Phone Scoop

printed October 25, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=4242

Home  ›  Phones  ›  Motorola  ›

Motorola Moto G (CDMA, 1st gen.)

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  17  

Average Ratings

4.29
Overall
5
Reception
4.71
Battery Life
4.19
Hardware Usability
4.19
Hardware Quality
4.93
Display
5
Interface Speed
4.64
Audio Volume
4.07
Camera
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      
Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

Hello (Again) Moto

 

Jan 14, 2014 by GravityFails   updated Jan 17, 2014

Carrier: Verizon Wireless

Eight years ago Motorola absolutely dominated the handset market; between the Razr, the Pebl, the Rizr, and the Rokr, they were the company to beat when it came to building unique phones that were either pocket-thin, spring-loaded, slide-loaded, or only marginally useful as music players, and which also happened to be named with a sparsity of vowels.

They had some dark times at Motorola for a while there -- the Droid line notwithstanding -- when it was unclear whether their handset division would survive the Samsung-LG onslaught. It didn't help that their earlier custom Android interface, Motoblur, was a Fruit Ninja-lookalike disaster when compared to Samsung's TouchWiz and LG's Optimus UI, but now that Google is calling the shots at Motorola Mobility, things have never been smoother.

The Moto G is frequently compared to the Moto X, but it shouldn't be; the Moto G is a mid-range phone designed to appeal to the mid-range user -- that is, those of us who can live without LTE and 64 GB of built-in flash storage. (That the Moto G happens to look like the Moto X is irrelevant, as the two devices are aimed at entirely different segments of the population, rendering all comparisons invalid.)

The Motog's screen is fantastic, with no visible pixels and good color depth; its processor has yet to bog down and leave me stuttering through web pages, apps, and/or menus; and its data, despite being limited to EVDO Revision A, is marsupial-fast. With moderate use the battery lasts me two full days, but your mileage may...well, you know. Add to these features the cosmetic coolness of customizable contoured cases, and you've got a winner.

Some people might balk at the Verizon version's limited memory (4.6 GB usable), and said balks would be merited; this is, thus far, the ONLY flaw I've found with the phone. You could easily spend twice as much on a decent, reliable prepaid handset, and still not touch the quality of the Moto G.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

moto g cdma

 

Jan 13, 2014 by hoggy   updated Jan 13, 2014

Carrier: Verizon Wireless

hi there had this phone 4 days it work really great very fast even on verizon 3g network almost as fast 4g lte you can play games talk & text with very little battery drain great job motorola & verizon

pro great battery life easy to use fast speed nice bright screen feels well built.

cons none yet

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

very good device .

 

Aug 10, 2014 by coltsfan561

Carrier: Boost Mobile

very good device on boost Mobile. pros good battery life 24-48 hours heavy use ,reception great ,even tho no 4g .3g is fast enough for my needs .camera not bad for a 5 megapixel with flash ,memory enough for me ,if you need to add memory do not buy no SD card slot . only con for me .over all great job Motorola... loving kit Kat ..

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

Great Phone

 

Jul 4, 2014 by FluentMovement

Carrier: Verizon Wireless

I bought this phone a few days ago and to be honest, I have no complaints thus far. For a 3G low price point Smartphone, it has amazing features.

My only complaint would be the lack of memory and no ability to increase with a memory card slot, but iphones are the same way.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

moto G verizon

 

Apr 20, 2014 by Nealman87

Carrier: Verizon Wireless

Very good phone I really like this phone

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Overall  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
hide detailed ratings

This phone is a SET-UP

 

Feb 25, 2014 by lb

Carrier: Verizon Wireless

And I thought the internet and Phonescoop Reviews were all about freedom of speech !! Pros. There isn't any. Cons. Many !! It's a prepaid phone and a set up.You DON'T EVEN GET what you pay for. Beware this phone. I have never seen an Android phone yet that DOES NOT have a MICRO SD CARD SLOT. Especially one that is 3G. The back is slick as owl crap.You will absolutely have to buy a cover in order to hold on to it. I noticed under the " memory " technical specs on phone scoop, they just so happened to leave this little bit of info out. Also, when you purchase the phone you can not even go through the screens or check out the applications without first activating the phone with " at least a $ 50.00 pre-paid card." Not only that but when the phone"s battery goes dead down the road. You will have to buy a whole new phone since you cannot remove the battery cover. That Is why I say it is a set up.This phone is the bastard child product of the union of Motorola, Verizon wireless, and Google's recent purchase of Motorola. Motorola USE to be a good company, and in fact helped to build this country. It's sad to see it hit so low. Google is out to make sure they make money on this one. One way or the other. Thats why they call them SMART PHONES. I will make sure I will find me another carrier at least. " Smart "Verizon wireless and Google. REAL SMART. I returned mine the day after I got it. LESS THE $50.00 OF COURSE !! LB

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

This phone is only $99?

 

Jan 18, 2014 by quinnsdaddy11

Carrier: Verizon Wireless

My Wife finally allowed me to get my first smartphone so after much searching around I was torn between the Lumia 520 with AT&T Prepaid and the Moto G for Verizon Prepaid.

However when I was first looking the Moto G was only sold through Motorola for $179 unlocked. I was days away from going with the Lumia 520 when my co-worker got a tweet from phonescoop that stated the $99 offer with Verizon Prepaid. Immediately I decided to go with the Moto G for a few key reasons:

- 4.5 720p Screen
- Camera flash
- Case availability (I went with the lemon lime flip case from Motorola.com) The Nokia Lumia had no proper folio cases which I prefer.
- Android 4.3 (soon 4.4 Kitkat)
- 1 gb ram (compared to the Lumia's 512 mb)

I have had the phone for two days and I currently have about 4 games (Plants Vs Zombies 2, Airport Scanner, Pet Rescue Saga, and Tetris Blast) I have saved three full cds from Google Music All Access, and have installed several apps, and I still have 3.5 gb remaining.

When the phone is on 3G i am getting around 1 to 2 mbps which is plenty fast for web browsing, social media apps and streaming in lower resolutions (480p). The GPS function with Google Maps works within seconds. The front facing camera is suprisingly good quality and works well even in lower lighting conditions.

Overall if you are like me and don't have best credit, or you broke your current smart phone and not out of contract. The Moto G is not a bad phone at all, in fact its on par with a lot of the phones on the market.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

 
 
Page  1  of 1

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
2