Phone Scoop

printed August 21, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=534

Home  ›  Phones  ›  Kyocera  ›

Kyocera Energi K490 / K493 / K494

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  11  

Average Ratings

2.81
Overall
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      

Great entry level CDMA phone.

 

Feb 24, 2005 by stickus

What can I say, I like this phone. It's small, get's a great signal (I have service with Telus Mobility in Victoria, BC, Canada) has wireless web via 1xRTT, SMS, a color screen, and the flashlight comes in handier than you'd think.
Keep in mind folks, it is and inexpensive phone and will NOT have all the bells and whistles of an expensive new Sony/Ericson or Nokia. That being said, it would be nice to see some sort of expansion slot (for cameras, or a headset), a bit larger screen, and some sort of wireless connection (Bluetooth would be too expensive, but IR is getting cheaper).

All in all, this is a great little phone (I have it on a pre-paid plan, as a backup to my nice Rogers Wireless phone) and I heartily recomend it.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Good phone

 

Feb 10, 2005 by niceifyourlucky

I liked this phone alot somethings bug me with the txt and the fact that on the menu it didnt wrap around but other then that it was a good phone

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


Awsome Phone

 

Jan 24, 2005 by EJM8397

Not only is this phone cool looking, but whatever "knuckle dragger" designed this phone definitely knew what he was doing. Yeah there are a few minor problems with it, but what phone doesn't have minor problems. If anyone out there knows of the perfect phone, that does everything and never freezes up, or dosen't do odd things while you make calls on the charger, let me know, because I am still looking for that phone, currently I have a Motorola V551, I actually traded down from the V3 Razr and I am nothing but happy with it, so for all of you out there that think all of your little problems are the end of the world, feel free to email me and we can discuss it.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Terrible phone!

 

Dec 8, 2007 by whrichters3

Barney Rubble owned a better cell phone.

The reception and sound quality on this phone is enough to make you want to replace it with walky talkies from PLAYSKOOL!

Every conversation people are saying...HUH..What...you're cutting out.

I don't have the heart to donate my old Kyocera energi to Goodwill! Why do that to anybody?

Pro's

It's better then yelling in the wind

Cons

Terrible reception
Terrible reception
Can't keep a good charge
Terrible reception

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Great phone

 

May 26, 2006 by Staci

I've had this phone for a year now and I love it. I really don't have many problems with it, except the reception isn't that greatest.
I've read some of the other reviews that talked about talking while charging. I discovered that if you take the battery out before you make a call while having it plugged in works, it won't charge obviously but you can talk. But you cant take the battery out during the phone call.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


battery problem

 

Nov 25, 2005 by biocpu

I had the same problem as reviewed above. Battery lifetime was 1.5day standby+20min talk. Also the phone refused to let me talk while charging. Went to a local dealer; he replaced the battery under 1yr waranty; he advised simultaneous charging/talking is vey bad for the battery. So let the battery charged full all the time as a solution. I will see how this goes.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Great little phone

 

Nov 21, 2005 by hibrad2003

This phone has been great. There are a lot of features, and I sorta knew what to expect since my previous phone was also a kyocera. The simultaneous charge/use thing is something that I couldn't do on my old one either, so I wasn't too dissapointed, but one problem I have with the phone is how small the buttons are, they often lead to mis-dialing. I have good sound clarity, and I conditioned the battery properly when I got it home, so my battery life is great, but just in case everyone should have a charger in their car and home, I do. It's a great phone for the money.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Dissapointed

 

Nov 25, 2004 by normanrs

Despite the cool features and good price for this phone, there is one BIG and absolutely ridiculous problem with it. Here's the scenario:

You are at home after being a way for a day or so. Your phone battery is dead. You plug it into the wall so that you can make a few calls.

Bzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz.

This phone will not power up *even when you have it plugged into the wall* if the battery is dead or low.

Also, as I just found out, let's say you plug your phone in while it still works and you make a call. You think it is charging the battery - IT ISN'T. The phone dies in the middle of a conversation *while it is plugged in*.

I don't know what knuckle-dragger designed this phone, but this is completely unacceptable. Cell phones that are MUCH older allow simultaneous charging and use when plugged in.

There are other pros and cons to the phone but none of them matter much IMO considering this major blunder. I will be making every effort to return this phone as soon as possible.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

 
 
Page  1  of 1

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
2