Phone Scoop

printed October 21, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=53

Home  ›  Phones  ›  Nokia  ›

Nokia 5185i

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  1  

Average Ratings

3.76
Overall
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      

Great Phone for the money!

 

Oct 25, 2002 by Craig Terrian

I like this phone. It's reliable, and easy to use. The battery can go 4 days before having to charge, and it was only $14.99!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Not bad at all!

 

Oct 20, 2002 by Asante Sturgis

Had it for 2 1/2 years and never had a problem! Just needed something new and now mom has it. Very durable and user friendly.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


Good Phone, bad battery :)

 

May 29, 2002 by Travis Vass

Loved the phone when the battery wouldn't shift and lose contact points on the connections inside the body of the phone. Took the phone back within my first month from purchase, and the sales rep took a post-it note, folded it 4x, and placed that piece of paper between the battery and the phone, and replaced the battry - this seems to work for a couple months, then I would have to replace my paper with another piece of post it note. Other than that, I love the phone because it's easy to use, and memorize the features of the phone. Nokia would have a great phone product if they would use an internal battery that includeda cover to it, like the Kyocera 2255 does.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Nokia 5185i

 

Feb 7, 2002 by Philip Arthur

Good functional basic phone. I like the "predictive text" feature for text mail. Menus are logical and not too deep. Display is a bit shaded (edges hard to read at higher light angles) making signal strength or battery level a bit hard to read. Came with lithium ion battery... takes more time to recharge from dead than the nickle hydride battery in my last phone (a 5180). Overall, the Nokia 5185i is a very good value and does all the stuff I need a phone for.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Excellent "Fringe area" phone

 

Dec 21, 2003 by davisrs41

This is the only phone I have tried that works right here in my house in the Appalachians. I've tried the newer Nokias and a Motorola, and they receive NO signal at all.

The downside is a battery connection that does not stay in contact all the time and limited memory for contact information. Otherwise, this is the best phone I have owned to date and have found nothing newer that can replace it.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


GREAT BEGINNER PHONE

 

Feb 19, 2003 by gina mendoza

THIS PHONE IS PERFECT FOR A BEGINNER LIKE ME I HAVE NEVER OWNED A CELL PHONE BEFORE I WAS ALWAYS AFRAID OF THESE PHONES BECASUSE THEY SEEMED SO TIMID AND DELICATE......NOT THIS ONE!! MY SON IS 8 YRS OLD AND HE SHOWED ME HOW TO USE THE PHONE I FIGURE IF HE CAN DO THIS SO CAN I......PERFECT FAMILY PHONE WITH SOME ROUGH BOYS

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Basic, Easy To Use, Durable

 

Jan 17, 2003 by CRAIG VAN DYKE

This is the best selling phone I have in my stores. They are easy to use, and very durable. I am very satisfied with the performance of this unit.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


It was ok when I owned it, I owned it with Alltel and later Verizon

 

Oct 25, 2010 by narn3049

When I first got this phone I wanted an upgrade from the OLD OLD OLD phone I owned before. It was a green phone with a really big phone with a small screen.

I got this because I wanted a bigger screen, and at the time this was the option. I had Alltel at that time, and then it turned out that my phone would turn off once and awhile. I'd miss calls and it was irritating. Well around that time I took up a new job and the network was on Verizon. Being I liked this phone before as a personal option before all of the shut offs, I decided I would get this AGAIN AGAIN, and it was OK as the last one, but I felt (and it did) the battery always went away, and then to the point it wouldn't charge.

Well do you guys remember the trusty old Nokia that I had alltel with?? I used parts (battery which was of a bigger capacity) and used the Verizon back on again. It was amazingly durable too.

I even got it wet once and it worked fine afterwards. It is a good phone, but I wouldn't go back to it now as I need more options. You could probably get it for an older person that doesn't need tech much, but I do and i have iphone and razr now

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Durable Starter Phone

 

Feb 16, 2008 by kav2001c

Cheap little sturdy performer. I picked this up years ago from an auction site and it lasted pretty much forever. Decent signal on Fido's network in the Toronto area. Very durable.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


I've even had this phone!

 

Nov 6, 2006 by chocolateman85006

Once upon a time (2001-2002), i had this phone with Cricket . It was a boring phone (as if they really had much better at the time)

Pros:
I had something

Cons:
Constant dropped calls

It was a so-so phone, but it was better than having nothing

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

 
Page  1 2

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
2