Phone Scoop

printed September 2, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=293&s=h&p=4

Home  ›  Phones  ›  Sanyo  ›

Sanyo SCP-8100

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  48  

Average Ratings

4.04
Overall
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      
Page 123 4 567...10

Excellent

 

Oct 9, 2006 by techontrack

This phone displays its high quality manufacturing by delivering a solid set of features along with dependable, clear calls. I enjoy using this phone daily with my busy schedule as I never have to worry about it failing to get me a call. I have worked with many phones through my job (on-call PC support tech), and I cannot find any phone that comes close to the durability of this phone. Sanyo shows that they think through where things go for ease of use, and they also plan out how the menu system works. Each of these decisions makes for quick access for the user to a wealth of options on the phone. Sanyo really puts the time into making their phones, so make sure to check them out at the store, and compare them to Samsung, LG, etc. You won't be let down...

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Excellent phone....even in 2006!

 

Apr 14, 2006 by southwestm81

I've had this phone for several months now and it has been fantastic. I've been using it on the Bell and MTS Mobility networks. It has great reception, very speedy when web browsing, very good battery life, even with a lot of internet use. This is my first Sanyo and I am quite impressed (I've otherwise been a loyal Samsung user...I've also owned Nokia, LG,and Motorola (blech!) phones. Here's the thing about the text messaging business, since some people in their reviews says it works to a "t" and others say it works like crap (ie. having to go on to the internet to send or recieve messages):

The phone CAN do SMS texting (even though in the Specs. right here on Phone scoop says it can't, it actually can). It strictly depends on the service provider.

Sprint, seems to have programmed the phone to do not be able to send SMS and having the user log onto Vision to get anywhere (at least this seems to be the concensus here). The software that Sprint had the loaded onto the phone is provisioned to function in a certain manner. Unfortunately, it appears that it functions in a manner that is negative for the user (but gives Sprint extra $$$). Some SPrint users seem to have fixed the texting problem, but for most it seems like it is still a problem.

In Canada, Bell Mobility carried this phone and there are still plenty in circulation. MTS, a Bell alliance partner also supports the phone. On both Bell and MTS, the SMS works perfectly...as it normally should. So it is strictly a service provider issue.

That asides, while on the larger side (quite the contrast sitting it down next to a Samsung SPH/VM-A680. But it does feel good in the hand and is more compact than the A600 (though the camera is not as good). But what do you expect, the camera is from 2003. But 3 years later and the camera is still decent, in terms of image quality, but not as good as say the A600, A680....two phones for comparison. Ringer volume and ear piece volume beat out the rest. Sanyo deilvers on my first try!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


My First Sanyo...

 

Feb 3, 2006 by wellthoughtout

As the title says...This phone is my first experience with Sanyo. Sanyo phones are not nearly as common place in Canada, as in The USA.
Too Bad. After using most every Brand of phone out there I would have to agree with many others on this site; Sanyo makes one of the Best CDMA phones in the world.

PROS:

-FANTASTIC Reception(A phones most important Attribute)
-Good Battery Life.
-Very Good Vibrate Mode.(not always a Given)
-Solid Build Quality
-Good, First Generation camera.
-Well thought out easy to use menu.

Nothing Negative to say, really. I do have to say that the phone is abit Chubby though. I'am sure Sanyo will address this in the Next Generation model.Thin is in...

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


good starter phone

 

Jan 31, 2006 by my best friend Jack

pros.
decent camera
voice dialing
sound quality

cons.
insanely slow txt program
mobile web is slow
one hinge broke for no apparent reason

Overall this is a good phone if you want a BASIC camera phone. The one thing I don't like is the slow texting. This phone should be pretty cheap by now. Sprint is an alright company except when they tell you that you get free roaming, and see roaming charges on your bill. Now that I work for Verizon I now realize that this was a foolish mistake.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Cool Phone

 

Sep 22, 2005 by Shawna

I've had this phone for two years and I like it. It doesn't have speaker phone, and I want it, but I don't really care. This phone is cool. It's one for the older models, but it's still cool.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Decent gimmicks, poor quality consistency

 

Aug 29, 2005 by Knightsong

The phone is quite fun, has a decent camera and goodies at the time of sale 2 years ago. However, battery life is not so good and clarity of talk can be at times frustrating.

Pros: Goodies, looks, and internet usability.

Cons: Call quality, battery life (essentials for a standard phone)

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


GREAT PHONE!

 

Dec 2, 2004 by kelz

I think this phone is amazing!
The picture quality is really really clear and there is nothing wrong with the sound.
it is a bit chunky but its a really good phone and i think evryone should own one!including u Xia!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


This is a prett cool phone

 

Sep 25, 2004 by jd627

Well i have to say this is if not the best cell phone out there. I am only 14 and i have had five cell phones so far and this one is the best. I have spront as my carrier, and the sound is great, the features are great. The durability of the phone is with out question the best ex: when i was at my cousins house i fell in there pool, clothes, shoes, and my CELL PHONE... i thought it was gone forever, but 2 weeks later after it dried it turned right back on. The only con i would give about this phone is text messaging is a pain because you have to go on the wireless web and go o messaging, short mail, and it just takes a while, so if you are a really big text messager.. i wouldnt get this phone. The camera is ok not the main use for the phone, great uploading system fo you pics. but everything else is pretty great. i am thinking about getting the nokia 6225 soon tough cuz this phone is boring now.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Bored VERY easily..

 

Sep 8, 2004 by mstropoli1

I purchased the Nokia 3585i phone last April after my mom promised to get me a new cell phone for passing my driver's test. I loved the Nokia, and my mom decided to purchase a whole new plan on Sprint, so all three of us got new phones. The plan included text messaging, Internet, etc. Well, the Nokia didn't have all that, so I complained and I got a $250 rebate on the Sanyo 8100. I loved it.. at first. I'm all into the whole camera, ring tones, technology kind of thing. But, I get bored VERY easily, so I began to ABSOLUTELY HATE this phone. Just recently, the antenna kept unwinding.. so I had decided to take matters into my own hands and crazy glue it back together. Wrong. Now, the antenna is permanently extended, and it won't budge. I'm totally depressed about it. Now, I hate this phone even more. Luckily, I will have the phone for 18 months in November and I will be able to change it for another. I strongly discourage anyone from buying this phone if you are a gadget freak like me. It's a cute design and small and compact. The camera, however, is lousy. There's no zoom, no flash and it comes out blotchy usually, if you don't get a great view. I fell in love with this phone, but now, we need to go our separate ways. 2 out of 5 for cuteness and size. P.S. - I hate the clicking sound, too, when you close it.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


For The Price of Phone Not To Bad

 

Aug 24, 2004 by bellinalberta

Well for the price of this phone its not bad! Bell has it as well in Canada and it works very well. The one nice thing about this phone is that does have the camera to it, all the workers can use it and the phone takes the abuse of the guys. Some have been muddy, wet, dropped from good heights and the phones still work! Its about time that they a phone that can take it.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

Page 123 4 567...10

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
2