Phone Scoop

printed July 30, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=3873

Home  ›  Phones  ›  HTC  ›

HTC Windows Phone 8X (CDMA)

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  1  

Average Ratings

3.83
Overall
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      
Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

HTC and Microsoft thumbs up!

 

Jun 6, 2013 by metrodigital

I am an IT manager and although I had read some negative reviews I figured I would give it a try. Coming from an Iphone then Galaxy Note 2 I figured I would try the last one (aside from blackberry). Folks if your on the fence about windows phone and are up for a solid, fluid, and all around good operating system on a flagship phone, give it a try. I absolutley love, I'm saying love my HTC 8X. I would not trade for any other phone. The only lacking was the app store and each and every day its getting bigger and bigger and more and more streamline apps are hitting the market. It wont be long before its competative to apple and android. Think 4-5 years ago when both app stores were in their infantile stage, its just physics it has to grow. you cant start an app store with 150,000 apps in one day! Anyways again would highly recommend this phone!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

Windows finally hits the mark!

 

May 12, 2013 by skeptiq

I have been an avid Android user since it came out. It can do anything you tell it to. My wife got this phone and after setting it up for her, I found myself tinkering with it for the next week or so when I could pry it out if her hands. I had just got the Samsung Note 2 and really liked it, but there was just something about the windows phone. I bought one off eBay and have been AMAZED at this phone. Stuff just works. Easy setups. I have found this phone to be great right out of the box. I have only downloaded a minimum of apps compared to the number I needed with android. The family room is a lifesaver. Married, four kids, both my wife and I are in school and work full time. Without the family room calendar we would go crazy. Battery life is more than adequate. Size is sweet, took me awhile to get used to a small phone again. Was concerned about the keyboard, but as I type this review on it, I can say it is just fine. There are some things I would change, but no showstoppers for me. This is one helluva phone. Windows 8 PC integration is phenomenal. Just got a Windows 8 all in one and the setup was amazingly simple. The new OS takes some time to learn, but after a quick adjustment period, its nice to have the same interface on my PC and my smartphone. I love that everything automatically syncs. I am not worried about the app store, but then again, I don't need twenty games per day to play on my phone. All of the popular ones are already there and the ones that aren't will be soon. Don't be scared, try it and see.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


2nd Windows Phone

 

Apr 13, 2013 by Mikah

This phone is just beautiful. The feel is perfect, the camera is great. Came from the galaxy nexus, and had the Iphone 4s prior to that, 4 months later still the best phone I have had.

Pros: beautiful design, wireless charging, Microsoft office, people hub, battery life is amazing.

Cons: App store is still growing, missing a full notification center.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


verizon

 

Dec 29, 2012 by sungarf

I have had this phone for one month now. Though the app store is lacking it has all the major players. I love office 365 and the rooms feature. I came from a galaxy nexus and an iPhone previously and have to say my experience has been great. The audio sound fantastic. The screen size is perfect and the integration with my outlook.com account is flawless. I love the wireless charging and the sleek look. I really hope they get some good apps soon and a native navigation.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


HTC 8x Verizon - Missed expectations

 

Dec 8, 2012 by mike008us

I've had the phone 5 days, only connected to wifi as I wanted to test before activating and I will be returning as it will just be a bother to activate as it's failed on some key items. First off I'm an IT guy and huge windows MS fan and really wanted this to be great. The interface is great, but I have 3 reasons that prevent me from keeping this phone.

1-No swpye. I personally feel this is the fastest way to input text. Voice is great, but not always an option. I'm not going to type on a mini-keyboard when there's a better way.

2-Application store lacks common commercial apps. I think WP8 will take off and with this will come equal app development, but I don't want to wait with no guarantee.

3-Exchange mail client. I would have thought Microsoft could develop the best mail client for connecting to their mail server from their phone. Seriously, Exchange functionality on WP8 should be as good as Outlook is on Windows.

Back to Android for the next 2 years. I really hope MS gets this right next time I upgrade.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


8X

 

Nov 30, 2012 by GS

just recieved my new windows 8X phone and i love the speaker,however i hav always been using T-9 keybord
dialimng lay out. this phone only has T-9 from the mobli store 3rd party which does does not incorporate into the mobil 8 keypad. it uses a seperate application for phone numbers only and cannot see the the details for the contact. I will returning it because of this serious limitation for how i use T-9 dialing. Phones that show the keypad with the alpha letters on them that show the letters and cannot look up the contact to dial are only for show they should remove these alpha letters from the dialing pad if they are not usable. Sure, i can use the alphabet key board to type in on the 26 letters which are very small or the 1 thru 0 key pad with letters on them. which would prefer?

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

 
 
Page  1  of 1

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
2