Phone Scoop

printed July 31, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=489

Home  ›  Phones  ›  Samsung  ›

Samsung SPH-A760 / RL-A760

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  25  

Average Ratings

3.17
Overall
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      

One major flaw, one minor gripe.

 

Jan 12, 2005 by heunt

This is a great looking phone with the two features that I prize over all others, speakerphone and voice activated dialing. My only major problem with it is that every conversation I've had on the phone has included the other party making comments like, "Your phone must be acting up.",
"Could you repeat that?", "I'm sorry, I couldn't hear you.", and so on. I can hear them just fine, by the way. I wonder if the placement of the microphone has anything to do with it. Take a look at the phone. You'll see what I mean.

My only other problem with this and most other phones on the market is the extendable antenna. It's just a gimmick to make users think that the phone can provide an extra boost in signal strength when needed. Based on my experience, they don't make a difference. If you can't get a signal with the stub, you're unlikely to get one with the antenna extended.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Nice little phone

 

Nov 26, 2004 by blu_phi

I have a Sanyo 7300, and I think I will take this one over it. yes, the 7300 has more features, but IMO the reception is better, and it is capable of voice messaging, smaller, and has a nicer UI. For the price, you can not beat this phone...if you are looking for a simple ReadyLink phone!

The only con I have is that the speakerphone is not as loud as my 7300...even though it is clearer. Thus...a 4.5!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


Sprint RL-A760 reivew - not good

 

Jan 11, 2005 by shine300

I've had mine for 2 weeks. Incoming calls are consistently choppy. vibrate mode does not work. Phone is a bit fat. I've had incoming calls stop ringing and go directly to email. Some people say I sound fine over speaker, other say I sound like I'm in a tunnel. I will return this phone. I might try another one, but the one I have now is really irritating.

PROS
speaker phone
big screen

CONS
fat
horrible reception
vibrate not working

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Samsung RL-A760

 

Jan 15, 2005 by phillyslickster

This is the first phone that I have had from Sprint in 4 years. I must say that a lot has not changed or improved. I'm testing for my company because they were interested in the ready link feature and still having phone service. I have used this phone for a week and it's okay, but it doesn't compare to the call clarity, battery strength, and reception that I get with my Cingular service.

The speakerphone sound is great! The call clarity is good sometimes. Within a ten mile radius of my home, the phone roams or if you set it to Sprint service only then I don't get any connection at all. The ready link "walkie talkie" feature is good, but it doesn't work in some buildings because the phone service roams. Ready link doesn't work when roaming. The voice command sound is very low. The ringtone sound is very good. The web service seems to connect rather fast for it to be CDMA. It's hard to use this phone for business because with constant use throughout the day, I need to charge several times.

Needless to say, I don't know what Sprint has in mind for the merger with Nextel, but they better get it together quick, fast, and in a hurry. Nextel mainly has a business consumer base. Using your phone a lot throughout the day and having to worry about charging your phone because the battery is low just doesn't cut it for me!!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Good basic phone

 

Apr 2, 2007 by kecasey

I rate this phone for the functionality of its features, not for the lack of any new features.

PROs: 99% Perfect performace - everything works as it should.

CONs: No camera, no bluetooth, won't make dinner.

I have owned and used a Samsung RL-A760 for 20 months now. 2 months ago, my boss planned to use Sprint's readylink, and this phone was the cheapest with that technology.

The quality of sound has been as good as a land-line call, at both ends, given at least one bar. I can place and receive calls from nearly any outdoor location in the DC metro area.

The quality of sound while using readylink was better than that of Nextel's direct connect - even though direct connect is far more useful.

The size of the phone is about as small as I'd like to use. My fat thumb has no trouble dialing or navigating through the menus.

After 20 months, the battery lasts 3 or 4 working days, just like it was new.

The mini-browser is easy to use, though limited, like all mini-browsers that I have seen.

There is one recent quirk. The screen that tells of an unanswered or missed call sometimes gives wrong information about who tried to call. The screen that lists all recent calls accurately tells who tried to call. No idea why, no idea what software version.

My only other gripe about using the phone have to do with Sprint, and not with the phone itself.

I am looking to upgrade soon, specifically to a better carrier and to a phone with bluetooth.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Excellent Basic Phone

 

Jan 12, 2005 by stewartsalien

This is an excellent phone that does everything that a basic phone should do. The only minor gripe that I have is that it does cut in and out in some lower signal areas.

Pros

Key spacing
Speakerphone
Reception
Has a color other than silver
Update UI
Sound Quality
Ease of use

Cons

Antenna (Wish it didn't have one)
Calls can cut in and out

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

 
 
Page  1  of 1

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
2