Phone Scoop

printed December 22, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=3801&r=41035

Home  ›  Phones  ›  Samsung  ›

Samsung Galaxy S III (AT&T)

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  32  

Phone Scoop Review

4
Overall
3.5
Reception
4
Battery Life
4
Hardware Usability
3.5
Hardware Quality
4
Display
4.5
Interface Speed
3.5
Audio Volume
4
Camera
 
 

User Reviews

Average Ratings

4.3
Overall
4.5
Reception
3.75
Battery Life
4.83
Hardware Usability
4.67
Hardware Quality
4.17
Display
4.67
Interface Speed
4.25
Audio Volume
4.42
Camera
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      
Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

Disappointing but overall good.

 

Jan 10, 2013 by sgtpeppersband9   updated Jul 7, 2013

I was so excited about getting this device but it is just too disappointing. Let's get the good out of the way first. I never have a dropped call on this device and love its functionality especially after the Jelly Bean update (if you can get it/I'll explain in the bad). The camera is fantastic and love the ability to pause video while recording so you don't have to have separate videos that you can later crop into one. The NFC capabilities are such an awesome feature especially for easy share.

Now for the bad which outweighs the good. When using the motion gesture to make a call from the contact screen (you simply put the phone to your ear while on a contacts thread or the contact's info and it calls the contact). More often than not, this causes the phone to go into emergency calls only and must restart the phone. This was happening even before the 4.1.1 update. Another issue is using headphones. I don't use the headphones for music but I use an aux cable in my car which after playing a song on my car speakers through the stereo, it will resort to playing them on the phone's speaker. Samsung's support for this phone is ineffably horrible, they have no idea how to fix the issue for the phone not connecting via usb to Kies. Could not get 4.1.1 for like 2 weeks til I found a hack for Kies.

The phone's interface is smooth but key features just don't work. If you don't mind staying on ICS or the other issues I mentioned, by all means get this phone but if you demand more from a "flagship" phone, get a Nexus.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


The Galaxy BEAST is UNLEASHED!!!

 

Jul 31, 2012 by psykirkland

Ok let me start out by saying that I am a phone GURU! I have had so many phones in the past years and I have to say this is the absolute KING of phones yet! I loved my iphone 4S and I thought that the Galaxy SIII wouldn't be able to give it a run for it's money! Boy was I wrong! So let me give you the break down:

Pros:
Amazing 720p SuperAmoled display!
Awesome call quality!
Extremely loud speaker volume!
4.8 inch Huge screen!
I love the Home button!
8mp camera is indeed better than the 4S!
LED Notification!!!
4G+LTE finally!
4.0.4 ICS is Great(although a little buggy at the moment)
2GB of Ram makes this phone multitask like a piece of cake!
In Ear Buds are SHOCKINGLY impressive!!!

Cons:
Battery life is on par (it could totally be me for never putting it down)
Come on with the quad cores already (not a deal breaker)
Can make your hands sweat and get slippery so get a case for your precious Samsung device!

Those are my opinions and I Love this phone and I can't think of any other phone I would get!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


Best phone out as of 7/29/12

 

Jul 30, 2012 by sb_178

I have used many phones within the last 3 years, and I must say, this is by far the best. The GS2 was the best, in my opinion, but this phone adds a faster processor and more features. The lower-rated reviews either had bad phones, or are simply not accurate... for example, I have VVM on my phone, and my internet speeds run circles around any iphone, especially in LTE areas, obviously. This phone is slightly better than the One X in my opinion, because of the removable battery and expandable memory. Both phones have the S4 processor which is simply amazing, but the GS3 has more RAM. I love the screen, as it is readable in daylight (This particular Pen-tile screen is actually the best all-around screen I have seen as of today). HD+LED=Awesome. The iphone 4s just doesn't cut it, spec-wise; and to compare this phone to the i4 is just ridiculous. The I5 should catch up in regards to hardware, and from there, it will be preference between operating systems. But if you like Android, This phone is a must-see...

Pros: Battery life, Processor, LTE and HSPA+, screen, Camera is AWESOME. Quality and build feels better now, though the Galaxy phones have actually always been more durable than they feel..

Only complaint is Swipe on this phone, takes some getting used to... saves words that you typed incorrectly, and then swipes them on accident...

Also this is a large phone, but that aspect is opinion and perspective-based...

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Spectacular Phone

 

Jul 23, 2012 by Smartuser

I don't have a lot of time. But love the phone. It's absolutely amazing.

No cons.

Not sure what the guy, Mario, is complaining about, but that language is offensive and he doesn't make much sense. Sounds very immature. However, overall I love the phone and it's a spectacular device.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Dozens of Smart phones then the S3

 

Jul 18, 2012 by Pernel1983

I've had more than three dozen smart phones over the years starting with the early blackberry's to the Drod Razr Maxx LTE speeds (really does hit 20 mbps)
- The Galaxy Nexus -Interface with ice cream is another world
The samsung Galaxy S3 is Thin - REALLY THIN even in an Otterbox
-Screen/Colors - Makes all other smartphones look washed out
-Feels good in hand --> -Really stable

CONS:
-As with any smartphone, battery life

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Very solid choice for a phone, one of the best.

 

Jul 18, 2012 by saint303

Just replaced my Samsung Infuse 4g. Previously I had the Galaxy Note, Dell Streak 5, Htc Inspire, then Captivate, then Iphone 4, and 3gs and 3g. So I have a lot of experience with smartphones and various android updates. So far it has been awesome. I love the facial recognition unlock, the fluidity and speed as well. And screen size is comfortable. I have found accessories easily and cheap on a certain bidding site, and I feel that the weight is nice even with a case.

Pros:
Netflix
Battery life has been very good so far
OS runs nicely with no issues or freezing so far
Generous memory and first phone that can use up to 64gb sd card
Screen size is perfect
Home button is a nice change that works well
I have had better reception with less dropped calls in my usual spots with decent clarity
Very quick GPS acquisition
Touch Wiz works well, but I have always liked it
Easy set up of Gmail as always
Camera has a very fast shutter speed so you catch what you intend to
Has LED indicator finally!

Cons:
I have not found a con yet.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Great phone!

 

Jul 10, 2012 by pjhauser

Just replaced my Samsung Captivate with this phone and so far it has been amazing. Apps that used to stutter on my Captivate now are very fluid (e.g. Temple Run). At first I was going to wait for the next iPhone, but then after looking at the specs on this thing I couldn't image how the next iPhone could be better, given my desire for a larger screen.

Pros:
Battery life has been very good so far
OS runs silky smooth
Plenty of memory and slot if I need to add more
Huge gorgeous screen
Home button is physical (can wake the phone with it now)
Great call quality
Very quick GPS acquisition
Touch Wiz works well, don't need external launcher
Easy set up of Gmail and corporate mail / contacts
Camera very quick and easy to use, flash works well
Has LED indicator for missed calls, charging, charge complete, etc

Cons:
None for me, though for some folks this phone will be considered too large. If I was getting a phone just for phone calls I would get a smaller one, but I use mine for email/web/games/video, etc. so I'm okay with the size (but I just couldn't do a Galaxy Note...there's a limit!)

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

New to Android

 

Jul 8, 2012 by Johntxk   updated May 4, 2013

I traded in my 32 gig iPhone 4S for this phone on Friday. My main reason was simply for screen size. The 4.8 inch screen is much easier on my middle aged eyes.

I'm now discovering the ease of the Android os and am looking forward to the Jellybean upgrade. With the new google maps I cancelled my AT&T navigation which is a savings in itself.

The Bluetooth streams music to my Dodge truck u-connect without the annoying skipping after receiving a text. So I have now put my auxiliary wire away.

The ability to group contacts beyond favorites only is a bonus for me as I have 100s of business contacts as well as co-workers, friends and family.

I'm still learning about the other advances but having had three Blackberry phones and two iPhones I have to say this is the best so far.

Pros: screen size, Bluetooth, os

Cons: none that I can think of. The battery is still better than my iPhone

Update: after almost a year with the phone I can say it was a very good device. However, the battery life was rather short. I turned off the location setting on Google+ and that helped. I just switched to HTC1 and the screen is extremely better than the Samsung.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Perfect!!!

 

Jul 7, 2012 by klconway422

I love this phone!! I had a first gen Galaxy, AT&T Captivate, and had so many problems with it freezing and slow download speeds. This is definitely an upgrade for me. I have been waiting for this phone to come out and I am so glad that I did!!

Pros:
Screen size and quality
Smooth design
Camera
Download speeds
New Samsung features
Very smooth and easy to use

Cons:
NONE!!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Overall  
Reception  
Battery Life  
Hardware Usability  
Hardware Quality  
Display  
Interface Speed  
Audio Volume  
Camera  
hide detailed ratings

The Galaxy S III: The Superphone of Galactic Proportions!

 

Jul 27, 2012 by t3chn0s1s   updated May 3, 2013

Ever since the original AT&T Galaxy S Captivate I was hooked. The Captivate was my first Android smartphone. I've also had a Galaxy S II Skyrocket , a Galaxy Nexus as well as a One X. While all of those devices were SO SWEET in their own respects the Galaxy S III blows them ALL out of the water hands down. The 2GB of RAM makes this device FLY and lightning fast speeds. There isn't one bit of stutter or lag. All the motion controls are SO useful and EASY to operate. The S Voice app is OK even tho I don't use it much but it's still nice to have but Google Now is my preferred choice. I just can't say enough good things about this handset. However, every handset has it's pros and cons. And the major cons of this device are the AMOLED display which you can hardly see outside in sunlight unless you crank up the brightness completely. Battery life is OK. I can barely make it thru a day without having to recharge so I typically carry a spare around if I know I'm going to be out for awhile. The build quality.... well Samsung really screwed up there. The glossy plastic body is not only prone to fingerprints but it also is easily scratched and MUST be protected with a case at all times. I really wish Samsung would take a note from HTC's book in terms of build materials. I realize plastic weighs less but I want a device that doesn't feel cheap. Overall though, this is a worthy device and I don't regret purchasing it.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

 
Page  1 23

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
1