Phone Scoop

printed October 21, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=2491

Home  ›  Phones  ›  Casio  ›

Casio G'zOne Rock

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  8  

Average Ratings

3.25
Overall
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      

Its a Rock!

 

Dec 5, 2009 by bogger44fl1

Pros
Excellent build
Great sound, headset and speaker!
Loud ringers
Crisp clear bright display
Awesome look
Charge cradle incl.
Battery seems good I charge every night regardless of phone.
Good reception
Works great with bluetooth
Camera has flash
Easy to text
Push button open... Just like my old Nextel.
Looks again.....
Gz Gear
GPS Nav. talk instead of type in Nav.

Cons
I wish it used micro USB charger
Restricted web access. No Youtube
Charger plug on side not bottom
2.5 mm jack instead of 3.5 mm.
SD card under battery.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Tough!

 

Dec 4, 2009 by 3watts

I stopped by my local agent and the manager gave me a brutal demonstration of the phone. He brought me to the back and threw a brand new model in the dirty toilet. He took it out with his bare hands and proceeded to throw it on the tile floor and stomp on it.

I was in total shock! He washed the nastiness off of it and put it back in the box...dripping wet! Of course, I didn't buy that one but did get a brand new one. So far it's been great. Much thinner than the Boulder and the all black color makes me feel like batman. I just feel bad for the person that gets the one he demonstrated as it was one of the dirtiest toilets I've ever seen!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


not happy

 

Jan 5, 2011 by nat1rn

I post review a cpl of weeks after i had it ,,,but it went down hill from there.....Had it for 1 yr and 2 days and it died!..software issues...Stated phone company..had to file claim...$40 buks more....very sluggish txt,,,wrong ID appeared when called or being called....had software up date last 6 months ago...did not help....poor memory...you have to buy a card........
Pro...water resistant...but so is a rock!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Calendar Alerts need work

 

Jul 13, 2010 by rcmch

I have had this phone for about a month and like the G'zOne Gear features. However, I have several issues with the phone which are likely Verizon issues more than Casio issues but should be addressed.

I am a very frequent user of the calendar alert feature to remember almost everything (yeah, age issues). Unfortunately, the alert feature does not function the way my previous phones (most recent LG VX 4650 for 6 years) operated and cause me to miss reminders.

Calendar Alert Issues
1) Must change start and stop times if setting alert in future. Previous phone used a constant time difference to move end time forward as start time was adjusted.
2) Alert defaults to 15 minutes before start time. Should be customizable. I would prefer alert to sound "On Time"
3) No Snooze for calendar alerts
4) Color contrast for time/date setting is horrendous. Black numbers over dark blue background.

Caller ID Font for name is tiny. Hard to see for aging eyes. Caller ID Font for numbers is adjustable and readably sized.

Alarm Clock goes to off instead of reseting for next use. If adjusting alert time must remember to turn alarm ON or else will not sound.

Like the quick alarm on previous phone. This phone does not have. Quick alarm allowed setting alert for 10/30 minutes or 1/3 hours.

Time/Date font upon opening phone is white. Light colored/white background means cannot not see date/time.

Both displays have glare/contrast issues in sunlight.

Recommend phone for G'zOne Gear or if above issues do not bother you.

Will be calling Verizon repeatedly until some of these issues are addressed for this phone and other phones.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Soft ware update at store 2/18/10

 

Feb 19, 2010 by 007Runner

I just had a software update done at a Verizon store. I never experienced wrong numbers on caller ID, but this update is supposed to fix this and other issues the phone has that I was not aware of. The phone did freeze up on me one time after a call. This was the reason I brought it to the store. I was told the update did not include freezing up problems with the phone. This only happened to me one time. The phone froze up completely. I actually needed to remove the battery. No buttons at all would work. After putting the battery back in, the phone worked normally, and the phone has not froze up again.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


wrong name and number come up on screen

 

Jan 18, 2010 by vicky8f

This is my second Rock since December 2. 2009. The both phones have the same issues. when someone is calling me, a different contact picture comes up on the inside screen and yet different number saying who is calling me...........but the correct number of the person who is calling me is there on the bottom of the screen. Also when I try to call one of my contact, it does the same thing....shows another contact picture with another contacts phone number that I'm trying to call.....very frustrating!!! I had the phone trouble shooted at the Verizon store and they can't find anything wrong with it. Does anyone else have this problem??

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

 
 
Page  1  of 1

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
2