Phone Scoop

printed December 18, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=74

Home  ›  Phones  ›  Nokia  ›

Nokia 8890

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  3  

Average Ratings

4.21
Overall
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      

Classic Nokia at its best

 

Sep 18, 2006 by Kebbers

Amazing how this phone costed $400+ a few years ago, yet now you can pick one up in fairly good-clean condition between $80-120. This phone has always been a favorite of mine since I first saw one in 2001. If you're looking for a classic, stylish phone but don't want to break the bank, this is one to keep.

Simple and elegant is how I would describe this handset. Aluminium casing gives the phone a good, solid feel, while the chrome accents are done tastefully. Slide the keypad cover open and/or closed to answer/hangup.

Unique is a great descriptor, too. I'm a high school advisor, and whenever I pull out the 8890 anyone under the age of 18 gawk at it and ask if it's a new phone from Nokia and/or when was it released. Some older folks who remember the 8890 have smiled at me whenever I'm on the phone; on one occassion, a random passerby commented that he missed his 8890.

There are only a few features that I would add to this phone if an 8890 re-issue was ever in the works:

1) Addition of 850 mHz frequency
2) Addition of midi or mp3 playback
3) Addition of speakerphone
4) An evenly-lit screen (non-LED)

If these few features were retro-fitted to the same exterior, I would certainly be on the waiting list for it.

Note: even though this is a pretty early phone from Nokia, the SAR value is only 0.26 W/kg. Nokia's 6280 gives off 0.5 W/kg, and I believe the older Nokia 6200's SAR value is 0.82 W/kg.

Ah yes - because this was a very popular & coveted model in its day, repairs are simple, easy, and relatively inexpensive. Even for a former $400 phone like this one. Think of Nokia as the Hondas of cell phones.

All in all, a wonderful phone that I'll keep around, even if I upgrade to other handsets in the future. Handsome, slick, reliable - highly recommended as an alternative to the sliders out there.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


ok

 

May 23, 2010 by narn3049

i had this phone and i Loved it a lot, but now it was older, so probably more features around now.

it was pretty durable. I'm glad i got the chance to own it, ok phone

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


A True Classic

 

Aug 12, 2006 by hdtravel

I just purchased one of these brand new from Overstock.com. Who knows where they got them as this is a pretty old phone. Seems to be a European packaging.

Anyway, this phone is a true classic in style and design.

It has good reception ( RF ) and solid audio. Very solid metal build, not plastic like all the new phones out there. These folks were using metal 6 years before the Moto RAZR.

Works great, looks wonderful, and does not have all the unneeded crap like new phones do.

I highly recommend it. A timeless, head-turning, solid built classic of a phone. Great job Nokia !

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Best Phone Ever!

 

Feb 19, 2004 by got15psi

I must say even though this phone is old! I still love it. Not only is it still styling it's been nothing but solid for me. I did have a screen problem which as been fixed. Other then that is is the best phone, and for it's age the RF is super strong, better then most phone I've own.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Nothing wrong with a classic!

 

Nov 28, 2003 by zolagol

A 3.5 rating only because it's getting 'dated'. 2 years ago this deserved at least a 4 if not 4.5! If you just want a phone with SMS capability, get it! It's very compact, sexy, and certainly draws attention from people around you. And let's face it, it's the reason why you want to even consider a phone like this. If you weren't concerned with aesthetics, then you'd be better served by the Samsung R225 or Motorola V66. The IrDa port adds a nice touch and enables quick exchange of phone book info. The sliding key cover seems a little delicate, but I've had mine for almost a year and it still works fine...you have to be careful, that's all. "The best looking phone ever made."

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Awesome phone....but getting dated

 

May 30, 2003 by TDLicious

Fell in love with this phone the first time I saw it. While I am not a form over function guy, looks are important to me! I still consider the 8890 the best looking phone made to date, by any carrier!

Problem is the technology is now 5+ years old, it is dual and not tri band and it does not have the latest and greatest! I also use a Nokia 9290 Communicator for business use, and THAT has it all (Except for a camera, but who needs a camera on their phone?!?!)

Finally, the ONE flaw that I have heard about AND experienced on the 8890 is the screen....rest assured, it is not WILL the screen DIE on you someday, but rather WHEN will it die!

Summary: Great phone. Small, GREAT-LOOKING and Nokia STILL has the best and most user-friendly interface on the market! Prices are dropping every day - go to ebay and get one!!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Best phone

 

Apr 4, 2002 by Rich White

This is by far the best phone I have ever had. I am in the industry so there is not many TDMA or GSM phones that I have not used. My phones usually only last about 1 month before I destroy them somehow. This one is 2 months old already and works fine. Just don't drop it, the metal housing nicks very easily.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

 
 
Page  1  of 1

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
1