Phone Scoop

printed September 2, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=698

Home  ›  Phones  ›  Nokia  ›

Nokia 6230i

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  100+  

Average Ratings

4
Overall
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      

Phone is great

 

Oct 31, 2005 by TheBoi588

My dad got me the 6230i about 6 months ago for my birthday and i have had no problems with it it has all the features of the K750i except for a powerful camera but its camera is still almost as good with a 512 mb card which was released a lil while ago it makes the phone even more phone able to hold movie clips and mp3s there are really no cons about this phone except for its small size this is a good buy if u dont want to spend too much on getting a K750 which i think is the best phone on the market

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


This nokia is my favorite

 

Sep 15, 2005 by hope

I owned the Nokia 7610 for one year and wanted a phone that was more conventional. I went with this one because of its features and its seize. After about a month, I will say that this is an improvement. Good reception, series 40 UI, very bright screen, and EDGE. I don't use the IR in the states, but use it when I'm overseas. The call waiting tone is louder than my previous phone which is nice. I will say this though, when switching themes, each theme has a ringer than is assigned to the theme. So, every time you switch, you will have to switch to the ringers you like. I found this to be a bit annoying. Also, dust gets into the inside of the screen easy, so one has to clean it. I find this very annoying. Over all though, the phone is great. If you like Nokia phones, this one is a great buy. Would have given it 5 stars if not for the dust!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


It's a PalmPilot, MP3 player, Camera and an amazing Phone in one.

 

Nov 19, 2005 by xianwindsor

Amazing phone that has replaced at least four other gadgets. Battery lasts 3x longer than my old Motorola T720. The interface is also far more responsive and intuitive. I can sort search through my contacts with every letter (as opp posed to only one with Moto.) Also able to save phone numbers sent via text messages. Best of all, however, is the phone's sound quality. Had no idea cell founds could sound so clear.

Pros:
Loud and clear handset and speaker phone
Very intuitive interface
Seamless sync with Microsoft Outlook
Radio & MP3 Player, Expandable Memory
Battery lasts pretty long
Replaces many gadgets (PDA, Music Player, Travel Alarm Clock, Camera.)

Cons: (nice to haves really)
Only handle one Bluetooth device at a time
Voice recorder limited to 2 minutes
No Audible support / minimal play functions

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


A reliable phone

 

Aug 12, 2005 by ches

I finally gave up on flip phones and went back to a Nokia. My reception (Cingular - traveling in Michigan and Ohio) is much better, which is all that matters to me. I'm not looking for a phone that can play MP3's, surf the net, or make me lunch. Oddly enough, I want a phone that will allow me to send a receive calls with some degree of reliability. This phone does the trick.

My son and I both traded in our Motorola and Samsung flip phones for Nokia's, and we haven't looked back. He can get a full signal in mid-Michigan where the Samsung wouldn't even get one bar.

I don't care about Bluetooth, camera's, MP3's, or cool ring tones. I just want a phone that works, and I'd buy this again in a heartbeat.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


BY FAR ON OF THE BEST PHONES OUT THERE

 

Jul 24, 2005 by Cell Man

I can't believe that there is actually a phone out there that doesn't drop calls. The call quality is so great that I'm actually recommending this work of art to all my friends and business associates. Easy to use and a phenomenal camera comes with it.

Pros:
Great ringer volume
Great graphics
Great reception
Easy to use menus
Easily links to blue tooth on your PC

Cons:
Haven't really found one yet

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Simply the Best

 

Aug 20, 2005 by JRaf

This has to be the best phone ever created, it is very simple to use and has so many great features, a classic example of what a great phone is

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Never Again

 

Jul 13, 2005 by tungsten

I really wanted to like this phone because it has great features. But unless Nokia can fix the software so that its dependable I will never own one again. I currently am on my second replacement phone in 6 months, and told my provider today to give me another brand or I'm leaving.

The Pro's of this phone:
Great Pictures for a camera phone
Hands free attachment / Radio
Good organizer
Great alarm clock
good quality
Speakerphone, and great volume range
IR & Bluetooth
Plays MP3's
Built like a brick

The Con's of this phone:
a) software
Resets itself
Loses network
Drops calls
sometimes can't find memory card
Sometimes loses wallpaper after reset

b) other
SD Card is a unique Nokia size, so you can't use another one with more capacity to put MP3's on unless you buy it from Nokia.
Pictures associated to phone numbers are displayed very small
Comes with mostly crappy ringtones

When I bough this phone in February I was very excited about it. Now that I'm getting rid of my third one, I wonder how Nokia is still in business if this is the quality of their product.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Water strikes and the phone keeps working!

 

Mar 2, 2010 by narn3049

I owned this on the cingular network I think is what it was on, I was on a phone call, dropped it, the phone actually fell into the sink, It was wet when i removed it, and then I dried it overnight. The next day the screen was foggy and the phone worked fine, so I took it out, later on the buttons started having issues (this was later in the day) I laid it back down to dry, and it still worked for another 3 or so years no problems whatsoever.

The camera was really good on this phone, it actually remained on inside the sink, when I saw it hit it was on, and I pulled it out it was on, when it was on, in the water, it was in there for maybe 10 seconds before I came to my senses (because this phone was REALLY NEW) and it remained on. Totally a phone I would invest in again if I had to.

I currently realize that there ARE SO MANY different newer phones, probably nowadays leaving this phone at oh maybe 20 bucks if you saw it for sale.

Currently I use the Samsung Intensity in Black

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Excellent all-in-one phone

 

Oct 4, 2006 by krisztoforo

This is probably the best all-in-one phone that still looks like a phone. It has pretty much everything I need: bluetooth, camera, memory card, radio, mp3 player, calendar, alarm clock, speaker phone. Seems like most negative reviews focus on bugs in early firmware versions, that's the only negative thing I was able to find, too.

Pros:
- Very good RF, holds calls even on low signal levels
- Excellent screen
- Nice camera resolution (although I don't use it too much)
- Bluetooth
- Memory card
- Radio

Cons:
- Kinda boring styling
- You need a fairly recent firmware (3.62+) to have a reliable phone

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


6230i - Another Nokia Legend - Excellent device

 

Apr 7, 2006 by Chinasaur

Purchased in Dec '05, have used for four months and never looked back. Excellent handset.

Purchased unlocked, this phone has been my trusted companion since the day it arrived. Syncing with either my PC or Macintosh, this phone allowed me to download my address book, calendars and ToDo lists with little to no issues.

Call quality is stellar. Hands down the most powerful phone I've ever owned. Carrier is T-Mobile in Seattle. Used in Puget Sound and E. Washington.

Overall, this is the real deal. Ask any knowledgeable Nokia user, read reviews online, visit the forums...the 6230i is arguably one of the Top Ten phones on the planet...at least in the Top 20.

Pros:
Excellent speakerphone
Call quality
Usual fast Nokia charging ~2 hours
Keypad
Camera - for quick snaps..it's ok.

Cons:
Pop Port - Sorry..never gotten into this "feature"
Radio can't be used without attached headset acting as antenna.
Music player is not the best engineered piece of software around.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

 
Page  1 2

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
1