Phone Scoop

printed October 1, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=49

Home  ›  Phones  ›  Audiovox  ›

Audiovox CDM-9100

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  

Average Ratings

3.96
Overall
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      

Great, no-frills phone...

 

Aug 14, 2006 by jetdrvr

If you want a phone that works, all the time, will stand more than casual abuse, and seems to last forever, this is the one.

I've had mine for four years, bought it from Verizon when it was a hot number, and have kept it ever since. I just bought my third battery, not that it needs one, but as a back up.

The only negative is that it only has a one-way speaker phone. Always wondered why a two-way speaker capability wasn't engineered into this unit.

My phone has been left for hundreds of hours in sweltering heat in vehicles, gotten wet in the rain, been dropped countless times, and keeps right on performing. It has excellent signal capabilities and excellent features for what is now a fairly basic phone.

I could care less about trendy, expensive models that don't work as well. I use this to communicate with, and it has never let me down. Highly recommended.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Best phone ever

 

Dec 7, 2005 by Grobi

I've had this phone for almost five years... dropped it literally hundreds of times, even down a marble staircase and on cement... my cat chewed on the antenna, but it's still working perfectly. i usually have two phones at once and this one has outlasted 2 Samsung A540s and doesn't seem to be anywhere near death. it has very basic functions but ALWAYS gets a signal.. even in places where my other phones won't. its honestly the greatest phone! if you can get ahold of one i stronly recommend it even though its sort of ancient

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


Greatest Phone I ever had

 

May 31, 2005 by lorahc

I couldn't tell you how much I love this phone. I wish I could buy a new one in replacement of mine. I got it 4 years ago for christmas and it is the best phone I could ever have. It gets great signal, its great for text messaging and the reception is always great. Buttons are easy to use, the phone itsself is easy to use. Easy to hold. Just the right size. I love my baby.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


AWESOME phone.

 

Mar 3, 2005 by Sweetpea6497

This was my first cell phone, through Verizon. Purchased it a little over 4 years ago. Used it until my contract was up two years ago, and then purchased an LG. I kept the Audiovix 9100 on under my family share plan and my parents have been using it.
This phone has been in operation for FOUR years, and it is STILL workin like a charm!
The battery life is awesome...can still talk for at least 2 hours and its the original battery! VERY durable...its been dropped more times than I can count and doesnt have a scratch or crack on it. Dont get me wrong..this is NOT a fancy phone by any means. Plain green screen with black text..no pictures, no colors. Very basic..but, it does what its meant to do, and it does it WELL. This phone is a workhorse.
Ring tones are loud and clear...even in a loud room (club for example) certain ring tones can still be heard over the music!
Capable of sending and receiving text messages. Very low instance of dropped calls. Loud, clear volume.
Menus easy to work through once you get the hang of it.
Not so much on looks, but what it lacks there it makes up for in performance.

Id recommend this phone for someone that just wants the bare minimum...a phone that sends and receives calls with great reception.
If youre looking for anything more fancy, Id recommend the LG-VX4400...and if you want pictures or video capable phones I would recommend the LG-VX6100 or LG-VX7000

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Was a great phone

 

Nov 21, 2004 by nokiaman76

This phone i got when it first came out i got it free becuase my contract ran up and i was resigning i had this phone up til about 1 year ago when my nephew did something to the keys and they stopped working of course i had this phone a while and it was a great phone i mean i really got my moneys worth out of it.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Takes a lick'in, but keeps on makin calls!

 

Apr 23, 2004 by chisledice

This is to testify the durability of this phone. I had my 9100 for two years before it was stolen. While I had it, I dropped it countless times, ran over it with my car, and even had it submerged in mud water for about 20-30 minutes before realizing it. I put the phone on the dash vent in our truck to let it dry, then I turn it on and made a call. That was all in the first year I had the phone. Though there is not much to customize on the phone and it is tall, it is still slim, lite-weight, and I think an all round great phone for the price of it. I now carry a LG-VX6000 which is a SUPER phone, but that is another review!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Great Phone

 

Jun 30, 2003 by Trisha Laroche

I purchased this phone about 8 month ago, and besides not getting the mail in rebate, I'm very happy with this phone. It gets excellant reception compared to some of the Motorola's and Nokia's that I've had. It is also very strong, i lost the phone in the Winter found it 2 days later in a ice covered snow bank. I brought it in the house let it get up to room temp and then charged the phone again. The phone works without a problem and there isn't even a strach on the display. But of course there is always room for improvement, such as more games, calender, calculator etc. Overall i would definetely recommend this phone to anyone.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Audiovox 9100

 

Apr 22, 2002 by jkjohnso

Sure this phone, doesn't have all of the bells & whistles or the sexiness of other handsets. But dependability-wise it is probably one of the best in Verizon's arsenal, at the moment. The 9100 works in areas where the Motorola V-120 only dreams of getting a signal.
I am a store technician for Verizon, so I see them all...the good, the bad and the ugly. The only time, I see this phone come in for service is for human error; ie liquid damage, physical damage, etc. I personally carry the 9100 and highly recomend it to any customers who have experiened trouble with Kyoceras, Nokias and other models in the same price range. Unfortunately, Verizon has discontinued the 9100 and is selling off backstock. But it's 1X compatible replacement, the 9150 should be on the way later this year, with features that include enhanced 911, 2-way speaker phone and voice dialing.
If you are a gadget or fashion freak, this may not be the phone for you. But if dependability and reception are key selling points, this is the phone for you.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


A Full Featured Bargain

 

Feb 12, 2002 by Russ Gladden

I first purchased a 9100 when the phone I was using was either stolen at an airport or (more likely) left behind at a security checkpoint at the start of a long domestic trip. I needed a phone (!) and found a Sprint store immediately on arrival in Dallas. I wanted something cheap, and the CDM-9100 qualified.

WOW! How surprised I was at how fully featured this little devil is, for less than $100. (At times and at various places, you can sometimes pick one of these up for half that.) Here are just some of the goodies...

-melodic ringtones (sound like MIDI)
-T9 text entry
-tri-mode (with the ability to force the phone into 800mhz digital roaming if you know the unpublished code)
-very good (and very loud) sound quality
-excellent reception
-one-way speaker for listening to recorded messages or waiting on hold
-easliy changeable faceplates
-very lightweight--under 4 oz

Drawbacks: first off, the Sprint-issued face plate is downright ugly, but that's easily changed. Second, the manual is absolutely awful--one of Sprint's worst. The phonebook is more limited than most current models, with only 2 numbers permitted per name entry and only 99 name entries, but this is more than adequate for most people. (To me the smaller phonebook is minor, especially with Sprint's outstanding Voice Command service.) There are no games, calendars, calculators etc., which some will consider a shortcoming. I don't.

For it's primary function--as a wireless phone--this one is a winner. Good reception, very good sound quality, user-friendly interface. Low price.

By the way, the code to force 800mhz digital roaming: On power-up, enter F-0-0. Then enter the FSC code of 000000. Select 3-Pref Mode and then select CDMA only, which on this phone means 800mhz only. Warning though, your phone will stay on this setting until you physically change it--it's not turned off at power-off.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Review for the Audiovox CDM-9100

 

Dec 29, 2001 by Xela19115

It's a solid Toshiba product. Very light, very compact. Excellent battery life. Has an ability to store 2 phone and an e-mail for each name entry in the phone. 2-way SMS is the best feature. Ability to toggle vibrating mode "on/off" by using only one key (* key, press and hold).

Plain vanilla, basic phone without any extras. No games, no downloadable ring-tones and no calculator. Don't really care for games but should have put a calculator. Customizable ring-tones would've not hurt either. 1-way speaker-phone kind of begs a question, "What happened guys? Didn't have enough time to get 2 way speaker-phone working?"

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

 
Page  1 2

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
1