Phone Scoop

printed October 1, 2016
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=4166

Home  ›  Phones  ›  Motorola  ›

Motorola Moto X (regional CDMA, 1st gen.)

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  

Average Ratings

4.17
Overall
4.9
Reception
4
Battery Life
4.7
Hardware Usability
4.7
Hardware Quality
4
Display
4.5
Interface Speed
4.4
Audio Volume
3.5
Camera
 
 

Add your review

Please log in to post a review.

Sort by most:      
Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

Love this phone

 

Nov 9, 2013 by pootie78

Great phone! Great battery life, usually last at least 24 hours. The flick of the wrist camera feature is great for capturing a shot quickly. Plus the touch less controls are awesome. I can ask it a question across the room and it answers me without ever touching the phone.
Only cons I can think of are that the NFC feature isn't compatible with the galaxy phones and that the keyboard doesn't have the option to hold the letters down til it changes to a symbol.
I don't miss my S3 at all! Keep your iPhone and your S3s, go Google!!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

Really great device

 

Dec 11, 2015 by SmallTown

My 1st gen Moto X has served me well. It's fast enough for my needs, which are probably typical. With a Trident Kraken, it has survived excessive shock. I feel that the battery could have been beefier, and would have liked some external storage. The camera makes extraordinary photos, and when you have a child, the twist to activate feature is so nice. Switching carriers, I'm definitely going to miss this phone.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       reviews continues below...


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

Still the best phone I've had

 

Dec 10, 2015 by Syndil

I've had the Moto X on Republic Wireless since they first started offering it. I have been very pleased with this phone from the very start, and I am still very happy with it. The battery life has suffered, but I did replace it, even though it was considered non-replaceable. While I had the phone apart, I also upgraded the back to a bamboo one, so now my phone is extra rockin'.

Pros:

Build - This phone feels great in the hand, and does not feel cheap.

OS - Comes with pretty much stock Android, which, until I had it, was not something I knew I wanted. However, it is now my belief that a phone will perform much better if it is running stock Android rather than a custom UI on top of it. I don't miss anything from any of the custom UIs I've had in the past.

Voice activation - Many phones have this these days, but the Moto X is still one of the few that you can activate without ever touching the phone. I didn't realize what a must-have feature this was until I had it. Now I literally use it every day and cannot see myself going to a phone that I had to take out of my pocket in order to read the last text message sent to me or find out what the weather is. I just speak, and my phone tells me what I am asking for. This is the "killer app" of the Moto X.

Active display - Wiki it. It's awesome.

Cons:

Speed - It can get a little sluggish, but I've found that can be heavily dependent on what apps are installed. Even apps that I don't use often can drastically affect the performance of the phone just by being installed. I suppose this is true with most phones. Overall, the performance is adequate. But it's not a performance flagship.

Capacity - Whatever capacity you buy your Moto X at, that's what it will remain. There is no SD Card slot. I thought 16GB would be plenty, but apps, pics, videos... Etc. etc. Wish I had more.

Conclusion:

Still the best phone I've had. Considered replacing it with a newer generation Moto X, but I do not want a larger phone.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

Great phone, useful features

 

Mar 10, 2014 by iamthephonemaster

I have owned this phone for a week now and I can say it's exceptional. Screen is bright and easy to read even in sunlight. The size. Ms weight of the phone feel great in the hand. It's not a Phablet like a lot of other phones today, but still manages to give you a big 4.7 inche screen. But where this phone truly shines is the software features like toughness control. It lets you speak to your phone without ever needing to touch or even wake it up. You can have it dial a number, compose and send a text, ask for directions or any of a thousand other things. The phone only reacts to your voice so nobody else can give it commands. Another stand out feature is Moto assist. This feature lets the phone " sense" when you are driving so it will read you your texts and who they are from, and even ask you if you want to respond and let you dictate the response. It also will act as your personal assistant and tell you who's calling and ask if you want to answer. How another company hasn't come up with this idea or this isn't standard on smartphones in this day and age is beyond me. Everyone knows by now texting and driving is dumb, and even against the law in a lot of places. The Moto x makes it so you don't have to text and drive or fumble for your phone if it rings. That's awesome to me. This phone also has probably the best battery life I've seen on a non razr maxx smartphone ever. I routinely get a full day out of it with juice to spare. I usually take my phone off the charger around 8am and put it back on somewhere around 2am the next morning. I have never had less than 20% battery left after my day. I use my phone constantly through the day surfing the web or emailing and texting to watching YouTube. I'm amazed at the battery life. Now true that some of that comes from the fact that this phone has only a 1.7 ghz snapdragon s4 pro. But in all honesty you don't need more. Not with 2 gigs of ram and the Motorola X8 computing system.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

Maxymax review above...

 

Jan 9, 2014 by JoelMikel

Quite possibly the most uneducated, uninformed, misleading piece of drivel I've ever read on this or any other forum.

You really should be ashamed of yourself for such a pathetic trolling attempt.

To all of you who are reading these reviews complete ignore Maxymax's "review". There is nothing about this phone designed to be like iphone.

If the mods read this and want to remove it I'm ok with that as long as you remove max's stupid rhetoric too

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


iPhone Clone

 

Sep 14, 2013 by maxymax   updated Sep 14, 2013

Want an iPhone but still want the Android OS? This is your phone. I guess they say imitation is the sincerest form of flattery and if you can't beat them, join them. This does just that. It is about the same size as an iPhone, has a non-removable battery like an iPhone and you can't add a memory card for expanded memory-just like an iPhone. As a bonus, they designed it to use a nano Simm card-just like an iPhone. It only has a 10MP camera which is considerably lower than other flagship Androids. Another bonus is it has an always on mic to wait and listen for your commands. Of course NSA can also listen to your commands (conversations with others in a room) with it too. All and all this phone is a big disappointment. After all this time of waiting for Motorola's top of the line phone, they produce this mid-range phone and then hype it up like it's comparable to a Galaxy SIV. I can't believe after all the hype about Google and Motorola's first collaboration together they actually produced this hunk of junk. Don't bother buying it. It takes the worst aspects of Apple's iPhone and apply it to their phone.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

 
 
Page  1  of 1

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2016 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
2