Phone Scoop

printed October 30, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=246

Home  ›  Phones  ›  Hitachi  ›

Hitachi G1000

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  25  

Average Ratings

2.57
Overall
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      

After one week...Going back to Sprint

 

Aug 2, 2003 by Ken Kohl

I purchased the G1000 knowing it was on the hefty side, but thought I could get used to it. The phone is just too heavy and bulky. The battery is VERY limiting, I can barely make it through the day just using it as a phone. The most perplexing thing to me is that you have a very large screen to take advantage of and caller ID and system messages are tiny characters sometimes unreadable. Overall a big disappointment, nothing really good to say about it!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


MUY, MUY GRANDE!

 

Aug 3, 2003 by Edgar Cartagena

When i first saw, i said i must have it, what a disapointment. This phone is way too big, hitachi could have done a better job at designing this pocket pc, they need to recall this phone and go back to the drawing table and come up with a smaller design. The camera takes great pictures and all the other included features are great. The phone feature got stuck on the off position for me and would not come on at all, i called sprint and after an hour on the phone and multiple reps i was finally asked to reset the phone and it worked, i was now able to make calls. The reception is not the best at all. In areas where i normally got 5 bars with a sanyo 8100, with the g1000 i would only get 1 or 2. I'm in the baltimore wash d.c. area and the network here is pretty solid, not with this phone. If this phone ends up being a corporate executive's 1st experience with sprint, he will advise the entire company to get a better provider all because of the poor reception put out by this unit. Making this unit single band was a bad choice in part both by sprint and hitachi, a smaller unit and at least dual band would have been more appealing when you're asking for $650+ tax and a $36 activation fee even if you're an existing customer just changing units. Over all this was a huge disappointment for me, i thought i was finally going to be able to carry just one gadget, but it looks like i will have to continue carrying two for now.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


gone back to sprint

 

Jun 17, 2007 by phoneman33

Phone is crap.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Hitachi SH-G100

 

Nov 25, 2006 by Guitarguyok

I'm awaiting my PC/Cell Phone and have really high thoughts to it. Travel with me through the programing, to use....Will reply when phone is Charged and ready to be used. Let's see if old Technology can keep up with the pace. Plus buying a SDIO card for wireless hot-spots, and Wi-Fi in general.
Can't wait.
Guitarguyok

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Big Ol' Phone

 

Dec 18, 2005 by BIGHOPS2000

I bought my hitachi g1000 on the internet in spite of my friends skepticism in Internet purchases. When it came I thought I had a new car from the size of the box...just kidding but I knew something was up when i found out I was tracking a 4 pound package. But the features were AWESOME!!!!!!The phone could do everything but shrink itself....and roam. All in all the phone is great but its way too big unless you can stand getting picked on. Not really something you want to brag about having.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Good Phone

 

Nov 16, 2003 by ds7048

I like the Hitachi G1000. Though it is a little bulky, I'm okay with it. The screen is great. Accessiblity to the internet & my AOL account was a big issue for me. The other phones offered by Sprint just did not measure up to my expectations. I get by all day on one battery charge per day. After 1.5 hours of continuous talk, the battery is down to about 50%. I don't use the key pad as much as I thought I would, but it's a nice option. I find myself resetting the phone daily. I've learned to live with it. Hitachi could have installed at least 128MB of memory, 32MB is not enough. I use a 256MB SD card for all my personal files. Some improvements I recommend to Hitachi, improve the alarm volume, I can barely hear it. More ringer options, increased memory capacity. Over-all, this phone have nice options and it serves my needs well.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Coolest Pocket PC Phone To Date

 

Jul 21, 2003 by D J Dua

I am a certified Gadget Freak.

I have been waiting for the Hitachi G1000 for months and finally had the opportunity of getting one of the first Hitachi G1000 Pocket PC phones in the market.

As soon as I laid my hands on it, it was love at first sight.

The phone can do virtually everything for me. I can browse the Internet, use AOL, check my work email, use https, send Instant Messages, Terminal Server into my work servers, and not have to use the stylus, I use the keypad for everything.

Even though the keypad needs some work, but looking at it that this was the first Pocket PC phone with built in hard keyboard, it works great.

The pictures are not as clear as some of the other devices I have used, but it was pretty OK to view and upload.

I would have loved more memory but with the built in SD / MMC card slot, I use my 256 MB card and the memory becomes awesome.

The speaker quality is not that great, phone volume is not the best also. With the speaker being on the back of the phone, its very hard to listen if you have the speaker on and the phone laying on a table. The ringer volume is also not the best.

The biggest drawback is it that it is bulky, it is not your typical small tiny phone, its big and its a little hard to carry around. But you have to weigh between the weight and the features. Weight is more but the features are limitless.

Would have been better if the phone came with a headset, for $650 a pop the least that could be done was to include a headset.

Battery life also is not the greatest, I still have to get 2.5 hours of talk time even with everything turned off and battery fully charged.

Not to mention the cost. I would have rated this phone better if it was around the $ 400 mark rather than the $ 650 mark.

All in all I would rate this Pocket PC phone at 3.5

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

 
 
Page  1  of 1

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
2