Phone Scoop

printed July 29, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=3926&s=h&p=1

Home  ›  Phones  ›  Samsung  ›

Samsung Galaxy Note II (Verizon)

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  10  

Phone Scoop Review

4
Overall
4
Reception
4.5
Battery Life
3
Hardware Usability
3.5
Hardware Quality
4
Display
4
Interface Speed
4.5
Audio Volume
3.5
Camera
 
 

User Reviews

Average Ratings

4.84
Overall
4.79
Reception
4.86
Battery Life
4.79
Hardware Usability
4.71
Hardware Quality
4.71
Display
4.86
Interface Speed
4.93
Audio Volume
4.79
Camera
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      
Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

Galaxy Note 2 Smart Dock Review

 

Jul 29, 2013 by Matt Smith

First off ill start saying that the galaxy note 2 is a great phone and with this dock makes it even greater. This is the best dock I have seen on any platform. Worth the money if you want to charge and output to a television or other display device. Great for watching Netflix and you can hook up a mouse and keyboard. It works great surfing the web and editing documents, almost as good as a desktop for certain things. You can also hook up a usb controller to play games (particularly old emulated SNES and Playstation 1 games). It works as advertised and is worth the cost if you want to get a lot more out of your Note 2. This is one great Accessory to have if you buy a Note 2 it may cost a little but its extremely worth the price to have this amazing product. The video quality is great and the sound is great you can use it through hdmi or through the 3.5mm headphone jack. If you wana buy one of these bad boys check out this link for a great price and fast shipping they are also nice and honest great customer service.

Couple of things you should know before buying:

1- Display is mirrored , so the default display would be portrait given how the phone will sit on the dock. This can easily be fixed by forcing orientation via an app. You can easily find some free ones on the Playstore.

2-It doesn't work well if you have a case on your phone ( other than the official Samsung one I mean ) . I have a case on my note 2 and while it does charge and the dock recognizes it , it doesn't connect via HDMI. Take the case off and its all fine.

Link To Buy:
http://www.mobilefun.com/36945-samsung-galaxy-s4-s3--note-2-smart-dock---edd-s20eweg.htm

Other Great Accessory's For Note 2:
http://www.mobilefun.com/33145/samsung/galaxy-s4/docks.htm

http://www.mobilefun.com/

Sorry if it seems like a long review just trying to hit all the great features this has to offer and thanks for reading.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


New Samsung Fan!!

 

Jan 11, 2013 by THECRAIGMEISTER

I was not a Samsung fan for many years. I always thought they had great gadgets and innovative ideas like the first flip one with a 3.2mp camera that the top spun to make it like a 35mm camera. Had the first talk to text I had used etc. but it sucked as a phone as did others I tried. After having everything from Blackberries to HTC Incredible, Droids including my last phone the Bionic. I bought my wife the Samsung GSIII July 10th when it was released for Verizon. Surprisingly she was super happy with it? I was skeptical. Used it and really liked the screen and call quality etc. So I heard about the Note 2. I thought at the time it may be too big but when I saw the AT&T version on display I found it to be thin and fit in my pocket and actually felt better and lighter than my Bionic with the extended battery! So I researched and researched. I decided to try it........I am really glad I did! Being a phone junkie this phone truly is amazing. I was also skeptical about the S Pen but it far exceeded my expectations. It makes browsing forums and other sites much easier. The display is 1st rate. Even clearer than the GSIII. No extended battery on this phone like I have always had on other phones. Even in 4G all day with heavy usage including lots of talk, browsing, YouTube, Netflix etc. battery is still at least half charged. I am very impressed with battery life. Love the feature that the display will stay on as long as you are looking at it. Has a face detection that keeps the display on as long as you are looking at the phone. Another one of the many many features that stand out is the keyboard. It is very user friendly and nicely spaced. I can type really fast and it has a dedicated # row across the top. Honestly I can't find any faults with this phone! I have many friends with Iphone and I am soooooo glad I didn't go that route after having this phone! Hope this review helps.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


Wow!

 

Nov 30, 2012 by texastim

Bravo Samsung & Verizon, even though VzW has some very nice devices currently being offered, this one to date wins the race by far. Lightning fast speed, great resolution, battery is fantastic so far, with many other new options still to discover. Suggestion, get the matching back flip-over Samsung made cover. With the outer cover closed, a person can still talk through it. Something easy, yet clever. Good luck to the other new owners. For the others thinking about buying this great phone you will not be sorry!!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

amazingly perfect

 

Nov 30, 2012 by ladodgermaniac   updated May 3, 2013

Went from palm treo to motorola droid to droid x to droind bionic. And now to the grand daddy of them all.

No need for tablet any longer, the 5.5" screen is perfectly sized to be my 1 device.
One hand operation is still easy.

Fits into pockets and is lighter than the bionic with extended life battery.

The larger screen enables letters and numbers simultaneously on the keyboard.

The battery life got me through a whole day without charging, heavy use too.

Lighning face internet side by side with bionic.

I have not found any bugs yet.

Instant data and wifi connect.

Man sized phone might not fit into ladies pockets or dudes that wear skinny jeans.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


It does EVERYTHING! .. almost.

 

Jan 19, 2013 by Awalker56   updated Jan 19, 2013

No phone can be compared to this device, its not even close. Sorry you misinformed Apple lemmings, your iphone 5 barely compares to older android models, its not in this league.
And yes, I have a few apple paper weights since ive moved to the cutting edge of technology with Samsung.

Comparisons to top end computers & tablets would be more ideal.

My only issues with the Samsung Note 2 is the auto correction on the keyboard doesn't auto fix anything so I find myself going back often correcting errors myself & lack of call options, 3 way calling or even answering call waiting without hanging up on both calls. Seriously, I thought basic calling options might be a given, but not with Samsung devices.

These 2 issues are the only reason I didn't rate this device 5 stars.
Battery life is a MAJOR draw to love this phone, 10 hr workdays with moderate- heavy use and its still over 50% most days - light - moderate use will last close to 2 days. No exaggeration.

You will be very happy with the Note 2, without question.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Better Than I Expected

 

Dec 5, 2012 by radcloser

Pros:
Large clear display
Very impressive battery life
Pretty fast and responsive
Speaker phone is loud and clear
Earpiece volume is above average

Cons:
Speech to text doesn't work using bluetooth headset. I've tried the Blue Ant Q2 and the LG HS7000. I called VZW tech support. They called Samsung support who said that speech to text using bluetooth is only supported using a Samsung bluetooth headset. Hmmm. Bummer.

Predictive text entry is not as smooth or accurate as using my iPhone 4S. I type "Im" and it enters "Im" instead of "I'm". I didn't know that "Im" is a word??

Anyway, this phone is a keeper. I had HTC DNA for about 7 days and LOVED it except for the 11GB maximum usable memory and the less than adequate non-replaceable battery. So I gave up the stellar display and got the Note II.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

Oh how I love this phone

 

Jul 19, 2013 by Renaldo

I am a law student, full time employee, and a pt Real Estate Paralegal. Just to say I am busy isnt enough. I love my phone to death. First the Law student, being able to take notes and snap pics in class and making annotations on the screen is more than enough. I brought the tablet as well for more writing space. (10.1) Next full time Bus Driver, I can keep my bus Schedule clear and in my face with the Large screen and can use it to assist my customers when needed. Great .....Next Paralegal just saying...you know I am making notes and speaking with clients on the fly and this allows me to record the conversation and make notes for later. I can take a pic of the house make voice notes and annotate there all on the same device. Then I can go to the coffee shop and jump on wifi and upload everything to my office. I again love this phone. If you aren't finding way to utilize this device then you have the wrong phone.

The only con I have is looking at the screen in the sunlight.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

BEST EVER

 

May 24, 2013 by redboy

I have had almost every smartphone of any consequence over the years. Blackberries, Iphones, Androids, you name it. Overall this is the best phone I have ever used. The display, camera, everything is fast, smooth, and works.

The only negative (and I knew it going in), the size takes some getting used to in the hand.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

What I Don't Like

 

May 14, 2013 by HelloMotto

Everyone already knows the multiple pros to the Note2, battery life, s-pen, screen, call quality, signal strength, blah, blah, blah etc. It has so many pros it is truly much easier to list what I don't like about the phone.

What I don't like:
==================
1. The calendar widget sucks. They should have used the calendar widget like the one on the S3
2. No transparent digital clock widget.
3. The ongoing Wi-Fi notification in the pull down shade.
4. Because of the size of the phone, some tasks have to be performed with both hands (even with one-handed operation turned on).
5. Build quality (Samsung's usual plastic - although the feel is growing on me. My Seidio case solves that.

What I do like:
===============
1. Everything else. There will likely never be a phone that meets 100% satisfaction in every aspect; I would say this phone meets 95% of what I require in a device. For that, this phone is 5 stars.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

Samsung Galaxy Note 2-Verizon

 

May 11, 2013 by davibw   updated May 11, 2013

Awsome phone Samsung
I just purchased this phone 2 weeks ago and have no regrets, i came from a Motorola razr maxx which is a great phone also, no problems at all, loved that phone, but i have been researching the Samsung galaxy note 2 for a while and finally went to a Verizon store to look at it and test drive it, wow, this phone is far better than the razr maxx.

Pros: The 5.5 inch HD Screen is beautiful
The Samsung processor is fast, unbelievable
The battery life is great, really close to the Razr maxx
This phone does everything, test drive this phone and you will see what it can do. This is my opinion only and i have purchased a lot of android phones with contract and out of pocket expense, this is the best phone by far, this phone is totally amazing, very happy,, finally found a phone i will keep for a long time, I am going to give this phone a solid 5,

Cons: Not on this Samsung galaxy note 2,

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

 
Page  1 2

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
1