Phone Scoop

printed May 6, 2016
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=65

Home  ›  Phones  ›  Nokia  ›

Nokia 8260

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  2  

Average Ratings

3.75
Overall
 
 

Add your review

Please log in to post a review.

Sort by most:      

Decent phone

 

Jul 30, 2004 by krappei

PROs: Size, good reception, changable face plates, durable

CONs: Difficult to change faceplate

Had the phone for 2 years and upgraded to the 8265 which was an improvement.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Good phone, could be better

 

Dec 7, 2003 by xyn19

Used this phone for 2 years, still going but starting to show some glitches:

- ringer sometimes does not sound
- phone sometimes does not vibrate
- after unplugging headset, sometimes cannot hear on the phone anymore, must turn it off then back on to make it work again

I use Body Glove neoprene type case for this phone, great protection from drops etc.

PROs:
+ small and pretty light even comparing to today's phones!
+ aesthetics, clean look

OKs or CONs:
+ Phone get hot after a few minutes, works better than a ear muff!
+ Got nothing to rave about the RF, I think Nokia discontinued it mostly because of this.
+ Average sound quality.
+ No way to sync up to a PC, period.
+ Some menu tree branches are too deep/non-intuitive, hard to find things sometimes. Where and how do you set up Caller Groups again?
+ Keys are almost too small for my already small fingers; it is too small when used with a case that has a clear plastic sheet over the key pad.
+ Time autoset does not always work.
+ Face plate not user replaceable.
+ Help text automatically shows up after 5 seconds when browsing through the menu tree, gets annoying sometimes, especially when driving. (Shouldn't do this while driving I know, but we're all human..)

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       reviews continues below...


8260

 

Aug 24, 2002 by Ryan M

I would say this is a great phone if you want something small. This was one of nokia's most popular phones with a high amount of technology packed into a small and light phone. Discontinued now, see 8265.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
hide detailed ratings

This was my 3rd phone

 

Jan 11, 2016 by chadbordes

Carrier: AT&T

Had the 8290 on voicestream and then switched to this phone when i got to cali.

I appreciated its size when I had it. Because it was so small it was easy to travel with.

After time I just wanted a nicer phone. and eventually moved to another nokia.

Pros:
Battery life
Reception
Sound

Cons
Too small

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


i miss you little guy

 

Mar 11, 2005 by akira101

this was my starter phone. it was reliable and soooo easy to use. and best of all, it was tiny... cuz most phones, when strapped on your belt-clip, would look as if you were strapping a gun to your side. this phone however fit nice and smoothly :) i did have some reception problems however. other than that, it was so simple and easy to use. miss you little guy...

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Aceptable Nokia

 

Jan 13, 2005 by ulix

Good phone if you are not an asiduos user, because the speaker gets warm after the first ten minutes.

Good receptio (but I've seen betters), and very sturdy it resist falls, hits, water (not very good on this, but better than other brands).

The keys are also very susceptible to fail.

The message memory is also good, if you are writing a message and you accidentaly get out of the message screen it will be saved in the message screen for the next time you get in.

I recomend Nokia a lot, they resist the hard use, good reception, and nice simple features.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Phone Just Stopped Working

 

Oct 6, 2004 by erica79

I had this phone for about 4 months on Suncom's network and it just stopped working. It would turn on but the display wouldn't show anything. Overall it was a great phone when it did work!

Pros: Size, weight.

Cons: Faceplate not user changeable, keys are a bit small.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Great phone

 

Sep 16, 2004 by talkative

Pros:
Excellent phone. It does one thing - place calls. And it does it very well. I used this for over 3 years and extremely happy with it. It's built like a rock, I've dropped it on concrete from 5ft several times and it doesn't care. It's also quite small for it's price and date. It was much better than many of it's successors. Also, it never crashes or gives me trouble. Just keeps humming. 3 years of daily use and the battery still lasts me 3 days!!!

Cons:
It's TDMA and has no data features. It's likely sold only on eBay now.

Summary:
If you're looking for a used phone to work on AT&T's TDMA network (especially with their prepaid plans), this is a great choice. No frills, but works very well.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


I miss my little buddy.

 

Jun 29, 2004 by akajazz01

Sure, this phone isnt fancy, doesnt have a color screen, etc etc etc, however it was the most reliable phone I have ever used. I had 'upgraded' to the motorola t720, and now I long for the days that the worst this nokia could do was make my ear warm.....

*Sigh*

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Tough Little Phone

 

Mar 26, 2004 by waffletrip

I used this Phone for over a year and I had little to complain about. Small, light weight, and Tough. The phone worked as it should even under great abuse from my old job. Pieces of plastic broken off, cracked the cover of the screen, dropped many times, and still keeps working. The only problems I had with it was it would turn its self off randomly and one of the side volume buttons got hard to press. I replaced the battery but it was never the same as when I bought it. Considering what the phone went through, it held up pretty well and worked even though I heard something rattling inside when I shook the phone. It didn't have a lot of features but then again it's just a phone and a good one at that.

Only bad thing about it was it did get warm when used for more than 10 or 20 minutes.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

 
Page  1 2

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2016 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
2