Phone Scoop

printed August 30, 2016
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=4408

Home  ›  Phones  ›  Samsung  ›

Samsung Galaxy S5 (CDMA) / Galaxy S5 Sport

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  21  

Phone Scoop Review

4
Overall
4
Reception
4.5
Battery Life
4
Hardware Usability
4
Hardware Quality
4.5
Display
4
Interface Speed
3
Audio Volume
4
Camera
 

See also: Review: Samsung Galaxy S5 for Verizon Wireless ›

 

User Reviews

Average Ratings

4.25
Overall
4.42
Reception
3.75
Battery Life
4.25
Hardware Usability
4.17
Hardware Quality
4.92
Display
4.33
Interface Speed
3.58
Audio Volume
4.58
Camera
 
 

Add your review

Please log in to post a review.

Sort by most:      
Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

Great phone

 

Dec 14, 2015 by Andrew1911

This has been my main carry for 15 months now. I had been a long time Motorola fan and decided to upgrade to this.

I really like the water/dust proof part the S5, but flipping open the battery door does get old. My advice is to deal with it and get it replaced if it rips off. This is a key part in the ingress protection.

There has been a few software issues as far as force stops, but that's not a deal breaker for me. As long as I'm not too fast and loose in the Play store and vet my apps, I have not had very much trouble.

Many Android platforms are going the way of the iPhone, this does not. The removable battery and SD card slot are what set this phone ahead of the pack.

Battery life is only so, so due to my signal strength. If I'm in a city I have no problem going a full day with moderate usage.

Overall, I quite satisfied with my first Samsung phone.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

Overall a good phone

 

Dec 10, 2015 by clbowens

Carrier: Sprint

I've had the phone for over a year. I mainly use the phone in the Cleveland, OH region. It had help up pretty well through the software updates. Though, the battery life can be inconsistent at times. The interface is sluggish, at times. Especially with the TouchWiz launcher (I switched to Nova).

Pros:
-OK battery life.
-Great reception
-Good data speed
-Lots of options for customization
-Waterproof

Cons:
-Bloatware
-Slow camera startup
-Fingerprint reader requires you to swipe your finger

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       reviews continues below...


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

Boost Mobile Samsung Galaxy S5

 

Dec 30, 2014 by patwackp

Carrier: Boost Mobile

I bought the Samsung Galaxy S5 as a replacement for an iPhone from another carrier.

I've used both iPhones, Andriod's and Blackberries for many years and overall I find that Androids are the easiest to use for many reasons.

As for the S5. I love this phone the most out of any other handset I've used.

I use it on Boost Mobile (Sprint). The best thing is that it uses Sprints Spark LTE Network.
Also, The Battery is incredible. I can go from 8 am to 8-9 pm with not one problem.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

best phone i've ever owned

 

Sep 6, 2014 by rastus52

Carrier: Verizon Wireless

i've owned everything from blackberry's (when they ruled the world) thru the iphone 4s. many droid phones also.

this phone is a beast!! it is blazing fast, the camera is simply 5x's better than anything i've ever had.... including the iphone.

it is easy to use, (except all the bloatware, which comes with all phones)

i highly recommend it if you're after a serious, great battery life smartphone!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

Great hardware, software not so much

 

May 2, 2014 by scottegos2   updated May 4, 2014

Carrier: Sprint

This is my third Android phone - started with the Photon, then had an HTC One M7, now this. I'd bought the HTC because I didn't like the GS3 (my wife has one). I definitely new I needed to upgrade because I needed triband LTE in my office. On the whole, I'm happy with this choice despite the amazingly substandard software; however, see below in the obligatory pros and cons.

*Pros:
- Beautiful Screen
- Vastly improved mobile data reception compared to the HTC One M7. Mostly that's probably because of Triband LTE (aks Sprint Spark)
- Improved wifi (2 radios/antennas vs 1 for HTC One M7 *or* M8)
- Very fast CPU and GPU
- Replaceable battery (can get them for $5 on amazon or ebay) which is really helpful for travel.
- Sturdy and waterproof construction
- lightweight (relative to M8 - marginally heavier than M7)

Cons:
- Touchwiz really, really stinks. The settings menu is a confusing nightmare and there's no way to come out of lock screen into particular apps (aside from taking pictures while locked). Nova launcher helps a little, but can't fix the other stuff
- Bloated with awful software - Without exception, all of the Samsung stuff (S-whatever) stinks.
- Can't talk and use mobile data. This is a problem with Sprint Spark, but it's a step backwards from the Photon and the HTC One where, assuming 4g was available, I could talk and either tether or just do a quick internet search or look at email. Now, the only way to talk and access internet is if you're on wifi. HATE it.
- No lock screen widgets except camera!!
- Fingerprint scanner is not great. I can get my index finger to work but almost never my thumb.
- Audio - the sound basically stinks both volume and quality-wise. With headphones it's better.

Oh, yeah. It has a camera. I don't care.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

Flimsy Parts / Charge port already broke off

 

Jun 13, 2014 by BankerLA

Carrier: Verizon Wireless

Had the phone for only a month and the charge port cover you have to open to insert the connector broke. The water resistance feature is now null and void which is really disappointing given I've only had the phone for 30 days. Samsung and Verizon will not honor the warranty to fix it. I have been a loyal client to both companies, but will keep my options open next time I purchase a phone. This is unfortunate. I'd think either company would step up and honor the commitment to demonstrate client service loyalty. Guess that's not the case anymore.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

 
 
Page  1  of 1

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2016 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
1