Phone Scoop

printed October 25, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=648

Home  ›  Phones  ›  Motorola  ›

Motorola V535 / V545 / V550 / E550

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  22  

Average Ratings

3.2
Overall
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      

V551

 

Oct 25, 2005 by Kelliayne

I didn't think it was possible to make a worse phone than the v400, but Motorola has exceeded themselves in making another lousy phone. I had to replace the 400 three times until Cingular finally admitted that it had so many defects they had pulled it off the market. They replaced it with the 551. What an absolute joke. Sound volume is too low to hear other than in a closet and is garbled. Reception is the worst of any of the 20 or so phones I've had. As an experiment, I took my old Nokia 3100 into spots where the 551 would absolutely not work-no bars. The Nokia consistently had 3-5 bars in the same areas with perfect reception. Avoid this phone at all costs, even if someone pays you to use it. I've complained so much to Cingular they're allowing me to upgrade to another phone free.

It's really too bad because this phone has some really great features. Unfortunately, most don't work very well.

I'll never touch another Motorola product again. I guess this is what one could expect from a near bankrupt company.

Rating -5

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Motorola V551

 

Aug 2, 2005 by sterobw

This phone has some nice features but as I use it for the Cingular network basic performance is unacceptable.

Pros:

Great speaker phone
Camera is ok

Cons:
Can't hear on mic unless other person is on land line
Menu commands are awkward
Dropped calls
Hard to switch callers when two call in

Really, the problem may be with Cingular so if you can use this phone with another carrier it might be worth a try.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


Better Phone Out There

 

Jan 2, 2005 by flyingnate88

I purchased the Motorola V551 about 2 1/2 weeks ago at a Cingular dealer. So far, I have been very happy with its performance and ease of use, here are the pros and cons:

Pros
- Good gripping surfaces
- Easy to use menus
- Camera and Video Recorders
- Screen not to hard to see in light
- Easy to flip open with one hand
- Excellent speaker phone
- Well built and very sturdy
- Good reception

Cons
- Battery life when talking is terrible
- Does not support some ringtones or games
- No easy way to access internet
- Camera pics not the best quility
- Phonebook with no address capability

Ease of use: 9/10
Functionality: 8.5/10
Cost: 9/10
Service and Range: 9/10

OVERALL: 9/10

Who should buy it: People looking for a good quality phone and people who work in places where things could get broken. Also, the gaming on this phone is quite good so if you like playing games when you get bored at work then you will like this phone alot. Buisnessmen and women would should also have some interest in this phone because it is easy and fast to use and find things that you need such as dates and phone numbers.

Final Thoughts

Overall, with all the features that Motorola packed into this phone, I think that they did an excellent job on it. It definitily beats out the V600 because it has "more bang for the buck", or in other words, more stuff.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


This Phone gets Two Thumbs down

 

Mar 7, 2006 by MauryD18

This phone is horrible things that make this phone horrible is alot of functions lol..........
1. It drops calls while your own the phone
2. The ring tones are low
3. The camera does not focus good unless u sit still for like 10secs so this means u cant take pictures while in motion
4. The phones freezes when u go thru the menu too fast
5. It keeps saying the sim card is not inserted
6. The Video recorder is not that clear unless u are close
The Only good thing about this phone is the design

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


v551

 

Aug 17, 2006 by sleepeejean

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


it aight....

 

Apr 12, 2006 by girly

i've had this phone for 1 year.never really had a problem with it.the camera thou could be better.sound quality could be better. Pros...1. good colour,2.has a nice shape,3.has good reception. Cons.when u take a pic with the phone it looks clean and clear but when you save the pic and view it,it looks like mess.the only time it looks good again is when u put it as your background.....but on the whole its an alrite phone...

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Compaired to the v600

 

Nov 9, 2004 by thadrod

This phones beats the v600 handsdown. At a cheaper price point in Canada. $400 compaired to the V600 starting at $650. More features like video capture, skins. Very stylish as well, both have a very nice look to them, at that point its your personal preference. I think that if your looking at either one, the choice is still yours, but my recomendation goes to the v551 (Rogers Wireless version) Check it out as soon as you can.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Great Value for Money

 

May 14, 2006 by kiwi47

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Decent phone for price

 

Dec 27, 2004 by george7720

I've had the v551 with cingular for over a month now and I've loved the phone for the most part. It has a great speakerphone and also a fair camera. The only two complaints I've had is that sometimes the phone reads "insert sim" out of the blue. It could be the sim card though. And also the video recorder is not the greatest: it's sort of frame by frame. Other than that..the phones great! God bless

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Pleased

 

Dec 9, 2004 by n8157n

I am very pleased with the new features on the V551. I've carried the v600, 400, and the 505 and this by far is the best. I like the video application and the 4x zoom, allows for clearer pictures. Bluetooth application is fairly easy to use. I also like the (blue) grips, it makes it easier to hold onto. Lets not forget the price. More phone then the V600 for a lower price. Only change I would make would be to add an SD slot. Good job Motorola.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

 
 
Page  1  of 1

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
2