Phone Scoop

printed October 25, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=3926&r=41054

Home  ›  Phones  ›  Samsung  ›

Samsung Galaxy Note II (Verizon)

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  10  

Phone Scoop Review

4
Overall
4
Reception
4.5
Battery Life
3
Hardware Usability
3.5
Hardware Quality
4
Display
4
Interface Speed
4.5
Audio Volume
3.5
Camera
 
 

User Reviews

Average Ratings

4.85
Overall
4.81
Reception
4.88
Battery Life
4.75
Hardware Usability
4.69
Hardware Quality
4.75
Display
4.81
Interface Speed
4.88
Audio Volume
4.69
Camera
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      
 
Page 1 2 
Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

Samsung Galaxy Note 2-Verizon

 

May 11, 2013 by davibw   updated May 11, 2013

Awsome phone Samsung
I just purchased this phone 2 weeks ago and have no regrets, i came from a Motorola razr maxx which is a great phone also, no problems at all, loved that phone, but i have been researching the Samsung galaxy note 2 for a while and finally went to a Verizon store to look at it and test drive it, wow, this phone is far better than the razr maxx.

Pros: The 5.5 inch HD Screen is beautiful
The Samsung processor is fast, unbelievable
The battery life is great, really close to the Razr maxx
This phone does everything, test drive this phone and you will see what it can do. This is my opinion only and i have purchased a lot of android phones with contract and out of pocket expense, this is the best phone by far, this phone is totally amazing, very happy,, finally found a phone i will keep for a long time, I am going to give this phone a solid 5,

Cons: Not on this Samsung galaxy note 2,

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Very happy

 

Feb 2, 2013 by GrumpyJoe

I will be keeping this phone for s long time. Response is incredible. Screen is big and bright. I've had it about month. I will update more in time. But for more, this is the best phone I have ever used.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


GREAT PHONE!!!

 

Jan 30, 2013 by sanman964

I just got this phone a few days ago and this phone is great so far!! I had the iphone 5 but i wanted a larger screen and some other options that iphone just doesnt have.. I wanted the option of adding a memory card and also if i need to change out the battery i can now.. The screen is big and vibrant and its really fast..I also cant believe how light the phone for its size!! If i had to complain about anything i guess the only thing i would say is the touch sense is not as smooth and crisp as the iphone but its not enough for me to take away any points..

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Very happy!

 

Jan 19, 2013 by snsjets   updated Jan 20, 2013

This is my first Samsung phone and so far I am very happy with it! A little sorry did not buy it earlier. Previously owned an HTC Thunderbolt for 19 mos which was a good phone but the Note 2 is bigger, better and much more stable. Call quality is excellent and I've not dropped a single call on Verizon. Battery life on this device is exceptional - a huge improvement over the Undervolt. My record so far is 46hrs on 1 charge and my GPS is always on, I use live wallpaper, motion setting is on, and my weather updates once every hour. This device is also relatively lightweight for its size. With a Seidio Active case its 8.3oz, only 0.2oz heavier than my Thunderbolt.
My biggest complaint with the Note 2 is the camera (-0.5 stars). It will take good pictures but I've found the camera settings have to be tweaked to get the best picture quality. Unfortunately the settings auto-default once the camera app is closed. The Thunderbolt camera was also 8.0mp but took better pictures as a point and shoot. My second complaint is about questionable build quality. My phone is set to vibrate for calls and messages. When it does vibrate it resonates a humming plasticy sound. It almost sounds as if something is loose inside the phone. The vibration intensity can be changed on this phone but that does not seem make a difference. Strangely enough it resonates with or without the case.
If you are contemplating buying this overall awesome phone, stop, just do it! You will not be disappointed.

Pros
Very customizable
Loaded with features
Fast and very stable
Works great for: phone, internet device, hotspot, GPS device
Call quality/signal
Big, brilliant display
Battery life
Charges quickly using OEM charger
Lightweight for its size

Cons
Slow to wake from sleep
Excessive Verizon bloatware and splash screen
Screen is too bright in a dark room or at night on lowest manual setting
Camera should be better
Phone sounds cheap when it vibrates
Phone is a little slippery when not in a case

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Samsung Convert

 

Jan 17, 2013 by Debo2450   updated Jan 17, 2013

Coming from an HTC Thunderbolt rooted with custom ROM and extended battery I was very satisfied with it. It took something special to get me to make a change and this is not even mentioning giving up unlimited data by using my equipment upgrade. Having said that I'm not looking back at all, this phone is incredible.
Talk time with the stock battery matches my Tbolt w/extended batt. Loving the thinness that now allows it to fit more comfortably in a pocket if need be. I have big hands so the overall size is a non-issue and picture/video viewing the beautiful screen provides makes it more than worth it.

Pros:
Call reception
Display
Size
Processor speed
Wow factor (people can't help but ask about it)

Cons:
No simultaneous voice/data over 3G like Thunderbolt. Come on Samsung, that's kind of an Apple move with the CDMA iphone 5's.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Love it!

 

Jan 1, 2013 by cpd2052

The phone is BIG! This should not be a con though, because you know this going into the purchase. I upgraded from a iPhone 4s to the Note II. I love the stability of the iPhone, but the Note as not given me any glitches. I have tried to over load to slow it down or freeze it as some of my Androids from the past, but not able to do that. I had to use a battery case on my iPhone, but not the Note. I take it off charge anywhere from 4AM to 6AM with no other charges until sleep from 9PM to midnight. I have yet to get the phone below 15% of battery. This is my first Android that I have been pleased in the Battery life. It is loaded! I have yet to experience all that this fablet will do.

Pros:
Battery
Screen
Camera
Samsung keyboard with Swype
Call quality
Speaker is loud and clear
Too many tools or toys to mention
Multi tasking with split screen
Surf and talk at the same time

Cons:
None so far

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

Perfect for my needs!

 

Dec 16, 2012 by KA7EII   updated May 4, 2013

This is my third smartphone after owning a Palm Treo 700 and a Motorola Droid 2. My wife and I were thinking of getting an Android tablet but after seeing the Galaxy Note II I decided to give it a try. I made no mistake in my decision! Everything about this phone is close to perfect. Call quality is excellent (Verizon Wireless in the Salt Lake City, UT area), the camera takes stunning photos and the screen is large enough to enjoy Google Talk video chats and enjoy watching shows on Netflix. The Android 4.1.1 firmware has been stable - no problems in the two weeks I have owned this phone.

My favorite pros:
Screen size - Just love the big screen.
Battery life - I can get an honest 16 hours of moderate to heavy use on a full charge and still have power to spare.
Call quality - Excellent so far.
Nice camera - Been pleased by the quality of photos that I have taken with this phone. Camera is fairly quick - very little "shutter lag".
ISIS ready - works great here in Salt Lake City. (wish there were more places set up to accept ISIS payments)
Handles 64gb micro SD cards.
S pen. Haven't explored all the functions yet but I like being able to "write" on the backs of photos that I have taken.

My only con so far:
Phone is a bit slippery - sometimes afraid of dropping it.

I got the white phone and the titanium grey cover. Looks nice. I like being able to talk on the phone with the cover closed. As for the phone being a bit slippery, I found some rubbery stickers in the kids section of the grocery store. Put a few on the back and now I have a really good grip on my phone.

Yes, the phone is big but it serves my needs very well. Out of the box, it has about 10g of internal memory which seems a bit small but my apps are only using about 1g of memory and all photos, music etc are stored on my SD card.

Overall, I am very happy with my Samsung Galaxy Note II.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Samsung for life

 

Dec 5, 2012 by klinger1108

I change phones alot and on Verizon I've had all the high end phones. I've previously said that after the Galaxy Nexus I'd never buy another Samsung product again. Then along came the Galaxy S3 and now this beast. If you loved the SGS3 like I did you're gonna love this beast. I've had it for 48 hrs now and I know it's a keeper. It's like the SGS 3 on HGH. I had the Droid DNA for a few days but found it just wasn't what I was looking for. I've really become accustomed to Samasungs stellar hardware and software. This phone is loaded with features that just make it too good to pass up. Add Nova launcher and this things a phone nerds wet dream! It has it all, speed, features, screen and call clarity. I honestly saw very little difference in screen clarity between this and the DNA (unless I had my nose on the screen). I found the camera on the Note2 was better also then that of the highly touted DNA camera. All in all I can find no real faults with this device, and I'm super picky about my phones. I personally like its size and find dialing/texting/navigating it to be on par with the SGS3.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Wow. It's a great machine.

 

Dec 2, 2012 by highnote

Received it three days ago. Samsung SCH-A530, Blackberry Bold, Droid X, Samsung Fascinate, iPhone 4S, Note2. The Fascinate and iPhone were great devices. Now the large bright high density screen, long battery, lifelike call quality, true 4G, quadcore (fast and smooth) justify a little more weight and the size. The screen is big, just like it should be. It was easy to get used to. It makes the screens on the smaller phones seem unreasonably small. The phone is a welcome handful- wouldn't want to lose a quarter inch anywhere. Feels fine in my pocket.

Multiwindow lets you divide the screen in two and run two apps independently at the same time. You can look at e-mail and a document at the same time. You can see a webpage and the gallery together. There is a bar in between so you can drag to change the space shared between each app.

Finally, everything in an android phone works the way you expect. The screen stays on as long as you look at it. The Wi-Fi locks in, the LTE is fast, the GPS is right there, voice recognition is quick and accurate. You can zoom into a video while it plays! Everything you do on the phone is fast. Open a webpage, save a Dropbox file, flip between camera and gallery. The pictures and video . . . outstanding. A 3MB photo has more detail and definition than an 8MB photo from the Droid X. Move it up to 8MB and the results are stunning.

Used it all day long, kids used it all evening- still 31% battery. Samsung's Note2 is a sci-fi device for real- something they tried to imagine in the 1980's that was too fantastic to believe. An Android phone that keeps its promise.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


I agree that the phone is awesome

 

Dec 1, 2012 by merlinswizzard

I would give it 5 stars, but I have have yet to resolve an issue with the ISIS and Google wallet. Everything else about this phone is AWESOME... graphics, speed and quality of phone are great.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

 
Page 1 2 

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
1