Phone Scoop

printed August 1, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=3805&r=41106

Home  ›  Phones  ›  Samsung  ›

Samsung Galaxy S III (CDMA)

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  15  

Phone Scoop Review

4.5
Overall
4
Reception
4
Battery Life
4.5
Hardware Usability
4
Hardware Quality
5
Display
4.5
Interface Speed
4
Audio Volume
4
Camera
 
 

User Reviews

Average Ratings

3.96
Overall
4.3
Reception
3.3
Battery Life
4.2
Hardware Usability
4.1
Hardware Quality
4.2
Display
3.7
Interface Speed
4.2
Audio Volume
4.6
Camera
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      

Best Android Phone I have used!

 

Nov 6, 2012 by jamestan23

I began my Android journey with a Samsung Moment (Android 2.1), and followed up with a Samsung Epic 4G (Android 2.3). My experience improved when I upgraded to the Epic, but I only noticed a slight improvement in how clunky my Android user experience felt. I was intent on upgrading to an iPhone 5 but was let down by the lack of innovative progression between it and the 4 & 4s. Reviews of Android 4.0 led me to believe that I should give Android another shot and I am very happy that I decided to stick it out and not jump ship from the OS. This phone is the crown jewel of the Android platform and you will not regret owning it.

Pros:
- Beautiful large and vibrant OLED screen. The web experience is truly a pleasure
- User interface is fast and smooth as butter
- Super thin device with premium look and feel
- Very good battery life
- Unlimited customization options
- Great cameras (front and back)
- Sprint version was just updated to 4.1 Jelly Bean!
- Plenty of on-board internal memory (16 or 32gb) with the option to install SD card as high as 64gb
- Plenty of new intuitive shortcuts via hand motion
* Tap the top of phone and it auto-scrolls back to top
* Flip phone screen down and it auto-mutes
* Direct call someone from text (simply put to ear)
* and many many more!

Cons:
- Swype and auto-correct are not that great on S3
- While big screen is excellent for web experience, it makes one handed use a little tough
- Home button is a little awkward (mainly because it's so thin). It's a little hard to click on it in a hurry without consciously aiming for it every time
- Siri is notoriously unreliable, but S-voice is worse
- Google voice search errors out a little too often

Most of the cons I listed can potentially be fixed with future OS updates. Though I my issue with the slightly awkward home key is related mainly to the larger than life screen size. It's not the worst problem to have, but one I figured I should mention. Overall though, love it!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


1st Impressions - Not Impressed Buyers Remorse

 

Oct 11, 2012 by MadFatMan

My HTC EVO 4G Finally Gave up the ghost after being RUN HARD since May 2010...

I waited for the iPhone 5 - Disappointed in what Apple's offering was The HTC EVO LTE was another disappointment and I was going to hold out for the Note II but equipment failure forced my hand in an upgrade which is NEVER pleasant nor is it the feel good purchase that it should of been.

Pros- (1st Impressions Less Than a Few Hours)
- Screen
- Speed
- On Board Memory

Cons
- Thin "Plasticy" Slippery Feel
- Button Placement is awkward
- Too Much Samsung Bloatware
- Finger Print MAGNET

+++ There is not enough of a margin of difference between this device and the one I gave up the EVO 4G I feel that I was robbed of my upgrade due to a combination of my own circumstances and the lack of quality choices in the market,+++

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


Simply the BEST!!!

 

Sep 24, 2012 by quikfeat

Android/Samsung has closed the gap on the iPhone-looking at the specs, the only thing superior is Siri. Other than that the Galaxy S3 is fast, calls are clear, takes great pictures/video and has some additional features the IPhone 5 does not have such as NFC. I upgraded from the Galaxy S2 and had the great HTC Evo prior to that. There is not the big gap between an Android and an iPhone anymore and in some ways the Android may be better such as the front camera and the resolution on the screen is better although the pixel density of the iPhone 5 is a little better - not to mention the 4.8" screen. Decided on the Galaxy S3 after the iPhone 5 specs were released and wanted at least a 4.5" iPhone instead of just 4". Maybe iPhone 6 will have a bigger screen, until then Android/Samsung Rocks!!!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Simply put, the best out there

 

Sep 16, 2012 by DARRYJR

Let's begin by saying, I have had them all. Moment,hero,epic touch, Icrap , photon, s3. IMO this is the best out there.i see it is getting poor reviews on this site,the sprint version only, all other versions have much higher scores. Don't blame the phone for the network,phone is amazing. Sprint is in the progress of their lte upgrades,when this occurs I'd like to see what all the negatives turn into. The only negative for me is the wireless radio doesn't compare to the photon,which has an amazing radio in it.A lot of people complain about battery life, I use moderate to heavy and go full day and them some.plastic build, fine for me,the software this phone packs is worth it. Remove able battery, adding additional memory ,perfect.. I have nothing bad to say about this phone, it does it all. I am in ny and don't have lte yet, but am anxiously awaiting. Plus the fact the jellybean is around the corner, WOW, who could ask for more?

PROS.

Speed
Screen AMAZING
Size
Call quality
Easy to customize
User friendly
Battery , I get a full day plus with moderate to heavy use.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

Almost no difference between versions.

 

Sep 5, 2013 by tgc1980

Carrier: Virgin Mobile

I've briefly had at&t's S III and Verizon's S III. I had to let my Verizon version go due to finances (I had an "Amber Brown" color. Hard to find). I have Virgin Mobile's version because it was the least expensive "monthly" version to purchase out of them, Net 10, Straight Talk, Family Mobile, etc....

The ONLY thing I don't like is that it doesn't have mobile hotspot; whereas its older brother, the S II, does. Everything else is great. I might not always get 4G, but I still get a 3G that allows me to chat and surf simultaneously. All other pros you've read about are the same. I love it and if you can spare $349 plus the plan, then this is the phone for you. A high end phone at $60 a month ($55 a month and $5 for insurance) can't be beat.

God Bless.
TGC1980

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

Here's my two cents worth!

 

Aug 17, 2013 by patwackp

Carrier: Virgin Mobile

I use this phone on Virgin Mobile in Austin, Tx. Just bought it today (8-16-2013) at a Radio Shack in the Austin area.

It replaced an Apple iPhone 5, also used on Virgin.

Although I liked the iPhone, I find that this phone is much nicer to use overall because of the bigger screen and the fact that it links to all my google accounts (play, Gmail, Google).

I also like that Android stores your apps on your gmail account unlike iPhone. Makes downloading everything much easier.

I also like the larger screen. And the storage is better. (16 GB).

I downloaded almost 190 apps.

Yes I recommend this phone to everyone

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

Biggest purchase regret of my life.

 

Aug 8, 2013 by galaxyjoke

Carrier: Sprint

Don't be fooled--this phone is a piece of ****. I bought it because of a Black Friday deal and I don't even think it's worth the $60. It constantly lags, applications shut down randomly, the music apps are not user friendly whatsoever, the battery life is a joke and I can't see the screen in sunlight even in the slightest. I run for shade if I have to even make a phone call. Out of nowhere it started randomly kicking me out of applications and showing none of my apps (even on the toolbar) until I restart the phone. Keep in mind, you're charging your phone at least three times a day for these screw ups, even if you're a light user like me. Best part? I had these issues within six months of buying it. I've had the phone for 9 months and it has worse problems than the iPhone of 2 years I got rid of to get this piece of ****.

Android isn't user friendly AT ALL! It's THE most TEDIOUS operating system I've ever encountered. It asks you tons of pointless questions, like if you want to open a youtube video in the youtube app or on your browser, which happen more often than you'd think. Even after checking the "don't ask me this again" box it asks me the same stupid questions. The customizable options are ugly, generic and limited. Plus, if you're switching from Apple, you'll be SORELY disappointed in the app store. It's pathetic and outrageously expensive for simple apps.

The screen is the only upside to this phone, and that's if you're okay with it being attached to a cheap hunk of plastic. Sure, it's thin, but it's not worth the daily issues.

I really wish I would've paid full price for a new iPhone once mine was dead. Instead I'm stuck in a contract with a phone I hate. This phone is a joke. DON'T BUY IT! YOU WILL REGRET IT!

Ed. note: Removed profanity

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


AMAZING PHONE, RELIABLE, STABLE, CONSISTANTLY FAST

 

Mar 16, 2013 by memito90

I love my Samsung GS3! I just recieved the lastest OS ypdate for Jelly Bean and it just made my phone that much better. Prior to the update it would lag a wee big rarely, but Jelly Bean added so many tweaks in performance and user interface. I love it compared to the iPhone5. Clearest screen resolution I've ever seen and sound is INCREDIBLE!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Best Buy

 

Feb 7, 2013 by Phee03

BEST phone i have ever had. All my coworkers have iphone's and when i came to work with this phone they were all like i should have got the Galaxy S3!! I don't know much about phones but the galaxy is light, screen is clear and large. i have no cons with this phone only pro's!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Impressive!

 

Oct 30, 2012 by acdc1a

I've owned enough phones that tags like the best phone ever are over played. This phone is expensive at $499 outside of contract at Metro PCS. Is it worth it? For most I would say yes!

Pros:
- Battery is all day +
- Beautiful, big display
- No learning curve, everything is where it belongs
- Excellent call quality
- LTE works better on the Metro network than any other handset I've used

Cons:
- Price
- Feels cheap

I don't know how this phone will do in the long term. I do know that if I can get 18 months out of it then my total monthly cost with the phone and the plan is $57.77 for unlimited everything. Talk about a bargain!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

 
Page  1 23

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
2