Phone Scoop

printed December 21, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=710&r=25485

Home  ›  Phones  ›  Motorola  ›

Motorola L6

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  100+  

Average Ratings

3.23
Overall
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      
Page 1 2 345

this phone broke

 

Feb 21, 2010 by narn3049

I used this on cingular.

lets face it the phone was fragile. I dropped it maybe 3 feet and the screen cracked. I was able to get a new phone and it broke again. THIS WAS BECAUSE OF THE CHARGER PORT FAILING, the next phones screen backlighting went out.

I mean the phone is good- but the rating is only a 2.0 by me because of the issues i had

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


There Are Better Choices

 

Jan 2, 2009 by smashme101

I had this in pink.

I drop my phones alot so i need them to last.

This phone was no match for me.

Pros
Nothing

Cons
Battery Life is bad
Screen goes out after 3 falls
Its motorola

DONT BUY IT. 2 cups and string is a better buy

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


3 Replacements

 

Aug 14, 2008 by techgurl88

OMG!!!!!!!!
I had to replace this phone THREE TIMES WITHIN ONE WEEK....After the 3rd replacement, I just gave up...I dont know if it was because it was a Cingular phone & I had it unlocked to T-Mobile or what....This phone had me depressed & in tears because I cannot be w/o a phone....Everytime I put the phone on the charger it would shut on & off....on & off. All 3 phones did this. I htought the battery was just dead so I charged it all nite & the phone was doing the same thing....I just gave up!!!!!!!

But it is a Motorola so I wasnt surprised LOL!!!!!!! This phone is lucky I gave it a 0.5

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


L6 Review

 

Jan 24, 2008 by Incnway5

Not a good phone for heavy texters and music listeners

Pro:
-Durable
-Light
-Thin
-Nice picture quality

Cons:
-Memory card slot behind battery
-Small buttons
-Side buttons take time to get used to
-After memory is full, phone will lag even after it is empty

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


the reason i now have a blackberry

 

Oct 6, 2007 by xoblackberryxo

worst phone i have ever owned by far. in the past i liked motorola... kinda it was affordable and the phones always looked kinda cool i guess. i got this phone less than a year ago ive had 3 replacements through warranty nothing but problems...

Pro's:
- the only thing it has over my black berry is video

Con's:
- browser is worse than dial up when it first came out! (not a carrier problem some tech problem with all 3 phones)
-phone randomly powers off or it gives me this frozen screen
-not happy with picture quality
-buttons were weird to adjust to
-blue tooth isnt stereo
-fades out in sunlight (screen not visible)
-ring volume/vibrate is horrible
-settings like to set themselves back to what they were originally not what i changed them too... frusterating
-when i set calender alarms for important buisness meeting and what not. it wouldnt alert me,thank god i got a courtesy call

overall i Never recommended this phone to anyone it completely turned me off to motorola. i just got the curve love it!!!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


I Had Problem With This Phone

 

Aug 13, 2007 by JSweazy

When i first got this phone i liked the how slim it was. I carry around phones in my pocket so i needed a slim one. At first the signal was ok, but after a while it kept getting worse and worse. It came to the point where i would have no signal in my house and drop calls a lot. So i wouldn't recommend this phone. I'll list the pro and cons for everyone:

Pros:
Phone is nice and slim
Like the Candy bar shape

Cons:
bad reception
Camera is not good
screen resolution is not good

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Pass.

 

Jul 26, 2007 by BlondeBombshell

I give this phone a 1.5, after owning one for alittle under a year. I have owned 6 different phones in the last 2 years, all either Motorola or nokia. With all of my other phones, I had at least 3 bars of service. With the L6, I was lucky to have one, and definatly not in my bedroom.

Pro's-
Syncs easily with Motorola phone tools
Good screen quality (unless in direct light)
battery life
photo quality
video
good volume

Con's-
Screen gets dirty easily and makes it almost impossible to read.
Horrible service (deal breaker)
sloooow internet, and very limited browsing
speakerphone breaks up

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


what a waste

 

Mar 4, 2007 by katelyn_m511

i admit that this phone has a very stylish look but do not let the look fool you. This is by far the WORST phone i have ever owned.
it has a lot of cons so ill start with them
-NOONE can hear you every person i talk to can hardly ever hear
-if the wind is blowing it sounds all staticy and the other person cant hear you either
-the camera sucks you have o hold it very still to take at least a half way decent picture
-every time i set my phone down even just the least bit hard the screen turns white and it looses service
-the speaker phone is not loud at all
- the keys are really tiny and makes it harder to text message

pros
-you can merge a call
-it vibrates and rings at the same time
-really small
-cute
-pretty sturdy for what it is

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Crummy Ugly!

 

Jan 30, 2007 by claresano

I was seduced by all the positive reviews on here and wanted to try something new so I ordered this phone. The very first call I made I was told my voice sounded muffled. This was repeated throughout the day with comments that I was 'breaking up', not speaking loud enough etc. Basically no one could hear me! Walking down the street with a slight breeze apparently made the phone unbearably static-y on the other end. Meanwhile on my end the other person's voice was blasting in my ear. Then today I experienced, for the first time, a tinny echo in my ear as I was talking.
This phone is crap it can't even do the most basic thing, which is to transmit a decent call. As for the 'style' don't even get me started; its really pretty ugly - yeah its thin but its wide and awkward in the hand and its damn heavy.
I'll start with the CONS since it has so many:
terrible call quality
strange tinny echoing
annoyingly small and slippery keys that cramp your fingers to use
non intuitive software - difficult to use
kept accidently downloading media files that i didn't want and will be charged for
terrible quality camera
useless manual
ugly design, awkwardly shaped to your face and hands
no 'missed calls' section
short battery life

PROS
very flat
seems to be sturdily made - not a lot of plastic on it
ability to customize many options

OVERALL: I had a 1000 times better call quality on my little no frills Nokia and the software was easy to use.
To say 'style over substance' is too much of a compliment to this phone because its not even stylish! I'm returning it tomorrow for a Nokia.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Great for Phone-only; Flawless on Trip to Europe

 

Jan 17, 2007 by Montalvo

My Nokia 8390 was getting old and I was planning an extensive road trip in France and the UK so I thought I'd buy a new unlocked quad-band GSM phone and then buy a SIM card for use in Europe. I found L6's on E-Bay for just over $100 that were quad-band phones...perfect for both Europe and for my existing Cingular account which I wanted to preserve ($39/mo. for 1,000 anytime min., no LD/roaming charges US-wide).

Being older than even the oldest B-boomer and also retired, I wasn't looking for a phone to do anything other than...be a phone. And the L6 does a great job of that. The reception is far better than my admittedly outdated Nokia and the battery life is superior, too. And while I like the look of the slim Moto design, I find it less secure in my grip than the Nokia (which, like the L6, is a candy-bar but twice as thick, 20% shorter and about 20% narrower). I carry my phone in the front pocket of my jeans and as mentioned in another post, the L6 wants to ride horizontal, making it rather uncomfortable despite its thinness.

All the other cons mentioned were mostly irrelevant to my needs or inconsistent with my experience with this phone. I've had it for four months, including the month in Europe where it performed flawlessly. A neighbor was able to reach me in Avignon to tell me that one of my lawn sprinklers had malfunctioned and was flooding her driveway. I was able to arrange to get it fixed thanks to my phone.

I've dropped the phone several times without any mishap other than the back popping off. It appears to be fairly rugged. All-in-all, I'm pleased with my purchase.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

Page 1 2 345

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
1