Phone Scoop

printed October 23, 2017
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=4580

Home  ›  Phones  ›  Samsung  ›

Samsung Galaxy Note 4 (CDMA)

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  46  

Average Ratings

4.33
Overall
4.13
Reception
4.21
Battery Life
4.71
Hardware Usability
4.79
Hardware Quality
5
Display
4.38
Interface Speed
4.21
Audio Volume
4.38
Camera
 
 

Add your review

Please log in to post a review.

Sort by most:      
Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

Some bad

 

Aug 10, 2015 by Stevef10000

Carrier: Verizon Wireless

Most everything said above is true except if you get a bad one which tends to be recycled endlessly. My 1st phone failed for some reason i forgot but every so called inspected as ok phone they have sent me drops calls. In good reception areas. I have had both 2 bars 3g and 2 bars 4g reading on the phone but soon as I make a call the phone switches to the 1x phone transceiver, it then will drop the call and when tried again right away it will say no signal area. This happened on 3 replacement note 4 phones in a row and I'm expecting to receive my 4th tomorrow. They have refused to send me a new one and say their inspection refurbishing is perfect. LOL

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

Best Service & Repair Visit EVER

 

Jun 18, 2015 by MadFatMan

Carrier: Sprint

I was completely satisfied with HTC One Max let me say that FIRST.

The housing started to fall apart so I took it into the Sprint Store for service and repair fully expecting for them to glue it back together or order me a warranty exchange...

They as I expected, said the housing was non repairable and that they would order me a new device. Then they said, your device is on back order so, would a Galaxy Note 4 be "acceptable"?

My previous device was a Note II so this was a no brainer.

A few days later i picked up my NEW (not reconditioned to my surprise) Note 4.

I cant say a single bad thing about it. This is the best phone to date of the 15 plus years that i have been with Sprint. Since price other than handing over my HTC One Max was not a hurdle, i get to enjoy this AMAZING device guilt free!

Please dont reference my reveiw as a precedent to hassle a service and repair agent to upgrade via warranty exchange program to a Note 4. My experience may be a one off situation and just good timing and pure luck.

I was totally satisfied with my HTC One Max with exception of an annoying housing failure. But Sprint took great care of me without me even having to ask. Thank you Sprint!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       reviews continues below...


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

My First Note

 

Mar 1, 2015 by BoltedThunder16

Carrier: Verizon Wireless

I am no stranger to Samsung phones. I had the Galaxy S4 for 2 years before upgrading to the Note 4. While I ended up exchanging my Note 4 for the G3, I will say that the Note 4 has the most gorgeous screen that I have ever seen on any phone. However, the phone was just too cumbersome and uncomfortable to hold for my little hands. I wish there were more of a curved shape to it. The S-pen works just fine (I wasn't a big user of that feature). The battery life is pretty stellar compared to my G3, but it will not last the whole day. I had some pretty severe glitch issues the first two days (screen not unlocking when I swiped, etc.), but once that ended everything ran pretty smoothly. I'm a fan of Touchwiz, personally. Be prepared for massive amounts of bloat were on the phone. Also be prepared for whatever screen you're looking at to shrink sometimes when you're trying to drag down the notification bar (part of the one-handed use feature).
The camera is pretty nice, but it takes forever to focus and take pictures (in any setting). There are so many settings that it will take you a while to navigate things with the camera.
Overall, it is a premium device. I did enjoy my time with it, but it was just too big for me and it didn't blow me away the way that it needed to for all the money that I paid for it. (It's very expensive - even with the 2 year upgrade)

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

The Note 4 just gets better and better

 

Mar 1, 2015 by rebelfag68

Carrier: Verizon Wireless

The Note 3 was an awesome phone.. the Note 4 is outstanding! Blazing fast, super brilliant screen, size is awesome. Battery life is super and the FAST charging is great!

Additional battery pack makes traveling perfect!

Only downfall is the speakers are a bit weak. Listening to video is best over a bluetooth or other speaker.. but acceptable.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

Best Phone

 

Jan 16, 2015 by randyalex   updated Jan 16, 2015

I switched to a Verizon galaxy note 4 and boy am I glad I did.
Phone is just amazing.
The screen is great and I just can't stop looking at it.
Surfing the web is a joy as its speedy and there is plenty of screen to see everything (which is especially good for me as normally I need reading glasses)
Pictures I've taken are pretty amazing for a camera phone.
Calls are pretty good on it too.
The only thing I can say that I'm slightly disappointed in is the battery life. It's decent but as I'm a heavy user, I go through the battery in 1/2 day.
Overall you won't be disappointed if you are looking for a large phone.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

The phone that just works -- even ergonomically

 

Jan 9, 2015 by decisivemoment   updated Jan 9, 2015

Carrier: Verizon Wireless

Samsung delivered on this phone. No real cons, the mixed experiences first, then the clear advantages.

Mixed . . .

Hardware usability -- the pen is tricky to learn though useful, and the bloatware on the phone can interfere with the experience. But it's very comfortable and secure to hold despite its size, with its grippy edges and back and hand-friendly profile.

Hardware quality -- consumer demand for metal has ironically resulted in a structurally weaker and slightly scratch prone phone, though still much better than the iPhone 6 and 6+. Gorilla Glass 4 a big plus; this will be a drop-resistant phone. Fit and finish are five-star though.

Interface speed -- very fast but the bloatware combined with Android 4.4 makes for annoying glitches. Regular maintenance (e.g. closing apps) helps. Thing is, you shouldn't have to worry about that. Hopefully Android 5 fixes it.

Clear pluses . . .

Reception -- outstanding. Motorola performance on a non-Moto phone, combined with low power consumption and an impressive SAR report from the FCC. Internet speeds excellent except where Verizon backhaul is insufficient. Only downside is occasional 4G drops distant from towers.

Battery Life -- No complaints. A huge battery, and lower power draw than a Galaxy S3. And very fast to recharge.

Display -- It's incredible to do this on a mobile device. Superb color accuracy. Full user control over color rendering (sRGB, two modes that simulate Adobe RGB, and a "vivid" mode that is a bit Day-Glo-ish but improves contrast in sunlight). And bright enough for sunlight even in Adobe RGB. This is Eizo and NEC stuff more than a cell phone. It's that good.

Audio volume. Very very good but it should have a better speaker and/or two of them.

Camera. Impressive. Bye-bye point-and-shoot. Hello useful tool. The camera you have is the camera you use, especially if it's this good. Minor demerit for only including 16:9 aspect ratio.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

The BEST right now!!!

 

Oct 28, 2014 by quikfeat

Carrier: Sprint

I just got my Note 4 so I can't say much but to give my first impressions. I must say the screen is amazing, it's fast, call quality is great and the battery life is a BIG improvement coming from the Note 2 - I can go the whole day from 7:30am to 12am with about 25% battery life remaining. Whereas my Note 2 needed to already be charged by 4pm-6pm depending.
The only negative for me is the camera lens protrudes out back further than the Note 2 did so the back side of a case needs to be thicker so the lens doesn't get scratched up if dropped or laid flat on its back.
Other than this, this is probably the Best overall right now!!!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

Samsung got it right this time! (First Review!)

 

Oct 26, 2014 by IXCKNYXI

Carrier: Verizon Wireless

To me, the benchmark for battery, functionality, and reception are these two models: Samsung Note 2 and Motorola Razr Maxx HD.

I was disappointed with GS4 and Note 3. I skipped the GS5, but took a chance on Note 4 after jettisoning my Note 3. Please see my brief notes:

Pros:

Reception! This thing comes to same level if not better than Note 2 and on par with Moto handsets!

Screen! I had the LG G3 for comparison, but I can tell you the added real estate gives it a run for it's money. The screen is sharper than iPhone 6 and iPhone 6+

Battery Life: This one I would give 4.5 out of 5. But still very competitive. A close second compared to my iPhone 6 and on par with Razr Maxx HD.

Processor: Greased lightning! Quick, snappy, responsive!

Multi Tasking: Enough said, added productivity, efficiency, and convenience.

Cons:

Not many I can name, but there are a couple:

Call Volume: Lowest mark on this phone, probably a 4 out of 5. Samsung should have gotten stereo speakers to rival HTC One M8.

Camera:

Perhaps it is the sensor, but LG G3 and iPhone 6 camera are leaps and bounds better. Have to still tinker with settings, however it does take satisfactory pictures.

Fingerprint Reader:

Very finicky at best. Not reliable or as easy to use as HTC One Max (Positioning on this was terrible, but easy to use) or iPhone 6+ touch ID.

Overall, great look and feel! I'm happy with the premium feel as compared to Note 3 and 2, the signal has been a surprise compared to last 2 samsung handsets, but brings it back to Note 2 level. Emails with attachments are no longer delayed in delivery or stuck in outbox. Camera could use a little improvement.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

Great hardware, mediocre signal

 

Dec 14, 2015 by qlr

Carrier: Verizon Wireless

I've had this phone for about 10 months on Verizon.
Pros:
Great screen: hard to beat
IR blaster: it comes in handy from time to time.
Speedy device, multitasking is good for a phone 10 months old.
Cons:
The bluetooth and LTE radios suck on this. Choppy bluetooth and extended stays in 3G on this phone.

Something happened to my camera and I had to send it to repair. :( Camera works good now after the fix.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

Note Series is Amazing

 

Dec 11, 2015 by bosser84g

Carrier: U.S. Cellular

I had gone from the Note 2 to the Note 4 a year ago and loved every minute of it. I was happy with the Note 2 and really didn't have much of a reason to upgrade except I liked the design and feel of the Note 4. The Note series is the best of the best.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

 
Page  1 2

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2017 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
2

This is a preview. Click for full glossary page.