Phone Scoop

printed December 18, 2017
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=4716

Home  ›  Phones  ›  Samsung  ›

Samsung Galaxy S6 edge (GSM)

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  100+  

Phone Scoop Review

4
Overall
4.5
Reception
3
Battery Life
4
Hardware Usability
4.5
Hardware Quality
4.5
Display
4.5
Interface Speed
4
Audio Volume
4.5
Camera
 

See also: Review: Samsung Galaxy S6 Edge for Verizon Wireless ›

See also: Review: Samsung Galaxy S6 Edge for Sprint ›

 

User Reviews

Average Ratings

3.71
Overall
3.56
Reception
2.44
Battery Life
4.13
Hardware Usability
4.06
Hardware Quality
4.5
Display
3.81
Interface Speed
4.13
Audio Volume
4.5
Camera
 
 

Add your review

Please log in to post a review.

Sort by most:      
Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

Delightfully surprised

 

Apr 26, 2015 by stferrari

Carrier: AT&T

Last year I preordered a Galaxy S5 and after a few months of use was only mediocrely pleased so I was a bit more hesitant about the S6 (you know…once burned, twice shy). I spent a lot more time studying the specs and reading both professional and user reviews before I made my move. I am 32 year computer hardware and software engineer so little things like non-user replaceable batteries and lack of microSD support gave me some serious pause for concern also.
I now have a 64Gig S6 Edge and all my doubts have vanished. I will admit it is kind of early to say I will love this phone forever but so far there is not one negative thing I can nitpick about it (and with me, that is saying a lot as I am almost OCD about performance). I could care less about the looks of the phone, although I must admit it is totally gorgeous, because it will have a case wrapped around it as soon as Seidio ships me one. Performance on the other hand is off the charts. No stuttering, no lag, excellent call quality, great ear and speaker volume, and gone are the blurry low light photos. I am also getting very acceptable battery life so far. I use the phone in my job to so live on-line in-store retail surveys (which means I keep the screen awake 5 to 6 hours a day) and I rarely drop below 55% charge before bedtime. The wireless charging is handy also.
In summary, so far my humble opinion is this is simply the best performing smart phone I have ever had the pleasure to use and I would highly recommend it to anyone.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

A time for change

 

Apr 17, 2015 by DeathB4Dishonor

Carrier: T-Mobile

now is the time where there are a lot of new phones coming out and the Samsung s6 edge in my opinion is by far the best out right now! I was a little skeptical about the device not having a backing that comes off to replace the battery or a mini SD card slot. But on a whim I traded my note 3 for it on day two and have loved it ever since. The volume is loud, crisp and clear and the resolution quality is top notch. I'm in the military so I Skype my wife and kids when I get a chance and the video quality compared to my old note 3 is great. There is no distorted pixelation and the processing speed on the frames barely ever lag. The front facing camera is not fuzzy and comes out crisp and clear with great color. I can still multi task and save write and send documents which is a plus. One thing a lot of people haven't touched on are the ear buds. I think they finally got it right; the buds fit perfect and are the only ones that don't come loose and fall out of my ears while working out.
Now for the down side. The phone over heats way to much and shuts down all my apps. If it's on the charger and your playing music for a couple of hrs it tends to do the same thing. Sometimes the screen will not rotate and I have to turn it off and turn screen rotate back on.
I do have problems getting the edge strip to go right side up when I'm trying to look at my notifications and there is no way to fix that as of current. The battery life is OK. It starts off charging quick on day one but lags after.

All in all being a new product I am very happy with it and would never go back. I recommend this to anyone who is a techy or someone just looking for a power house phone that will do everything you need and more.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       reviews continues below...


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

Amazing phone

 

Dec 16, 2015 by Freddie Lopez

Carrier: AT&T

PROS:
-Beautifully sharp screen
-Nice form factor.
-High build quality
-Super fast and responsive
-Fantastic camera quality and video quality… can shoot up to 3840x2160 UHD video!
-Unique curved Amoled screen design is unique. Super hi-resolution as well.
-Fingerprint sensor works great! …Very similar to iPhone fingerprint sensor.
-Samsung Music player has great MP3 sound output.
-The lowest tier of capacity they offer is 32GB. The 16GB standard capacity should have been ditched long ago.
-Slow motion video capture function.
-Built-in Wireless charging is compatible with Both leading standards “Qi” and “Powermat”.

CONS:

-No expandable memory
-Not waterproof (like previous S5)
-No removable battery

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

Overall Pleased

 

Dec 14, 2015 by nickolash

Carrier: T-Mobile

I've had this phone since about a month after it came out. Although I don't usually buy phones for their looks I completely got this one because of the edge screen. I don't use any of the features of the edge screen but it looks beautiful nonetheless. For the first few months I had issues with the phone freezing and lagging behind a lot. I'm attributing that to Samsung not managing the RAM sufficiently. They have since updated the device and seemingly fixed this problem. Other than dropping calls occasionally (which I blame on my carrier) this phone has been a pretty pleasant experience.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

Great features

 

Dec 10, 2015 by vasquez2117

Carrier: T-Mobile

Its a very good overall its user friendly easy to navigate, resolution on screen is great. Only bad thing is the battery life but overall its a great phone

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

nice but not great phone

 

Aug 20, 2015 by dlucio75

Carrier: T-Mobile

Forced to switch carriers and wasn't happy about. I previously had the Samsung Galaxy S5 Active from Att . In my opinion. Best phone ever made. I now have the Samsung Galaxy S6 Edge from T-Mobile which is okay.Last night I had phone on 100% with it not being plugged and it died with me not using it by the morning. My Active lasted at night even at work for my full 8 hours and plus more and with my Edge, it was was 50% with hardly any use so bottom line battery sucks!! Edge has no external memory and Active does. Edge not waterproof nor water resistant and the Active is. I guess I can say is the speakers are loud and clear with no distortion and screen quality is awesome on the Edge.

Pro : screen
Con: battery

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

What was samsung thinking

 

May 16, 2015 by Digicall01

Carrier: AT&T

I have been buying the galaxy series since the first one and I have bought every one since then that is untill now I will never buy a phone that is sealed so I can't remove the battery or expand the memory it is designed after the I phone of which I can not stand. If they don't go back the their old ways my galaxy s 5 will be the last one I ever buy I hope the wake up and see what a huge mistake they made

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

 
 
Page  1  of 1

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2017 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
1

This is a preview. Click for full glossary page.