Phone Scoop

printed October 22, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=241

Home  ›  Phones  ›  Audiovox  ›

Audiovox CDM-8900

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  100+  

Average Ratings

3.25
Overall
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      

Love this Phone!

 

Jan 12, 2007 by katkimmom

I recently changed from this phone (Audiovox 8900) to a Nokia 6235i and regretted the change! In fact, I have now gone back to the 8900 because I feel that it is more functional for my needs.

PROS: I like that you can put several phone numbers under one profile rather than having to make a new profile for home numbers, cell number, etc for the same person over and over.

PROS: I love the calendar and all of the functionalities with the TOOLS menu.

CONS: I really have no complaints except that it does not seem to hold a charge as well as the Nokia. Probably need to upgrade to a better quality of battery.

But, long story short...I love this phone!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Worst phone for verizon

 

Jun 13, 2006 by Beautiful_Angel

In the beginning the phone features were great, however with time the phone started going crazy. Suddenly it could restart it self or start vibrating none stop. The reception on the phone is horrible. I can say that I would never buy another phone in my life without first checking all the features and the reviews about it. It has some nice views on it but the rest is not thought true as well as needed.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


Not a bad phone

 

Nov 13, 2005 by Seabass

I have had this phone for about a year or so and I still think it is not too bad and in Canada, Telus offers a fairly decent price on these phones now.
Pros: Weight of phone
I like the look of the phone
Screen is nice and bright
Blue lights on the side are pretty cool

Cons: The camera sucks, plain and simple

All in all, a decent phone for the money

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Great Phone, BAD hinge

 

Oct 3, 2005 by eryngardner

I absolutely love this phone. The way the phone is set up makes more sense then any other phone Ive used. The colors are good, and the phone has a great appearance.

However, I don't know if I would recommend this phone to someone who texts or talks for the following reason: I have gone through 2 of these phones, both broke the same way. The hinge that allows the phone to open and close is of VERY poor quality (meaning is it not strong at all). I use the phone to text alot and eventually the picture on the screen just goes away. I found out (after a phone dissection) that This is because the part of the phone that connects the top to the bottom that goes through the hinge literally rips in half. It has happened twice to me, and will probably happen again LOL.

Even with this problem, i still LOVE this phone. Thats why i just bought a third one. haha. But if you are going to be hard on a phone or open and close the phone ALOT like i did, then this phone is probably not for you.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


No Backlight

 

Jul 9, 2005 by drbruce

I've had this phone for more than a year now. This is actually my second phone since my backlight just went out. It was working fine one day and then all of a sudden, the backlight just stopped working.

PROS:

1. Very small and good design.
2. Blue lights on the side are cool to look at.

CONS:

1. The hinge is poorly made. The backlight would go dead after months of using it.
2. Ringtones aren't loud.
3. Cannot be connected to Pocket PCs via DPCs.
4. HORRIBLE camera. You can't even see anything
5. Speakerphone is utterly useless unless the room is in complete silence.
6. The antenna doesn't seem to make a difference in signal strength.

This phone is discontinued so I don't think anyone will be buying it soon anyway.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Best Phone

 

Oct 25, 2004 by Haneef

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


No Cigar

 

Oct 1, 2004 by lookn4trimode

I got this phone back in July after the salesperson talked me into "updating" my old Kyocera-2235. My only requirements were that the phone be tri-mode and sturdy. I saw the CDM-8900 and was quicky impressed with the sleek style and design of the phone, not to mention the fact it was a tri-mode phone with some extra perks. I was a bit weary of the small, flat key pad, but figured I could live with it. Hence I decided to go for the upgrade. Thank goodness for the 15 day trial.

Pros:
*Tri-mode
*Outstanding reception
*Large, crisp inner display
*Keys were easy to see, especially at night
*Lightweight with a slim, sleek design

Cons:
*Speakerphone (To sum it up, so close but yet so far.)
*Keys are too flat and smooth for large fingers.
*Unable to customize banner without a hassel.
*Outer LCD annoyingly flashes between the Verizon Wireless banner and the date/time.
*Many keystrokes are needed for basic menu actions.

I returned to my old Kyocera after two days of trying to convince myself I could tolerate the phone. I wouldn't try to sway anyone from buying this phone, it just doesn't suit me. Case and point, my girlfriend bought this phone, and despite the fact that after one week, the speakerphone died, she still opted for the same phone as a replacement. Go figure

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Great first phone!

 

Aug 24, 2004 by Smitty20

I just got the phone 2 days agoand i fell in love w/ it the first day i got it! It is very easy to use and the feel of the phone is great! I really like the Camera! It is very high quality and easy to use! I also like how u can put pics as your screensaver, wallpaper, and caller id! I love everything about this phone except 2 things!

1) When u download ringtone u have to do it from the "GET IT NOW" service on your phone!

2) No games. You also do the same thing to get those too!

Over all i love this phone!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


nice and sleek

 

Jul 3, 2004 by hotboy704

i have had this phone for 1 day now i have fell in love with it it has great reception the speaker phone is great it is better then my old Nokia 3570 i just upgraded form the voice memo is great the camera is fantastic the wall papers are great it is just anybody's dream phone. the picture id is nice and how when somebody call's you a little girl plays patty cake with a balloon i have cricket service for over a year now and i love it. it makes the lg5000 look bad the nice blue and purple backlight is the best. i went to a party last night every body was i like that back light color and they send they were all going to buy the Audiovox cdma 900 i would recommend it to anybody

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


An exc ellent phone .... excellent value

 

Jan 27, 2004 by slberfuchs

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

 
Page  1 234...12

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
2