Phone Scoop

printed April 17, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=248

Home  ›  Phones  ›  Audiovox  ›

Audiovox CDM-8450 / CDM-8455 / VI600

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  1  

Average Ratings

2.75
Overall
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      

Poor Battery Life

 

Mar 31, 2004 by harmet

cdm 8450.
This is the second phone I have had in 3 months. The first phone I took back within 2 days because it wouldn't receive voice messages. The second phone has only given on average about one day of battery life with little or no use. The store technician deactivated the GPS locater to try to increase battery life but this didn't help. The battery was replaced and this didn't help. The phone has been sent back for repair. I don't want this phone and I am negotiating another one.
Do your research carefully before buying a phone!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


We like it!!

 

Apr 9, 2004 by Kathyo71

My husband and I own two of these phones. We love them. PROS: The phone is full of neat features. My phone is as clear as my regular home phone when I talk on it. The ringer seems plenty loud to me. The menu is easy to navigate. Even when going from a very basic phone to this one the transition was smooth due to the ease of this menu. The travel adaptor has a nice distinctive shape making it easy to distinguish from other items plugged in. Maybe not a big deal to some but it's just a nice plus to me.
CONS: So far the only con I see is that in some areas I have to raise the retractable antenna to get the clearest reception and it seems very flimsy to me and I am wondering how long that will last before I have to get a replacement. They were advertised as having a bright blue back light behind the keys and they have the basic yellow green and that is really disappointing to me.
All in all though, I am so glad we got these phones. We have had so much fun with them. We would definitely buy them again if we had it to do over.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


DONT buy it!!

 

Jan 8, 2009 by autumndoppler

do yourself a favor and just dont get this phone, period.

PROS: well...it works, makes calls, sends text.

CONS: terrible reception, slow at sending/receiving texts, t9 software isnt that great, only holds 40 texts, 10 previous calls, speaker is very quiet, no custom ringtones or anything. not stylish at all.

I had it for about a year, and bought it only for sports, because it was cheap. now that i have texting and other things, it is a huge annoyance.
for one, no bluetooth.

its ugly, you cant deny it. and the screen is very hard to read in the dark, even with the backlight.

so, if you are just looking for a phone solely to make calls, and nothing else, you might like this.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Nice little number

 

Apr 4, 2008 by 49ways

I had this phone for about three years. At the time I wasn't into high-tech stuff, so I didn't care that this was a basic phone. My experience was quite pleasant with this phone.

PROS
- small, neat candy bar style
- decent ringtones; several to choose
- downloadable games
- good call quality for me
- buttons were easy to press; easy one-handed use
- quick commands like locking/unlocking the keypad, silent mode, voice dialing

CONS
- didn't care for the antenna stub
- battery life got dismal as time went on

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


UGH!!!

 

Dec 13, 2005 by AMBERQUEST9

Repair repair repair.......I have sold this unit for a Canadian telcom provider. I actually tried not too SELL IT. Voice quality is weak and reception ok.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


omg!!!

 

Dec 13, 2004 by neowarrior4

This has got to be the best f***ing phone i have ever had i mean the screen is picture perfect and the camera is alwesome it even has zoom so i advise any 1 that is smart to get this phone.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Rebranding Audiovox to 'Sprint' did not increase quality.

 

Nov 17, 2004 by Diermuid

I have been through a few phones, and this one rates pretty low. It was my wife's phone, and I just had to get it replaced last night.

PROs:
Stylish
Inexpensive
Colorful screen
Sprint Vision compatible
Buttons are raised, and much easier to use than all the new flat-key phones now out.
Feels more solid than other cheapy-feeling phones.

CONs:
Signal strength - my wife's Audiovox was 1-3 bars lower than my Samsung N200 at any given time (pretty much anywhere in Kansas City)
Sound quality - was the worst of any phone we've had to date, very tinny.
Speakerphone - was of poor enough quality that it never got used despite it being a feature that sold us the phone.
Volume - Ringer volume was rather low. When it *did* ring it was barely audible if it was in a purse or on the hip under a leather jacket.
Durability - the reason I found phonescoop, this phone was only half a year old when it had some sort of windows 95 crash & burn. It totally wiped out ALL memory, including not only all of the phone numbers, but it's OWN phone number. I had to take it to the store for reprogramming.

I was lucky when the phone crashed, I found a store that did not have a warrantee replacement on hand, so they put me into a Samsung N400. Similar price, similar features, but signal strength and sound quality were many times better. This was the first handset that really pointed out that my wife's problem was not the Sprint service, it was all in the handset. (And that it wasn't just my wife ::grin::)

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


I may have just gotten a dud

 

Oct 28, 2004 by pilot25

The long review i wrote didn't load so I am just keeping this brief.

About a month or two after i got the phone it starting locking up on me and the only way i could get it to work again was to take the battery out.

Also the battery was not good as i expected, screen was difficult to read when not backlit and speaker was very sensitive to where you put it on your ear.

on the plus side i had good signal when the phone worked and it was a nice small package.

The freezing up kept me from raiting it higher.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Good Phone

 

Apr 19, 2004 by tbrusky1

Pros: Louid Speakerphone,Louid Talk volume,Phonebook up to 300 entries,Awesome design, great black and silver colors to the phone, wonderfully signial, great quality to other people I talk too, and say its sounds like your on a home phone. Battery Life runs more than what Sprint claims its says it does. Ive gotten 4 hours talk time and 10 days standby. And I cant belive on how small it is, the size of a marker long.

Cons: The one thing that really stuck out was in the daytime, your cant hardly see the screen, But it is there though.

All in all, great, small little phone, would buy another. ANd give it to my girlfriend.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Cell phone problems

 

Feb 10, 2004 by tipton

Pros:
When you can get signal you can hear the other ppl clearly and the phone is easy to use

Cons:
The phone has given me nothing but problems since I got it. The signal is weak and it should be strong, the battery dies after one day of little use.
Also I have to say hello about 2 to 3 times before the other party can here me. Half the time I miss all my calls because they dont show and when I go to check my missed calls, it either doesn't show up or only shows the most recent.
To all the buyers.. DONT DO IT.. Its a piece of crap!!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

 
Page  1 2

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
1