Phone Scoop

printed September 1, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=39

Home  ›  Phones  ›  Sanyo  ›

Sanyo SCP-4700

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  2  

Average Ratings

3.83
Overall
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      

It makes a fine brick...

 

Oct 6, 2005 by Static Image

Not as bad as the SamsungSPH-A460, but it comes close.

This phone was large, heavy, had a laughable screen display, and battery life that rivals the reliability of a Kia.
In other words, not that good.

the pros of this phone-
speakerphone

cons-
everything else.

I hate to be so short, but I hated this phone.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

Trustworthy

 

Sep 1, 2003 by muchdrama   updated Jul 16, 2013

I just recently came to own this phone after signing on to a family plan with two other members of my family. I had bought it to eventually replace my father's 4700 if anything happened to it (due to the fact that he really liked the phone). Well, it was still sitting around brand new in a box when it came time to add my line to the plan...so I used the new 4700. This phone not only has the best damn reception I've ever encountered, but the best voice quality as well. The speakerphone is unbelievably loud! This thing has been discontinued, but it still beats the snot out of all of Sprint's new releases. How's that for new technology?

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


Great Phone!

 

Feb 24, 2002 by donovansmith

My main complaint about this phone is its rather large size. But otherwise, what more can I ask for in a phone? The signal strength is incredible, the battery seems to last forever, the sound quality (both earpiece and speakerphone) is excellent, the voice-activated dialing works well, and it even has a calendar which I use more than I thought I would at first. And even its large size isn't bad since the phone is shaped very comfortable and its large depth makes it very comfortable to hold. I liked my old Kyocera QCP-2035 a bit, but I absolutely love this phone. It may not be sleek, small, or have a lot of unnecessary features (e.g. downloadable ringers, picture display, etc.) but it works like a charm.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


my review of the sanyo 4700

 

Mar 30, 2002 by Tim Horton

I have the 4500, and I LOVE IT....it the best phone sprint has next to the sanyo 5150 before this phone came out no one in the world had a phone that has a speaker phone built in and now everyone wants to be just like it. It has all the great features... ok it's missing a address book like the kyocera has but if u have the wireless web u can go online and look at your address, and it doesn't have downloadable ringers and graphics, and that's fine with me cause the only phone u can upload them into is the 5150 ( another great sanyo phone) and until u have that optiuon or sprint gets a better selection it's fine with me.

I would like to see voice commands like the V60c and changelable backlight colors. " but u can't get everything u want can you"

So if u are looking for a great business phone or u use your cell phone as your only phone like i do . then this is the phone to get unless u have the $200-$300 shell out the for 5150.

Tim G. Horton

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Sanyo 4700

 

Jun 17, 2002 by Troy Thomas

I've been using the Sanyo 4500-4700 for a year and a half. This phone is awesome. The candy bar style is not too small not too big, not too heavy, not too light. The speaker phone works well (Sanyo says the 4900 will have a better speaker phone! [as stated at the Sprint users conf. in Vegas, yup, I went]). Nice loud rings w/ voice ringer, great short cut keys, outstanding reception. The battery life is great on cdma, charges in no time. Voice activated dialing, speaker-phone, memo record all easy to get to. I also use a Samsung i-300... I ALWAYS choose to pick up and use the Sanyo.

Since Sanyo only makes phones for Sprint, this is what I'd like to see. Complete scroll up and down loop throughout all menus (like the main menu), simultaneous ring and vibrate, less than 7 digit phone number storage, multiple home, work, mobile etc. listings per name, when keyguard is on a certain 2 button press e.g. 2,5 or 3,6 would activate backlight (still holding keyguard). Hopefully these changes will show up on the 4900.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


SANYO 4700

 

Nov 10, 2005 by THEBEERGUY

This is one of the first of over 25 sanyo phones that i have owned. Still trying 2 find a good enough replacement. When i bought this phone it was 2 replace the sanyo 4000 that i had. I liked this phone so well when I bought it, that i went back to the sprint store and bought more just 2 have when i lost or broke the original.

PROS: speakerphone
good signal everywhere i went
programmable backlight display
CONS: not a color disply
no sms texting
discontinued

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Re: Don't buy this phone...

 

Mar 31, 2004 by tseboe

[This is probably a moot point as this phone and the series is outdated]

I've owned this phone's predecessor, the 4500, for at least two years, probably more. It is a basic phone that has been bomb-proof. I got it with Sprint and I seem to get good reception and good battery life. Furthermore, I've yet to find a phone with a similar quality speakerphone. If you're like me, then all the "bells and whistles" of the new phones are useless.

Moral of the story: One poor review should not make or break your decision. I'm switching to US Cellular and, if I could, I'd buy another Sanyo.

Just my two cents.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Good job Sanyo!

 

Feb 3, 2004 by Dollfayce

We just upgraded to vision phones from the Sanyo 4700. Had them for about a year and a half - never had any problems whatsoever.

Sanyo did a wonderful job with this one. The ringer is quite loud and able to be heard in the noisiest of environments. The sound was crystal clear, even when using the speaker phone feature. I must say though, the reception with this phone has got to be tops over any other. This was the only phone able to keep a decent signal when we lived out in the "sticks", far away from any towers. Battery life is incredible - it still holds a charge like new.

The only thing I didn't care for with this phone was the size. Just a bit too bulky for me.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


good phone

 

Mar 29, 2003 by Shawn Aeby

While this phone is rather bulky, it has lots of great options. My favorites are the Voice Ringer and the Environment settings. I think the text entry on certain Wireless Web sites could be more user friendly, but it does have great reception and great sound quality. This is also one of the only phones that you can get a belt clip for without buying a leather case (if you get a holster, which I did).

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


A good to great phone

 

May 31, 2003 by Chinasaur

PRO's: Superior voice recognition...the best I've seen on any phone. Very bright display. Speakerphone works very well...callers never knew I was using the speakerphone option.

Battery life was average/good.

CON's: The display is a bit small...text characters look like an IBM terminal. Reception was not as good as the Samsung N200 I replaced it with. Metal cover felt a bit "delicate"...almost like painted plastic..but never failed or bent.

Overall, a good solid phone that never let me down but could have been improved upon.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

 
Page  1 2

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
2