Phone Scoop

printed August 28, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=792

Home  ›  Phones  ›  Nokia  ›

Nokia 1600

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  18  

Average Ratings

3.83
Overall
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      

nokia 1600

 

Oct 21, 2008 by onthepath1234

i have used nokia's before, many years ago, no problems. this (1600) one sort of reminds me of when i was a kid with two cans and a string between them. i mean its pretty basic. the keys are very sensitive and its easy to go way past what you want to do. the phone is also physically to small for my hand. I wanted net 10 bad after being screwed by sprint (sprint averaged about $300 a month, their crooks) Now i pay about $30 a month and am very happy. I'm not a big cell user, if you are don't go net 10, get a contract.

I bought net 10 from Wal-mart (i think trackphone owns net10) and Wal-mart only sells two phones (cheap lg and the cheap nokia). I should have gone the internet route (much better phone choices). Most say the LG 600g is the best or the Moto w176. I will do this next when the card runs out. You can get the new phone for almost no money considering the cost of minutes (300 free w/phone).

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Noka 1600 from Net10

 

Jul 9, 2008 by xxloversragexx

I live in Jacksonville, North Carolina and we have the AT&T network along with several others to choose from, I went with Net10 because of great reviews I've heard from friends who owned there products.

To me, Net10 (service wise) is a pretty nifty service, for only $99.99 I can have 1000 minutes on my phone!

The phone I have is a Nokia 1600.

Pros:
Durability
Lighting
Easy to use
Compact
Lightweight
No stickers showing Net10 all over it
Ringtones (may be a con for some)
Call quality is excellent
Battery life lasts up to 18-20 days if I don't make phone calls (if I do, cut it down to around 16-14 days on 60 minutes)
Keypad security and look

Cons:
Very basic (not a con for me, but for others)
Takes a special earpiece to use
Freezes up from time to time (very rarely)
Hard to find voicemail settings
Easily able to get dirty (most phones)

Overall, I rated this phone a 4.5

Its THE PERFECT PHONE for the basic user, or even for there children, its affordable, lightweight, and it comes with all the features that you would need to get things done, through texting..you can even send e-mails for only 5 cents send and recieve! a lot cheaper than T-mobile!

I'd recommend this service and especially this phone to ANYONE at ANYTIME.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


Nokia 1600

 

Jul 1, 2007 by bucky1

I bought the Nokia 1600 for use on the Net10 network(GSM). First let me say that I have been using a Motorola Startac for the past few years and still have it activated on the Sprint network. It has been a wonderful phone and I may very well keep using it. I wanted to throw that bit of information in so people might know on what basis I make the following comments. At any rate back to the Nokia...

Pros:

Battery life seems to be very good.

The unit is very small and light weight.

Text can be read fairly easily by even my failing eyes.

Not too much unnecessary nonsense on this phone like cameras and such. (Probably a con to some)

Cons:

The audio quality of the Nokia both on and off of the speaker phone is very poor. Very tinny sounding...

The phone is also not very comfortable to hold against your ear. Why is it popular to make a flat ear piece on cell phones? My ears are certainly not flat and I have yet to see anyone with flat ears.

There seems to be some difficulty with programming the one touch dialing.

There are missing bits of information in the included owners manual.

The phone takes a special "Nokia style" ear plug tip.

I could really get to like like this phone if the sound quality was even average but alas it is not. If the sound quality was there I could easily rate this phone a "4.0" but first and foremost a phone is a verbal communication device and it should perform this basic function well. The Nokia does not. :(

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Another solid Nokia

 

May 12, 2007 by taxial

I'm using this phone with Net10 on the cingular (Att) network in south Florida.
Great signal and sound quality.
Software is very fast and like most nokia's, getting around is very easy and similar to other nokia's.
I find the phone to have a nice solid feel and excellent battery life.
The 4 way button in the center takes a little getting used to, yet easy to learn your way around.

Like many phones these days, no great selection of ring tones and none that sounds like a phone ringing.
I also find that no matter how much I adjust the colors, the info on the screen is just not easy to see. The signal and battery meter seem to blend in and do not stand out well
All in all, if your looking for a good basic phone with great call quality and durability, you wont go wrong with the Nokia 1600

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


A great basic Nokia!

 

Apr 16, 2007 by scooby214

I am using this phone with Net10. I am in Oklahoma City, and the phone uses Cingular's network. It has been available for Net10 since around October 2006.

Before trying the 1600, I tried many of the Motorola phones Net10 has to offer. The 1600 beats them all in terms of signal quality and earpiece sound quality. It also lasts about 10-12 days on a charge for me with about 60 minutes of talk time during that time. It is definitely a no frills phone, and it fits the no frills niche well.

PROS:
Snappy user interface
Easy to use
Great battery life
Good reception
Good Earpiece quality
Easy to read display
Easy to use keypad
Sturdy
Good rates using Net10's service
No bugs that I have noticed

CONS:
Very basic features (to be expected in this price range)
Very low screen resolution
Display colors seem washed out
Needs a basic telephone ringtone

If I had it to do all over again, I'd buy it again.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Got one with Net10

 

Mar 29, 2010 by realestateman2

Just got this phone with Net10 and love it. I get great reception. I never have to worry about my service. I have dropped this phone numerous times and it never breaks.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Great basic phone

 

Sep 7, 2009 by bookworm656

PROS:
*Basically free from Net10 when they're doing the "buy a phone and get 300 minutes free" promotion
*10¢/minute and 5¢/text, which is less than most contract plans (for moderately frequent use)
*Really great battery life (upwards of a week without charging, even with daily use)
*Composer app lets you make your own ringtones (they won't sound great, but it's pretty fun anyway)
*Durable
*Keypad can be locked
*Great signal in lots of areas

CONS:
*Very basic
*Outdated
*Small buttons (could cause problems for people with large fingers)
*Locations of settings for some things aren't always very intuitive
*Battery meter is a little hard to see

Both of my parents have had this phone from Net10 for a couple years, and I don't think they've ever had any major problems. In general, I would definitely recommend this phone to anyone who just wants to use their cell phone to call people (and maybe occasionally send some texts). The phone is basically free, the minutes are cheap, and the signal is usually great. I would not recommend this phone for teenagers or other heavy cell phone users, or (obviously) for anyone wanting a cool phone.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


LoVe It!!!!

 

Sep 1, 2009 by narn3049

There is nothing to not like about this phone. I didn't need a camera. I am a phone collector and reviewe and wanted to find some other phones for my collection- this came along and I was very impressed by net 10. It reminds me of the Nokia 1112 that is from telcel. It has the same games besides snake and still has rapid roll, but this phone has the color screen. Net10 realoly did a good job. Seeing as I only have had the phone for a day i cant really say, it's just kind of a little review.

The phone call quality is great, even in low reception areas where my verizon sch a870 has failed many times. This phone always gets the full bars.

The only real problem is that the phone can call people and dial numbers when in the pocket. However keypad lock, menu messages and the star key, locks it and fixes the problem, thats why it has a 4.5.

Net10 you did a great job. Great phone. Cool games and nice ringtone selections. It is even easy to text on.

30 cent plan is what I am on. Great little phone for a great price.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


This is a joke right?

 

Apr 30, 2008 by smashme101

Wow

TuYo is sad...

This phone has gone downhill

Heres the pros

PROS
Small
Its fun to watch in a microwave

Thats it..

CONS
Battery
Heat
Display
Duriblity
Style
It dosent get girls
Txting
Its just garbage

So stay away. You will be happy that you did

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

 
 
Page  1  of 1

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
2