Phone Scoop

printed October 23, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=2769

Home  ›  Phones  ›  Casio  ›

Casio G'zOne Ravine

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  13  

Phone Scoop Review


User Reviews

Average Ratings

3.64
Overall
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      

Finally got it right!

 

Oct 18, 2010 by tgremes

I've had the phone for two weeks now. I'll qualify this review by saying I've owned the Type V, the Boulder, and the Brigade (for two painful weeks.) I loved the Type V, the Boulder was ok but took a definite step backward, and the Brigade was a poor attempt to make a ruggidized smart phone. The Ravine has taken MOST of the problems of the past and addressed them. PROs - 1) Speaker. The Ravine's speaker is clear and loud...both when on speaker and using the ear peice. I work in a loud mining environment and I can actually hear the other person when talking. 2) Charging. They moved the charger to the side and made the opening for the connection larger (much like the Brigade). It still has the cradle, which I love, but you can still use just the cord. 3) The Internet is suprisingly fast...something I didn't expect, not Droid or Iphone fast, but pretty good. 4) Bluetooth connects NOW! My Boulder took a while to connect. Of course the durability is awesome, again dirty, wet, dusty mining environment, no problems. CONs - 1) Battery life. It's not as advertised...but it lasts two and a half days between charges for me and that's plenty. 2) Appearance. Not a con really it looks kind of cheap, but its been tough as nails. I really like this phone and highly recommend it to the outdoor/hardworking man or woman out there. Hope this helps.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


A Basic user finds this a fine phone

 

Jan 16, 2013 by billski

Yes, it's been 20 months since I bought it, but it seems that most of the reviews apply to version 2 as well.

I use mine mostly for talking and *receiving* text messages. I use bluetooth all the time, about 4-5 hours of conference calls per day. I've had four various bluetooth devices, which I love to hate. Right now I'm using a headphone-style over ear set. It's great for those hours on con calls in front of the puter. This phone has tolerated all of them well. I digress.

I'll echo what everyone else about overall impressions. I created and downloaded my own ringtone. I use it in very noisy environments. I needed it loud.

I always take it on hikes of 6-9 hours in national forests. It's been dropped, and I've lost signal a lot, so I have to be careful to shut it off. I would prefer to see the phone in some florescent color, so I can find it when dropped between boulders.

It's always in my pocket for downhill skiing. I take my share of spills, but the phone is always good. I keep it close to my body to preserve the battery life. With a loud ringer, I can hear it through my jacket. I never answer it when I'm skiing. Only stopped. doh.

Speed dials work well. Wish there was a way to for it to call up frequently texted numbers to send to. I usually just go to the sent box and grab one there.

I have no issue with the bulkiness. I'm not in a field where image counts very much... serious.

I played with the music system on the phone for a week, but abandoned it in favor of my iPod.

Wish there was a way to disable the side buttons entirely
The bottom button always triggers off voice recognition, and I haven't found a way to disable it.

Buy again. Yes, with a few tweaks.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


use of gzone ravine

 

Nov 29, 2011 by du

I have just received my new phone, battery life is short, directions for use are almost useless, phone seems to need to enter and reenter to accept new commands. the fonts are excellent and hopefully the ruggedness makes up for the short comings of phone. texting is complicated with no instructions, doesn't work like my samsung

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Ravine Casio

 

Jul 1, 2011 by bryansk1

Terrific phone with only SMALL problems, i.e. the party on the other end could hear me as though I was underwater. Before I got this phoneI used Baragge where I could be heard talking over the phone with 100% degree of clarity. As soon as I get this wonder phone, everewhere where I used to have great connection with my previous baragge phone, was not the case with Ravine, i.e. the line was always breaking up. Again, almost everywhere the quality of my voice people heard while I was talking over this phone was disaster. Being terrificly design for use, paradoxicaly can not be used. Verizon oferred me to exchange this phone with continuation of 2 year contract-no way, I do not trust this phone any more. Guys, be careful using this device, if something happening in terms of clarity of reception, do not blame please your ears, there is no plugs there, but rather in phone's microphone.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Great rugged phone for former Nextel users like me.

 

Dec 15, 2010 by Cellular Phone

Sprint/Nextel has poor coverage in my new area where I now live, so when shopping around for good rugged phones, I came across this one at a local Verizon store.

I immediately fell in love with this device. The phone is rock solid tough and it gets great reception. It fits comfortably in my hand and Verizon even had a leather fitted case for added protection. The features are good for being a non-smartphone. Overall it is a solid performer and is a great handset for any former Nextel customers who want a PTT rugged phone with reliable service.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Once again AMAZING

 

Nov 16, 2010 by narn3049

Casio YOU HAVE DONE IT AGAIN. Amazing phone.

I will be getting the Accolade in a couple of months, technically xmas but I wanted to share my opinion on this phone first. It is a personal upgrade to the Boulder. I never owned the rock, but a buddy did. The ravine is all the same durable, has a 3.0 camera instead of the 1.3 that was on the Boulder. I like that the battery is better, and isn't even an extended-life-battery. I love this phone. Especially the charging stand which should eliminate the problem of broken charger ports? Overall awesome phone that I'd get if your into durable stuff.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


the casio!!

 

Oct 17, 2010 by flamingspike

i have the phone for almost a week i like the phone.I was originally going to get the casio g'zone rock but it was discontinued before i could get it.i just switch from ATT to Verizon love Verizon already great service.I live in plainville ct USA for service either.
pros:
good call quality, great loud speaker phone. good and easy bluetooth.really fast, threaded texting.super tools use.connect to the pc unlike the rock. has ptt (have not use it to much)but seem really good and useful.the phone locks when you flip the phone closed and you have the choice to have the phone lock so the out side button are not press. the side button reads unread message if you chooses to have the phone read it.voice memo talk. good to have :|very loud vibration.also let you know by vibrations that it done and a message pops up saying the same thing.
cons:
voice memo/commands have to talk really slow but even then it misunderstand you some times
the battery life sucks i charge it the first night after the phone was setup and my contacts were in it started blinking because i use it all day.the next day it was full charge and just use my phone few times and one or 2 phone call maybe both 30 to 45 minutes and the battery i will need to charge tonight i have not charge it since Friday and today is Sunday but still it should hold more than a few days.it has a memory card slot but it is under the battery you have to shut off the phone to take the card in and out.(but the reason it located there is because it a water proof or resistance phone so needs to be in a place where the water won't damage it.have to pay for internet 9.99 but its ok. i think you can choice not to have it but i wanted it.
all in all i love this phone i think it is my best phone i have had. only thing is i wish the battery was better,but i better they will release a better one soon like what they did for the boulder and rock.so if you are looking for a great phone i would recommended this phone for everyone that need a good phone

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

 
 
Page  1  of 1

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
2