Phone Scoop

printed April 18, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=680

Home  ›  Phones  ›  Samsung  ›

Samsung SCH-A630

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  45  

Average Ratings

3.11
Overall
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      

Choppy calls

 

Aug 24, 2006 by AwpdsR

This phone would be a reasonable entry level phone but it's lacking in its major department: CALL QUALITY. Calls are always choppy and it's hard to hear. It's mostly on the a630 but sometimes when I'm on the phone the other person says they cant hear me.

Pros:
- Small
- Feels smaller because of the internal antenna
- Nice blue color
- I like how the indicator lights are aroudn the Samsung logo. slick
- doesnt use the Verizon UI.
- Blue backlighting
- Speakerphone
- Got it for $10 in store

Cons:
- Calls are choppy and tinny, probably because of the internal antenna.
- Old style Samsung charger port instead of newer pin charger (this is bad because pocket lint gets in there and makes charging difficult)
- No standard ringers. Even the ones marked "Bell" are music.

~~~

It's just not a worthy phone when it's only purpose is to make calls and it doesnt do it well.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Very Good Basic Phone

 

Oct 10, 2005 by slw

PROS:
Good Reception
Very Good Build Quality
Non Verizon UI
Great Audio
Internal Ant.
Great Battery Life

CONS:
No Web Access
No Get It Now
Poor Ringtones

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


sch a630 ok if you're used to their interface

 

Feb 6, 2006 by mdwebneck

I owned two different motorola models before I tried this Samsung. I only purchased the samsung because of its name.
However, after attempting to figure out the interface on my own, I picked up the min-handbook, only to find the print on the handbook to be smaller than the buttons on the phone. I went back to the phone to try again but there were no detailed display prompts as there had been on the two motorolas (for things like backspacing, since I couldn't read the 4-6pt font to see what the buttons were)
Anyhow, after a few frustrating/fruitless hours the stress level had my left eye twitching, so the next day I upgraded to a Motorola that had better reviews on this site.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


samsung a630 review

 

Nov 9, 2005 by zman05

its a great phone i have it i downloaded ringtones for it at www.vtext.com then clicked ringtones other phones work on it to like the lg vx 3200/330 Motorola c333/343
kyocera 2325/k414 its a great place to go and the ring tones only cost $0.99. That why i like it but you cant download any wallpapers for it

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Go with a phone with an ANTENNA!

 

Oct 29, 2005 by davidza85

Pros;
Samsung Product
Good Speaker Phone
Good Screen
Looks Cool

CONS;
This phone
RECEPTION!!!
Has the VERY WORST reception out of ANY other VZW Phone!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


GREATEST PHONE EVER

 

Jun 16, 2007 by heeeeeeey

This is the greatest phone i have ever had. There is the fact that it doesn't get/take pictures. But if you need a phone that you can beat the crap out of, get it. I threw it from the top of a flight of stairs to see what would happen to it? Nothing. Nothing at all. I threw it into the street, put it in the shower, kicked it, threw it, cracked the screen in half, cut off pieces of the plastic, melted part of it on the fireplace, and stabbed holes in the lights on the front. Nothing will break it. Like I'm actually pretty sure that it is impossible. It is very easy to text on and I always had good service with it. The only other downside is that when texting with T9, it does not learn words. I wish I still had it.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Great Starter!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

 

Dec 21, 2006 by bannerman

I got this phone only for the fact that it was free. But I was very surprised when I started to use and actually enjoyed it. It had great reception and a loud clear speaker. The only to bad things was it didn't have Internet or games. But if your looking for a loud phone maybe for your parents, that won't confuse them with all the rest of the crap phones have. THIS ONE IS IT!!!!!!!!!!!! merry christmas

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Short and Simple

 

Nov 6, 2006 by LayLay12

I hated this phone, I really did. I begged my mother for another one but she said no. I honestly don't recommend this piece of crap for anyone. It's boring. It sucks. Have you ever heard of a phone that doesn't enable you to record stuff? No, then you obviously haven't heard about the Samsung A630 because you can't record anything. Now with the Pros and Cons

Pros
Speaker
Pretty exterior design
Good reception
No antenna

Cons
Poor Wallpapers
Boring ringtones
No Get It Now
You can't record
Ugly interior design
Too basic
Needs Camera
Needs Video
No exterior view like to view time

If you do choose to get this phone all I can say is good luck. Thank god something happened with my service and I went to T-Mobile and got a Samsung T619. That phone is blazin. Everybody in school be hating.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Pretty Good

 

Nov 6, 2006 by urfavegirrl

I have this phone after my boyfriend had it, he got a new phone and mine had broken, so it is used. He obviously had dropped it a few times, but it still works well, which is a nice surprise because of the few phones I've had, a couple broke after one hard fall.

Pros:
Compact, no antenna
Excellent reception
Very durable, doesn't scratch too easily
Good ringer volumes, from quiet to loud
Lights on cover flash red when receiving a call, nice and discreet when phone is on silent

Cons:
Bad ringers, none are normal sounding
When phone is closed and idle, front lights randomly flash green
Not much battery life
Takes forever to charge
Weird backgrounds, most are animated, which I find annoying
I don't like the colors, this phone was only made in blue/silver, but the photo on here is black/grey, which I would like much better
Phone is pretty thick
Speakerphone quality isn't the greatest

So, overall, I don't really like this phone, but only for cosmetic or unimportant reasons. As for functionality, I think it works very well if not better than most other phones I've owned.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

 
 
Page  1  of 1

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
2