Phone Scoop

printed October 20, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=342&s=h&p=3

Home  ›  Phones  ›  Palm  ›

Palm Treo 600 (CDMA)

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  100+  

Average Ratings

3.24
Overall
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      
Page 12 3 4

Treo 600 Review

 

Jun 20, 2008 by Incnway5

Sprint: Love this phone!

Pros:
*Nice call quality
*Down-loadable programs
*Nice keyboard
*Nice feel
*Lasting battery
*Reset switch on back
*"Non-Wireless Mode" (Airplane)
*Love the syncing ability with desktop
*Mobile e-mail
*SMS thread
*IR port is awesome

Cons:
*Not real ring tones
*Size
*Antenna
*No music player (had to download one)
*No video software (had to download)

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


"No Service"

 

Jul 24, 2006 by reobrien41

I have had my Treo 600 since Dec 2004. It has worked very well until 2 weeks ago. I get a "no service" and dropped calls all the time now, even with 3 to 4 bars of signal strength. After a dozen calls to Sprint I still had not solved the problem until I spoke with a friend who has the same phone. He was having the same issue at the same time as me. The fix was simple. Call Sprint and ask for a update to the PRL Rev number(Preferred Roaming List). This tells the phone which towers to go to. My number was PRL Rev 10024. The current one is 10033. This instantly fixed my problem.

What is really annoying is that Sprint could not figure this out and simply fix it. In addition they wanted to charge me a fee to look at my phone at their store even though it was their software update. BEWARE: Sprint has a new policy, if you have your phone for more than one year and you don't didn't buy service insurance, they will charge you 15 to 50 dollars to look at your phone. They do not notify customers of updates. They expect you to call *2 periodically to check for updates and that is not always reliable. When my contract is up, I'm switching to Verizon.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


Good PDA, Terrible Phone

 

Aug 10, 2005 by Metcalfe 1963

PDA features great. syncs well with computer and easy to use. Phone reception is terrible. Admittedly I live in a fringe area but the old Sanyo 8100 worked very well on the Sprint network. Would have 3 bars with it at home and never lost a call. One bar with the Treo and have to go outside to get that and constantly drop calls. Ready to sell and start over.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


cheapest phone on earth

 

May 25, 2005 by arment123

I had this phone for 4 weeks and it started to freeze on my so I had to use the reset button once a day then after a week I began to use the reset button every time I had to make a call and sometimes when a call came in I would press answer it will freeze. The only thing that I like on this phone was the synchronizer it is very fast. The speaker on this phone is horrible you have to turn it down so you can under stand what they are saying. Plus when you put the phone on to your ear its really hard to listen because there is a big bump on the ear peace making it hard to find the right spot. I prefer not to buy this phone it really sucked oh and after resetting the phone every single day it suddenly turned off on my and never came on.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Treo's are the gods of cell phones!

 

May 2, 2005 by the2ndflood

I have used the Treo's 300, 600 and now the 650. Not to mention a T-Mobile Sidekick, the AT&T Motorola MPX, a Nextel Blackberry, a Samsung i600, and Treo's are the absolute gods of cell phones!!! The Palm source OS software is very stable, much more then Microsoft's Pocket PC. The battery life on the Treo 600 & 650 is insane! Often times when I'm home laying in bed, I will search the Internet for hours and hours and these phones will still have more then enough battery power to go for a few more hours. When it comes to talk time I have gotten more then five hours talk time on the Treo 600 & 650. There is so many programs for the Palm source software, that you will be able to max out the performance on these phones. I use a program called "ZLauncher" which allows me to see the exact signal purity in any given location, and I have found I get signals in places where my LG and Sanyo would not. And because I use Sprint PCS's $10 unlimited Visions access with my Treo 600, I never have to worry about going over any data plan rate. I will remain a loyal Palmone and Sprint PCS customer for a long time to come!

The only problem I have with PalmOne is over price. I wish the Treo's were cheaper. Other then that, I have never had a major problem with my Treo's.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


I LOVE my Treo 600

 

Oct 8, 2004 by dodycats

I really like this smart phone. Will never go back to a dual pda and phone system -- it's so convenient to have it all in one unit. Easy to use and nice and compact. I just wish it had a better camera but can live without that. Calendar, phone book, to do list, and telephone features easy to use and just like my Tungsten C which I loved....but convergence is such a kick.

GO GET THIS PHONE NOW!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Frustrating

 

Sep 15, 2004 by jughead

My company got these with the Sprint Service (which has also been very disappointing here in Southern CA). While I can maybe blame frequent dropped on calls on Sprint, the product failure rate is a collasal problem. The earpierces keep failing. I'm on my second unit in 3 months and another member of my company is on unit #4.

The every-other-day self reboot is extremely frustrating as it happens of course when your trying to do something. My fingers are small, so I can manage the keyboard, but guys with average fingers and larger should definitely test drive before committing.

There's no jog dial like on a Blackberry, and the interface isn't to my personal liking.

The phone reception / call performance is terrible, so I carry around my personal Verizon V60 (2+ years old) and rely on it for failsafe back-up when important calls get dropped.

Conclusion: As a rep to my tech company, the multitude of problems with this thing makes me look bad.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Great phone and Sprint is best carrier

 

Sep 9, 2004 by Chilson

I have been with Sprint for almost a year and they have been great. Great customer care, in the store and on the phone. They have supported my wife and I in every area we have needed help.

The phone, I have had my Treo 600 for almost a month now.
Signal strength is the greatest, best I have had, I can get calls in places I never could before.

E-mail, Web, text messaging, sync with Outlook, keep all my contacts and schedule in one place all the time.

Size and weight are perfect.

Battery life couldn't be better for this type of phone. Learn to keep a car charger and desk top charger handy and you will never have a problem. I use the phone all day for calls and e-mail, I just put it on the charger when I driving or in my office, I have never run short of power. Much better than my Treo 300.

The camera, I did not get the phone for pictures, but if you do it takes OK pictures not great. If you want great pictures get a real camera.

The phone is fast and easy to use. You can use it almost with one hand.

If you want a phone that keeps you from carrying a palm and a phone, and can send and receive e-mails fast, this is the one for you. And Sprint is your carrier.

At this time I can't find any con's about this phone. For the price and what it does for a busy person it is the best phone yet.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Treo 600

 

Aug 23, 2004 by tbagr

Well, got my new Treo 600 on Friday (8/20, Verizon) and had the weekend to play with it and use it. It is fair to say that it is very hard to get used. Was using the LG VX-6000 before and an IPAQ, wanted to try to combine in one phone.
Pro's:
All-in-one portability.
easy text / email usage.
Email on the run.
Can dial any contact from Outlook.
Sync works fairly well.
Speakerphone is nice. good sound, first time I have ever had that feature.
Good manual.
Expandability (SD card)
Small for PDA / Phone!
Battery life seems okay.

Con's:
No voice dialing (I know Verizon has that feature but at $5 - $6 per month)
Screen is sub par, poor resolution, especially with pics. Although, the pics are fine when emailed.
Speakerphone option locked up already (day 2) and had to hard reset (lost everything but sync restored all.)
Navigation is a little hard to get used to at first, especially coming from an IPAQ environment.
At times, I feel as if I am hitting 100 buttons to do little tasks.
Not sure the reception is as good as my VX6000.....????
No graffiti software.

Typing on the Treo is not too bad. If you have big thumbs....forget about it!

Got used to holding to my ear pretty quick, hard to locate the ear piece at first.

Will be cussing at the thing if I hit the screen on something due to NO protection. Thank God for insurance.

Will update soon or email me if seriously considering it. (millwrit@mchsi.com) Got mine for $349 direct from Verizon. I didn't qualify for the new every two, they made an exception b/c of our account. Kudos to VRZ!

TBAGR

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Missing One Critical Thing - Voice Dialing!

 

Aug 3, 2004 by PS1966

Pros: Many features
Cons: No Voice Dialing, Useless Phone Keypad, Not Bluetooth Compatible

I currently own a Kyocera 6035. It has more than exceeded my expectations. I read many of the TREO 600 reviews and waited patiently for Verizon to release it (Sprint offered it several months ago).

Well I picked it up the other day, and I returned it today. Boy was I disappointed!!!! I accepted the fact that it was not Bluetooth compatible, but it was missing a more CRITICAL feature - Voice Dialing. I have to say it was a deal breaker for me. In my opinion, voice dialing is a basic phone feature. Without it, 50% of the Treo is useless to me! For $449, it's not worth it. Well, I guess it's back to the drawing board... :(

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

Page 12 3 4

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
2