Phone Scoop

printed November 22, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=4292

Home  ›  Phones  ›  HTC  ›

HTC One max (CDMA)

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  1  

Phone Scoop Review

3
Overall
4
Reception
5
Battery Life
2
Hardware Usability
3
Hardware Quality
4
Display
4
Interface Speed
4.5
Audio Volume
4
Camera
 
 

User Reviews

Average Ratings

4.63
Overall
4.38
Reception
4.69
Battery Life
4.31
Hardware Usability
4.75
Hardware Quality
4.94
Display
4.81
Interface Speed
4.25
Audio Volume
4.38
Camera
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      
Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

Top Phone on the market

 

Feb 9, 2014 by techman01

Carrier: Verizon Wireless

I’ve had the HTC One Max for Verizon for a few months now, and here is why it truly is a must have phone.

A) THE DESIGN & HARDWARE: If you want a true masterpiece in design and craftsmanship, look no further. The One Max feels solid and well built. I don't have to worry about carrying this around case-less with a fear that it will get ruined. I will not be worried about this phone nicking and scraping like the iPhone. It has that coolness factor and a higher level of sophistication than any other phone out there today. Something you wouldn’t want to cover up.

B) THE SCREEN: The Screen is simply put, beautiful. Everything just pops out at you. Even in direct sunlight, everything is clear and bright. This is currently the best screen on the market right now. It’s larger size allows you to watch a movie or youtube videos with ease.

C) THE DUAL FRONT-FACING SPEAKERS: We have all been desensitized to the modern smartphones nowadays with their, tinny, mono speaker. Finally, someone has the senses to come back to reality - thank you, HTC! Trust me, your ears will thank you and you will realize all phones should have been made like this.

E) The UI and software design is now very minimal and simplistic. For better or for worse, if you are used to the old Sense UI's, you will need some readjusting. Personally, I like this new one better. If you're a casual news reader, then you'll love the new default home screen called blinkfeed which displays a gathering of news sources - some of its own partners, some for your Facebook and Twitter, etc. - to form a Flipboard style of news reader.

Bottom line, considering the totality of things, I feel the HTC One Max provides me the best complete experience, and is the king of the smartphones right now.
Full Disclosure – HTC sent me this phone to try out, but that did not affect my opinion in any way.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

Excellent Phone for its Intended Purpose

 

Jan 14, 2014 by sam912

Carrier: Verizon Wireless

My main reason for purchasing this phone was the large screen. So, yes, there are times when it feels bulky (like when I am doing a one handed text), but that is too be expected when purchasing a large phone. I went for this over the Note 3 because of the overall feel.

Pros:
-Screen
-Call Quality
-Speakers
-Aluminum casing
-Overall build quality
-Expandable memory

Cons:
-Can't remove battery
-Finger print scanner (location)

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

Large Phone for someone who wants just that

 

Dec 31, 2013 by ajs253

Carrier: Verizon Wireless

This is a very large phone. Larger than the Note 3. But it is made for people who like large phones. Don't buy this model and complain that it is too Large. If size is an issue go for its sibling, the HTC One. If you are okay with the size then this a phone that will amaze you, hook you and make you ask why isn't it one of the highest rated phones available.

Screen size, and quality are first practical and excellent if you are a person who wants to actually see what you are reading without carrying numerous devices this will do the trick.

The build quality is superb, Samsung should learn something from this. It has an all aluminum body, which feels good and solid in your hand. Is there room for improvement, of course. That speakers on the phone will knock your socks off for a mobile device and is excellent for conference calls. The battery life had to be the best in the market. I only say that I am always on Pandora, use the browser a lot, the maps for navigation and I probably receive and respond to at least 100 emails and texts per day. I still am at 50 percent in the evening.

If I could talk to HTC I would say you guys did a great job. Better job on Sense, now try to duplicate this in a half inch smaller body and you will know it out of the ball park.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

GREAT PHONE! (Not a fan of sense)

 

Dec 29, 2013 by IXCKNYXI

Carrier: Verizon Wireless

Great phone, however I feel sense has its quirks. For example, no file explorer built in, my note 3 has an advantage on this. Signal strength I noticed is stronger than Note 3, below my Note 2 however.

Speaker is loud, navigation could use some work (music player / messaging / etc), again this is an issue I have with sense. GPS works great, camera is nice!

Build quality is noticeable cheaper than HTC one, however the larger screen, the better speakers, the memory card slot, and extended battery were all pluses for me, so I'll put up with the cheaper quality and the unwieldiness.

Overall, a great phone, on par if not a few advantages over my Note 3. (Signal, speakers, tethering apps UNROOTED, etc) I use this as one of my primary phones, keep it going HTC!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

You Already Know If You Want It Or Not

 

Oct 13, 2014 by MadFatMan

Carrier: Sprint

Picked it up off Amazon about a month ago for $99 not too shabby.

Sadly this seems to be the last of HTC phablet offerings for a while. I guess it didn't sell too hot.

I LIKE the size (you would have to with this phone)

It's not the most advanced smartphone out there but it's solid. I mean are we all going down to the parking lot race our phones on a lunch break. Come on cut me a break here.

Build quality greatly exceeds that of the Note II it replaced feels SOLID in the hand.

I've already got 3 other people to snap this phone up since I got mine at the same price I did.

It's refreshing for once to only drop $100 on an upgrade and get something of this quality..

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

The Ultimate Phablet!

 

Aug 5, 2014 by 166creskill

Carrier: Verizon Wireless

This phone excells in almost every area except call sound volume. The browser, battery life, processor, camera and camcorder are superb. The only flaw in the camera/camcorder, was the lack of Optical Image Stabilization, which was found on the original One. Browsing on all HTC's is a pleasure because as you blow up the page, the words reconfigure, so you only have to scroll up and down. The only weakness as I said earlier is the earpiece sound quality. It is way too low, and will give you problems in a crowded environment. I would have preferred a polycarbonate construction for a phone this size, because with the aluminum, it is way too heavy. Pros: Battery life, browser, camera, camcorder, and processor. Cons: Earpiece sound quality, lack of Optical Image Stabilization on the camera, and excessive weight. Overall, a great offering from HTC, and built like a tank! PS: Don't update it to Sense 6. You will truly regret it!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

The Grand Slam, To Win The Game :) :)

 

Apr 2, 2014 by Rexmc75

Carrier: Sprint

I upgradded to the Max one year after upgradding to the HTC EVO 4G LTE. I can say the best upgrade I have ever done.

Pros:
The battery last all day (16hr)
Full HD
Front dull speekers for movies
HTC Boom Sound
5.9 screen size
Finger scanner

Cons:
No more Beats Audio but not a big deal with the HTC Boom Sound.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

Impressed

 

Mar 19, 2014 by Hobart91   updated Mar 19, 2014

Carrier: Verizon Wireless

I previously owned the HTC One on Verizon LTE, it was impressive compared to the latest HTC DNA, which was an excuse for a smart phone. Anyways, the HTC ONE MAX, IMPRESSED! Battery life is unreal, about 32-35 hours of consistant use on a full battery. Camera, the 4 ULTRAPIXEL is impressive. I like being able to remove the BlinkFeed, and turn off ZOE on the camera. Keyboard is responsive and bold, which works great for people with big fingers. Stylus?! Thats samsungs backup for making a horrible phone. The Note 3 has repetitive reception problems because Samsung think they need all the "cute" software that does no good. HTC however has built a great antenna and an overall great phone! HTC will be my new favorite!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

 
 
Page  1  of 1

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
2