Phone Scoop

printed December 19, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=3468

Home  ›  Phones  ›  HTC  ›

HTC Radar

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  3  

Average Ratings

3.71
Overall
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      

HTC Radar 4G Review

 

Dec 29, 2011 by Boogsephine

I work for T-Mobile and HTC gave me this phone to use right when it came out. This is supposedly their 'break out' 4G phone with Windows Mobile 7.5 to compete with the other carriers Windows devices.

I was excited to try out this phone as I have tested numerous phones for T-Mobile in the past.

Setting up the phone was fairly simple as the tiles can easily be reorganized and or removed from the home screen. Just like any other phone, you must have some kind of e-mail address that is linked to the creator of the phone (Windows Live in this case). I entered my Live e-mail address and it was up and running. I added in my GMail account and all of contacts were synced up to the phone.

Without beating a dead horse and writing a 30 page review, I'll give my pro and cons of phone and hopefully this will help with your decision in buying this phone or waiting for the next Windows Mobile device to be released.

Pros:
- Light weight and a nice design
- Tiles are easy to organize
- Internet is pretty quick when in good coverage areas
- Keyboard is very responsive and predictable when composing SMS or e-mail
- Dedicated camera button

Cons:
- Internal memory is very low for music and picture storage
- No SD card slot for memory exansion
- Drops calls frequently
- No Wi-Fi calling
- Speaker phone is crackly and very unclear
- No Pandora access; must use Slacker
- Many Google applications are not available

All in all, the phone is very easy to use and does quite well when in an area with great coverage but when entering an area with low signal, it drops the calls frequently.

I am a big music and video buff so this phone isn't really suited for me. I would honestly say this is a great entry level smart phone but not one for people that are used to the Android, Blackberry or iOS interface.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Amazing Screen, Blazing fast with Windows Phone 7.5

 

Nov 3, 2011 by newjerseybrotha

There are tons of things to say about this phone, but I will keep it short and to the point.

Pros:
Beautiful design
Screen size
Smooth OS
Fast OS
Great camera Front and rear
Build quality is FANTASTIC
Compact
Internet is fast on T-Mobile's network
Speaker is loud and clear when playing music or videos
Screen very responsive
Battery is good
and the list goes on and on...

Cons:
Speakerphone is not very loud
Needs more memory
Bigger battery would have been nice

Bottom line, this phone is well worth it. If you are looking to get a nice Windows Phone 7 device, look no further. T-Mobile has a great looking device, and it's just amazing. I highly recommend this phone.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


I love this phone

 

Feb 15, 2012 by kokoatae

I have used pretty much every phone from Iphone to Android, and I have switched to this phone and will never go back. This phone is amazing, and smooth and works. Only one market for apps compared to the ANDROID market nightmare. From out of the box it was smooth and easy to setup. Enter an email account it adds and your contacts, no fuss or problematic IMAP support like with ANDROID gingerbread. Apple talks about 400k plus apps but half of them are shat you don't want. I love the metro interface. Everything is customizable with it. Just press and hold a square and then you can move it or delete it from home screen.. No mess of trying to figure out what screen the app shortcut went to like with android. No worries of running out of space like with IPHONE. Oh and not once has a call dropped like with the IPHONEs and att service. Tmobile, HTC and Windows Phone 7 are a great blend in this phone.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Great phone

 

Feb 2, 2012 by dawnee

Really awesome phone. I've had blackberry, IPhone and android. The radar has surpassed my expectations and is the best phone i have had up to this point.

Pros:
Great reception
Front facing camera
SharePoint services built in
Very easy to navigate
Battery life is unbelievable
Great speaker quality

Cons:
Pretty small apps market for those who love apps
Limited music options
No SD card slot, 25Gig Sky drive

Over all would highly recommend phone. Great experience thus far.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Dissapointed

 

Jan 30, 2012 by beccalovesny

Ok so I've been an android user ever since androids been available and my previous device was the HTC Mytouch 4G I loved it it was a good phone, wouldn't say it gave me too much trouble other then the random restart here and there, but anyways my review is on the HTC Radar, so PROS: I liked the look of the phone the design is sleek and I a fan of an all white phone, its slender to where the screen is not to big not to small perfect for hand held use unlike some of the tablet sized androids that they're making these days, so cosmetically I like it. Its responsive on the screen and quality isn't too bad. Also its a fast at accessing the Internet on Tmobiles network. So if you like Windows 7 Platform not a bad phone.

Now CONS: With my old HTC browsing the web was a breeze not a problem when i first went to check my social websites they were automatically placed in the mobile version i had to hunt through the settings to modify this. Also the camera i feel isnt so good my old HTC had more editing options as to the Radar I had to download a separate app for this, which by the way if your used to the great Android market be prepared for disappointed in Windows market such a let down!

So I will be going back to an android device and back to a "real phone, and taking the phone back i just got it yesterday hopefully i can get them to waive 50.00 restock fee which i doubt!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


WOW! What a phone!

 

Dec 7, 2011 by tmain04

I'm gonna make this short and sweet. I would never would have used another Windows Phone until Mango 7.5 and thte Radar came out.

Pros:
Great User Interface
Easy to sync
Camera
Apps
Battery Life
Ergonomics

Cons:
No wifi calling
No Pandora radio app (use Last.fm or Slacker)
Limited accessories

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Needs work...

 

Nov 12, 2011 by halfdeaf

This is the 1st. Windows Phone that I have used. Really liked how the WP7 UI looks and works, I had no problem catching on, Very intuitive and well thought out. Fast, both UI and Web browsing. Camera works well, nice pics !
Build quality is great, Gorilla Glass in front & Aluminum body feels strong. Battery life is very good....
Now my gripes, (1) Reception on T-Mo was so-so. Missed calls & Dropped calls.. not impressed at all. Didn't have this issues with my BlackBerry or Moto Defy on T-Mo.. (2) Horrible sound. Trying to hear someone through the ear piece is Very Fuzzy and Tinny, lots of static. Swapped for 2nd Radar, Same thing, fuzzy and Tinny. I don't have the best hearing so the phone had to go back, too bad so sad.

Pro:
Great Metro UI
Keyboard
Camera
Battery Life

Cons:
Horrible sound quality
Dropped calls
No speed dialing
HTC Hub, worthless.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

 
 
Page  1  of 1

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
2