Phone Scoop

printed September 30, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=630

Home  ›  Phones  ›  Samsung  ›

Samsung SGH-D500

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  100+  

Average Ratings

3.48
Overall
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      

One Of the Best D Ever

 

Feb 6, 2006 by rater

Very nice and glamorous design. Loving the features on it and the screen is beautiful. Just some what of a small phone for my hands but they are ok. I can still use it without any hard time so It's okay. But over all is a very nice phone and nothing more to say about it.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


A great little phone!

 

Mar 17, 2005 by elihuspeaks

We just started carrying these at my work, and I've had a chance to use one now, and I have to say that I'm really impressed. Normally, I hate sliders, but this one is just the right size (compact but not too much so), and the sliding action is soooo smooth! Plus, this is the first Samsung phone that I've had the opportunities to use that supports bluetooth. The screen is beautiful and the camera is better than most (though not as quite as good as the ones on Sharp's phones).

Pros:
Beautiful QVGA screen
1.3 Megapixel camera
Fully functional bluetooth (obex, etc.)
96 mb of memory
Music player
Small (but not too small)
Best sliding action I've seen
Excellent download speeds for t-zones

Cons:
Have to press the bottom left button to bring up a menu to get to period, question mark, etc. (no dedicated key)
Had to configure GPRS settings manually (not a big deal though if you've done it before)

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


I give it two antennas up!!!!!

 

Mar 5, 2005 by fongjow

This will be the last phone I will ever need.....at least until a better phone comes along.

Pros:
-Great look - not too big...not too small
-The sliding mechanism is soooo smooth - not as bad as others might say it is
-Being able to use the phone even when it is slid closed
-The screen is so amazing and colorful
-The camera offers more functions (e.g. multishot, mosaic shots, flash is very bright) than I would need but I am sure I can make good use of it
-mp3 player, video recording function, bluetooth works like a charm, 80MB is great
-speaker function allows me to be hands free when I forget my headset and allows me to play my music through the phone

Cons:
-Camera lags a little when using a higher quality
-Lens cannot swing around when taking pics of yourself
-External speaker that comes with it can easily get lost
-Unable to expand the memory

Organizer...I didn't use it yet....don't think that I will because I still love my PDA

Overall......well worth the price....

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


D500 a new direction for Samsung?

 

Dec 13, 2004 by wdunn2626

I've just gotten my Samsung D500 and the initial impression I get is, IT'S ABOUT TIME SAMSUNG!! Samsung promised that this phone would have features unavailable through it's previous phones such as bluetooth, speakerphone, and the ability to play MP3's.

Pros :

The small size of the phone make it easy to carry.

Nice black finish to it, very different from the usual gray or chrome finish you see on the average samsung phone.

The obvious features mentioned above , bluetooth so on and so forth.

You will make an impression when you pull this phone of your pocket or purse.

Cons :

The keys are something you have to get used too, since it's smaller than the D410/D415.

The sliding mechanism isn't as smooth as the 410/415.

THE PRICE!!! this phone is sooo expensive, for those die hard samsung fans, i would wait about a month or two, til it comes down some.

Overall impression :

Great phone, has everything you want as far as features but it'll definately set you back a couple hundred dollars.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Durrable

 

Jun 28, 2006 by CRASHb

I have had this phone for about 8 months. By now I've replaced the battery once. And on a full charge it will shut down 2 to 3 times a day. Saying this I am not dissapointed with this phone at all. I am not easy with my phones they get put through hell. All of the features on the phone work flawlessly. And the battery life isn't too bad after 8 months. The one thing I don't like about this phone is that you can only select 8 different ring styles for text messaging. And i'm a huge text message person and seeing as 7 of the 8 rings are annoying that one ring has gotten old real fast in the past 8 months. But I am a die hard samsung phone I had a good experience with this one.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


EXCELLENT

 

Dec 25, 2004 by jilka69

its a very good phone has every thing.... bluetooth, music player, excellent games, looks good, loudspeaker is very very loud... easy to use. alot of things be here all day if i write everything... there are some disappointing things eg no mmc but u have 80mb so its no bad.... cant do do things at once eg listen to music and text etc... but EVERYTHING ELSE IS PERFECT...

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Greatest Phone from Samsung YET!!

 

Feb 8, 2005 by crazi3lon3r

This phone is like the awesomest phone from samsung up to now...the camera is like way better than the p735/730. It is almost as small as the e800, it's pretty darn small for it's functions...hehe..the screen is super duper nice, the best screen (not including the sharp gx30 of course). It's really cool how you can only use the camera wiht hte slider open since it covers the camera from scratches. The pyramidal shaped speaker was awesome! it really boost the sound when u r playing mp3 throught the loud speaker. THe icon menus are sooo awesome, it is soo mucho easier to use-o. The middle key is actually confirming the menus( big plus), now only if samsung can just get change it to a menu key during standby mode. The slider mechanism is sooo funnnn!!!...hahah the only problem with it for me is thath when I push the "up" button, it sumtimes slide the phone, but that little thing ain't gonna bother me.. The mp3 ringtones is soo awesome (I coudln't understand why samsung didn't put that int he p730) . I had this phone for like a month now and like it's so awesome!!!. haha back to the camera, tbe quality is a bit lower than my cousin's se s710i, but whatevers!! can his phone slide? no! is his phone small? definitely NOT...hahha there are practically no flaws in thsi phone and Im lovin it

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Dis is great!

 

Jan 3, 2005 by Kidzone_d500

i've had this phone for a week and is great. I have a nu computer and got a bluetooth fing wiv it. i can transfer loads of songs and stuff. the camera is ok, but i've seen better. It sure beats the sony ericsson p910 (my friend has it. and he said so). and is cheaper.

Big, obvious PROS.
, none of the others had it and is great!!!
2.sound/mp3, i love my mp3 but it's a nuisance wiv all the wires, so the d500 really rocks
3.battery, it doesn't run out for ages. i've only charged it twice
4.screen, it's massive and looks soooo cool
5.Downloads, almost everything it's compatable from the SFC.

Annoying CONS
1.it can't do two stuff at once
2.you can't make pics 4 txt.

That done. but WHO THE **** CARES ABOUT them

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Decent idea, crappy execution

 

Nov 30, 2007 by wizzlewizzy

This phone feels like a first generation slider. It feels light and cheap, and the slide felt loose from the day I got it. The text messaging is not very user-friendly, and the customizable settings are limited. Also the voice quality absolutely sucks especially if there is any background noise. If you plan to use your phone anywhere where your voice isn't the only sound, don't buy this phone.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Samsung SGH-D500

 

Aug 25, 2006 by KrnGuy000

This phone has all the stuff that people want in their phone. Although the camera's display isn't that good as of the SGH-T809, the camera is still better than most. You are able to take approximately 1 hour of video and the sound is amazing. With the extra mini speaker that you can attach to this phone, the sound quality gets even better. The speaker phone is loud and clear so that you can hear every single word of what the person your talking to is saying. This phone is still not out in the U.S. but you are able to get it from ebay or any other online shopping places on the web. So you guys should get this phone because it has all the stuff that you want it to have.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

 
Page  1 23

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
2