Phone Scoop

printed August 21, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=62

Home  ›  Phones  ›  Motorola  ›

Motorola Talkabout T193 / T193m

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  

Average Ratings

1.42
Overall
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      

I don't like it at all ...

 

Jun 25, 2004 by MorrisGray

Send and End keys are backward from my Samsung R225 and seems awkward to me. The phone was cheap, it is cheap and it looks cheap. I don't like the menu navigation. The battery standby and/or talktime combined is barely one day at best. This has been the only Motorola phone that I have used and I have nothing good to say about it. My Samsung T-Mobile R225 phones have been great and look/feel/operate much better to my liking. I have just ordered a new Samsung SCH-A650 flip phone to use with Verizon as I am switching carriers.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


STAY AWAY

 

Jul 7, 2002 by andy tirrell

This phone is a pathetic attempt by motorola, who usually puts out at least decent phones. These phones are returned all the time because the battery is horrendous, even if you charge it overnight is will often die the very same day, or soon after.
The buttons feel flimsy and cheap. The menu controls are pretty aggravating also, there is no quick and easy way to get to your phonebook, you have to navigate through 4 or 5 menus.
The call quality leaves alot to be desired, too. It's often too quiet or a little distorted.
This is a bad phone. Period.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


bad phone

 

Nov 22, 2003 by Edgar Argueta

I had this phone before i got the audiovox 8500. This really cheap. I don't know why Motorola made this phone. Don't get this phone it sucks.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Bad phone!

 

Sep 17, 2003 by Brian McGuire

I got this phone and within a month is was not charging, getting poor reception, and the buttons were not responding. When I had it replaced under the warranty. The replacement started having the exact same problems even worse than before. I also didn't like the menus and inconvenient phone book access

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Convuleted Menus

 

Jul 14, 2002 by Jeff Hosler

I *TRIED* to like this phone- The menus made no sense even after three days, Perhaps I am spoiled by years of Nokia phones. the Audio and RF (possibly due to it's internal antenna?) left much to be desired. Get something else.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Good phone. Need so getting use to

 

Nov 8, 2002 by jasoninsandiego

I got this phone after I dropped my Nokia. I like the size, sound, and signal quaility of the Motorola device. The menu system is not straight forward and assc. are not easy to find. However, I am very happy with this phone and I hope Motorola cont. to develop phones of this size and sound.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Inexpensive / Good Phone for Emergency Users

 

Aug 31, 2002 by Ken Arcand

It amazes me how that people get the least expensive phone that a carrier provides and then complain about its lackluster features.

This is a good basic phone.

Menus are not as easy to navigate through as say the Motorola P280 or any Nokia phone. Example: most phones have a 1 button access, and on this phone a person must press MENU followed by OK 4 times (if done quickly - it takes all of about 1 second longer than pressing the 1 button "phonebook" on a Nokia or more advanced Motorola.

The battery is a NiMh (Nickle Metal Hydride) and certainly does not last as long as most Lithium Ion/Polymer batteries being sold in phones today. However, if charged a complete 12-24 hours the first time (something most users do not do), the battery should last a good 1 hour - 1 hour, 30 mins of talking or 36 hours of standby. Keeping in mind that the two do not go together, so functionally it will last about 45 mins of talking with leaving it on for about 24 hours. YES, that is much less than a Nokia 3390, but what do you expect from a phone which is FREE (often WITH an additional $50 mail-in rebate).

Bottom line, if you are a light/emergency user and want a semi-small phone, capable of changing faceplates - this is a good phone. If you store numbers in memory, want to use more advanced features of VoiceDialing (which this phone DOES do - just difficult to set up), etc. then spend a few more bucks for another phone.

You get what you PAY for.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Complete garbage

 

Jan 25, 2005 by OLIVUS

I work at a cell phone store and when we were selling these I returned about 19 out of 20...horrible reception, horrible battery life, horrible phone.

It did have some nice personalization features but if it doesn't work for you truly need it for, then none of the other things matter.

Stay away, stay far away

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


I didn't enjoy it.

 

Jan 5, 2005 by cpc3676

With my experience with this phone I did not like it one bit. The only good thing about it was that it didn't totally break when it got dropped so maybe a little durable.

Cons:
-Dirt and lint got inside of the faceplate from putting it in my pocket

-I went through 5 of them in a 10 month period so they didn't last very long at all.

-Not a very long battery life

-Taking off the faceplate is not very "User friendly"

-Charger can easily shift out of charging position and still be plugged into the phone.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


This Phone Blows!

 

Jul 15, 2004 by jenn_anger

It's me again! I had to send in my phone for minor repairs and my service provider loaned my this piece of crap! I hate the way the features are, I hate the fact that this phone when fully charged, it made a 3 min call on it and it chewed my battery up! The only thing I like about this phone is the screen saver, I wish this was on my other phone but I will eventually find this for my Motorola. I hope that when you read this, you'll steer clear of this phone!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

 
Page  1 2

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
2