Phone Scoop

printed December 21, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=4193

Home  ›  Phones  ›  Samsung  ›

Samsung Galaxy Light

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  1  

Phone Scoop Review

2.5
Overall
2
Reception
3
Battery Life
4
Hardware Usability
3
Hardware Quality
2.5
Display
3
Interface Speed
4
Audio Volume
2
Camera
 
 

User Reviews

Average Ratings

3.75
Overall
3.86
Reception
3.5
Battery Life
4.14
Hardware Usability
4.07
Hardware Quality
4.29
Display
3.71
Interface Speed
4.43
Audio Volume
3.57
Camera
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      
Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

Samsung Galaxy Light

 

Apr 17, 2014 by pivazian

Carrier: T-Mobile

Excellent phone for its value. Exceptional sound on both sides. The LTE downloads much better than on iPhone 5s or Nexus 5. Very happy with it.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

A lot of phone for a small price.

 

Mar 3, 2014 by stevelvl   updated Mar 3, 2014

Carrier: T-Mobile

Pros
• Very affordable
• Quad-core processor
• Very bight clear screen
• LTE
• Android 4.2.2
• Highly customizable
• Amazing call clarity with HD voice
• Ability to turn off bloat-ware in the settings.

Cons
• Phone is only offered by T-Mobile
• Accessories such as cradles and extra batteries hard to find
• Will probably never receive any os upgrades
• Camera is nothing to brag about
• Very light phone
• Only about 5GB of internal storage

I have been using smart phones for over a decade now and this is the first time I bought a phone that was not a flagship phone. When I ordered the phone my expectations were a little low after all how good could any phone be that is less than 200$ at full price?

When I opened up the box the first thing that struck me was the phone construction. It is a sturdy phone tight fitting well put together, I expected to see something cheap looking that is typical of lower end phones. One of the things I do not like about the phone is it is very light and very thin. It is so light that it will not weigh down your pocket so it is always sliding out of my pocket when I sit down. Never had this issue with my bulkier heavier phones in the past.

The phone its self if full of features. The speed of the device and its software was a pleasant surprise. The quad-core powers it quite nicely. It only has 1GB of ram but that is more than enough for phone function provided you do not down load a lot of apps that run in the background. One feature that totally blew my mind was in the settings the ability to turn off the preinstalled bloat-ware(things like Isis, T-Mobile TV, ect).

It does not have all the features of a S4 but for the money you cannot beat this phone. This is definitely a great value for the price.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

Galaxy Light

 

Nov 22, 2014 by timcoind32780

Carrier: MetroPCS

I own this phone. Best budget phone I have ever tested/owned. Great features. Great speed. I highly recommend to anyone looking for a smartphone under $100. Hail Samsung!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

Very Disappointed

 

Nov 14, 2014 by DURMAR

Carrier: MetroPCS

Overall, my experience with this phone has been disappointing to say the least. The phone is not able to hold a call on low cell reception areas. It will unregister from the network and reregister. This causes multiple drops in service that otherwise would be handled by more robust phones. I had apps that would open other apps. The UI was nice but extremely slow in switching screens. Please do not get this phone.

Pros: Beautiful screen, great on the hand, light and pretty.
Cons: Abysmal call handling, very slow and poor camera, slow UI, very unstable software.

All in all I had it for one week and sold it.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

love this phone

 

Mar 9, 2014 by rosstheboss247

Carrier: T-Mobile

its a good phone and it has good lte with tmobile... pros are that it has a good screen... same android 4.2.2 as the Galaxy s3 just smaller... a fast phone... cons are... the phone is only 5megs for the cam and 720 hd for video but in all it still is a well made phone qith a good speaker phone!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

Hard Phone to Review

 

Feb 1, 2014 by acdc1a

Carrier: T-Mobile

Since I've used phones across the spectrum, it makes it hard to review this phone. It's good enough for the entry level user but Phonescoop is right about the fact that it hates the LTE network. So many times it drops to 4G or Edge while sitting in one spot. I've never had that issue with other T-Mobile phones especially since the LTE network is so good in our area.

If you are a Google voice user and you tell the service to ask you before each call, expect a 5 second delay before making calls. This is obnoxious and not something found on other Android phones I've used, even low end Android phones.

Pros:
- Small, crystal clear display. Much better than you'd expect for the class.
- Loud speakerphone
- Inexpensive
- Call quality is above average.
- Camera is pretty good for this price and has a flash.

Cons:
- This phone hates LTE period.
- A little on the chunky side
- Battery life is sub-par.

If you need an LTE phone and $149 is your budget (from several resellers) this isn't a bad choice. I do feel that you can do a lot better for not much more money...and if you're spending T-Mobile's $240 retail you can do better for the same money.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

 
 
Page  1  of 1

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
1