Phone Scoop

printed September 2, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=3910

Home  ›  Phones  ›  LG  ›

LG Nexus 4

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  16  

Phone Scoop Review

2
Overall
3
Reception
1
Battery Life
3
Hardware Usability
3.5
Hardware Quality
4
Display
4
Interface Speed
4
Audio Volume
3
Camera
 
 

User Reviews

Average Ratings

4.86
Overall
4.75
Reception
3.75
Battery Life
5
Hardware Usability
4.88
Hardware Quality
4.88
Display
4.88
Interface Speed
4.5
Audio Volume
4.25
Camera
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      

The Nexus 4 is the first Android phone I've ever fell in love with.

 

Jan 31, 2013 by Demetrius816   updated Jan 31, 2013

RECEPTION AND CALL QUALITY:

Calls come through very clear and the hear piece speaker is pretty loud.

DISPLAY:

The display is extremely good on the Nexus 4. It is very vibrant and sharp. Second only to the iPhone 5's in my opinion.

BATTERY LIFE:

Battery life is pretty solid, but not great. Prepare to pack a charger.

CAMERA:

Photo quality is decent and camera is full featured.

EASE OF USE:

Stock Jellybean is amazing and very intuitive. The UI flows so smooth and everything runs blisteringly fast.

DESIGN AND FORM FACTOR:

This is the very first android phone I place up there with the iPhone in terms of build quality.

PORTABILITY (SIZE / WEIGHT):

The Nexus is big without being overbearing. The design makes for a comfortable and very portable device.

MEDIA SUPPORT:

The Android OS can tackle pretty much anything you throw at it. And with a 720p screen, viewing is a joy as well.

DURABILITY:

Much like the iPhone 4/4S the front and back are made of glass. The phone feels really solid, but I would avoid dropping it.

ECOSYSTEM (APPS, ACCESSORIES, ETC.):

Google's ecosystem is robust and there plenty of third party accessories to use. For example a playstation 3 controller.

The Nexus is an amazing phone and in my opinion the best Android phone on the market. That is if you can find one.

It has all the bells and whistles needed for today's smartphones, minus LTE. The build quality and OS are both top notch. I would definitely recommend the Nexus 4 to anyone looking to buy a new phone. I tip my hat to Google and LG for bringing the a device to the world.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Nothing short of amazing!

 

Jan 25, 2013 by psykirkland

So to start, let's just clear the air. The LG Nexus 4 is hands down one of the best phones out! I can't believe that LG has done such a great job! If you don't own one you should get one!

Pros:
Beautiful phone
Awesome display
Great camera
Blazing fast 4G (13+ mb/s t mobile 4G)
Quad core beast
Android 4.2.1 Is crazy smooth
Snappy with zero lag
Battery life is good

Cons:
No sd slot (not a deal breaker with cloud storage)

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

A Solid Upgrade

 

Sep 12, 2013 by jc2238

I jumped on the Google discount and could not be happier. Coming from the HTC One S, this is a far better device. It's the best smartphone "phone" I've used, with excellent sound. The One S did not function well as a phone, and I found there was too much HTC and TMo stuff crammed into the phone, so performance-wise, the 4 is exponentially better. HSPA+ where I live and travel is reliably fast, so I don’t miss LTE. The wife’s iPhone is slower by comparison when running on LTE (Not a hater comment, just the truth) so I’m very pleased with this phone. Not too concerned with the aesthetic, but it looks fine and is obviously well built, and doesn’t have all the gimmicky nonsense of the Galaxy line. Battery is solid and better than expected. I figure all will continue to get better with new software releases too. (Quick note: You have a computer in your pocket! It’s got to give out sometime)

If the Nexus 5 ever shows up, I figure it will be more of the same, but I’m good with the 4 until it gives out. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

Very nice phone, all things considered.

 

Aug 1, 2013 by IGemini

This was a massive step up from a Droid X2. Display and resolution are sharp. The stock Android UI is very clean and buttery smooth. Even with only one bar in my home (2G on T-Mobile, Lancaster PA), call clarity was mostly on par with landline. Price is very reasonable compared to the other high-end phones currently on the market, before factoring any trades. Being a Google phone, it'll also get cutting-edge OS updates, at least for the near future.

Cons:
- No microSD card slot. For me this was the only major negative to not have a phone that I could use my 32GB card.
- Battery life. Qualcomm has a management app called BatteryGuru, which is a must-have for this phone. But even with this installed and aggressive settings, my phone would be down to ~50% charge after a day at work, which barely gets signal or more than a few minutes of browsing. As of this posting, Android 4.3 has been pushed to the Nexus 4 and brought significant improvements in standby usage. After the update, that number jumped to ~75%.
- The camera isn't great among smartphones. HDR is a nice feature but the auto-focus is pretty touchy.
- Somewhere between v2.3 and v4, contact management got unwieldly. This is an OS issue.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

Love it, best Nexus yet

 

May 28, 2013 by androidguydc

I reluctantly upgraded from the Galaxy Nexus as I did not think the Nexus 4 was going to be enough of an upgrade to justify the cost. Boy was I wrong. This phone is great! It's much faster than the Galaxy Nexus. Also, the screen is just beautiful. It takes great pictures as well. I've been satisfied with the battery life. Yes, it doesn't have LTE but I've gotten almost 15mbs down on T-Mobile's HSPA+ network which is more than enough even compared to LTE.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

Impressed

 

Mar 17, 2013 by Versed   updated May 4, 2013

Pro's, Design, fits in pocket well, screen is fantastic without over saturation. Nor is it bland like some other LCD's. Call Quality is good, excellent hspa+ with TMO.

Cons. But knew it going in, no SD card. I know this is a contraversal argument. Having an SD card slot is more then just about having storage, its about not being wipped out everytime you add a new rom or reset the phone. External storage keeps stored data like irc servers for andchat, photo's and music.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Great device

 

Feb 7, 2013 by Dc21011

I have just switched from an Iphone 4s to a Nexus 4 and I could really see the improvement!! It operates so much smoother and is so much faster! Call quality is great and display is amazing. Would recommend to any of my customers and friends!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

 
 
Page  1  of 1

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
1