was worth it.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


SALE PHONES

 

Jun 1, 2006 by OJTHEKILLA

PROS
THIS IS A GREAT PHONE I LOVE THE SPEED OF THE INTERNET AND I US IT AS A DIAL UP MODEM THRU THE BLUETOOTH AND IT GOES 115KBS AND THATS 3X THE SPEED OF DIAL UP. I SALE PHONES AND OUT OF ALL THE ONES THAT WE CARRY I PICKED THIS ONE FOR ITS SPEED ABILITY TO HAVE A MICROSD AND FLASH WITH THE CAMERA PLUS IT IS OFFERED AT A GREAT PRICE FOR ALL THESE FEATURES

CONS YES IT TRUE THAT THERE ARE TIMES THAT IT IS CHOPPIE AUDIO AND IT DOES NOT HAVE VOICEDIAL. BUT YOUY GET ADJUSTED. MY WIFE SAYS THAT HER W600I IS BETTER BUT I STILL LIKE HAVING 1GIGABYTE OF MEMORY INSTEAD OF 256KB BUT HER PHONE IS LOUDER AND HAS VOICEDIAL. BUT I WILL TAKE A SLIDE OVER A SWIVEL ANYDAY.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Wonderful Reviews

 

Mar 16, 2006 by Enrique3G

These are all wonderful, and helpful reviews, but can anyone tell me how the Speakerphone is on this phone. I also need to know how the Cingular Video is. When watching it, how is the volume? I just bought the ZX10 and these are two problems that I have with it. Im thinking about exchanging the ZX10 for this LG.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


I remember why I love/hate LG phones

 

May 6, 2006 by cmiller828

Pros:
-Very fast data, even in EDGE.
-Bluetooth
-Great screen
-Nice user interface
-Good earpiece volume

Cons:
-That damn jingle when it isn't in vibrate mode that cannot be disabled every time you click ok, save, send a text message or it wants to confirm you wish to close the browser (this is what I have hated about this and other LG phones)
-T9 texting (I've been using Motos for a while)
-Camera - I have a digital camera and would like to actually be able to buy a decent phoen that does not have a camera built in to it, plus the camera location could be a little better.

I will agree with some other reviews that this is a GREAT phone. However, the jingle makes me crazy when I'm doing some texting with friends. It's been great having the phone for data means, but I think I'm taking it back and waiting for a different brand to come out with UMTS because of the jingle (it's the little things sometimes).

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Sending it Back

 

Mar 21, 2006 by twosox

I'm sending this one back. I'm sure some folks will like the phone and the 3G service, but having to buy a $25-40 cable to connect my PC just seems ridiculous these days.

PROs:
Good-looking screen for pictures (good brightness and resolution).
Cingular Video service is better than I expected -- March Madness is a good reason to have a phone with mobile video.
AIM, Yahoo IM clients are well implemented with status icons in the main screen.
Decent coverage for 3G service (in Washington, DC area) -- although, there is no handoff between the UMTS and GSM network, so you will have more dropped calls if you're on the edge of the service area or in a dead spot for UMTS.

CONs:
Non-standard USB connection, requires yet ANOTHER cable in my bag. No can do -- this is the deal breaker for me.
No means to synchronize the contacts on my PC.
Email program problematic -- I kept getting "Inbox Full" messages, but there was no documentation on how to make it work properly.
The phone feels kind of flimsy to me. The plastic in the middle (where the slide is) feels like it wouln't hold up over the long haul. Also, the connector for the charger seems like it never reall seats properly, and feels like it would eventually break.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


This piece of crap is going back to the store...

 

May 28, 2006 by Jay2TheRescue

This is by far the worst cell phone I have ever had. I have never had so many dropped calls in my life. I called 611, and they insisted that my phone needed "updates" so they sent the updates over the air to my phone, and it still drops calls. I got so upset today because I could not maintain a call, not even on the sidewalk outside! (My Motorola V551 works in the basement) I took the SIM card out and put it back in my old V551.

Let me say this though. I WANTED to like the phone. I WANTED to be the first of my friends to use the cool 3G technology. In the end I will wait until Motorola or Nokia put out a 3G phone, that way I will know it is a quality product.

PROS:
great camera.
nice large, clear screen with great color & contrast.
fast 3G internet surfing.
battery life was better than expected.
Nice looking design.
Nice sound when playing MP3's through the speaker.

Cons:
So many dropped calls.
The calls that didn't drop had choppy audio.
I have large hands and I found the keypad cumbersome.
My old phone worked in the basement, this doesn't even work well outside on the street.
Doesn't have the ability to set custom tones for voicemail, etc. I could only choose from the 8 or so preloaded sounds for voicemail, even though I added other sounds to the phone. My V551 let me set custom sounds for voicemail.

Now remember, I wanted to like this. I wanted to be the first to have a 3G phone among my friends. In the end I feel it is better to wait until a more reputable manufacturer releases a 3G phone for the US market. This phone isn't marginally worse than my old one, it is drastically worse. It is to the point that I am surprised that Cingular even approved it. I think you will see this phone discontinued soon after Cingular gets some better 3G handsets later this year. If my experience is typical by the end of the year this will be discontinued, maybe even sooner. If you buy this remember you have been warned!
Good Riddens!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


data cable???

 

Apr 19, 2006 by Hello Moto

In response to the person that posted this, in this day in age it seems ridiculous to me that someone with a bluetooth enabled phone is still looking for a data cable instead of getting a bluetooth adapter and then there will never be a need for a data cable ever again...one came with my w600, i use it to charge my phone when i'm at my computer, that's it. data cables get in the way and are annoying.

Sending it Back
by twosox Mar 21, 2006
I'm sending this one back. I'm sure some folks will like the phone and the 3G service, but having to buy a $25-40 cable to connect my PC just seems ridiculous these days.
CONs:
Non-standard USB connection, requires yet ANOTHER cable in my bag. No can do -- this is the deal breaker for me.
No means to synchronize the contacts on my PC.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

 
Page  1 23

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
1