Phone Scoop

printed November 24, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=2358

Home  ›  Phones  ›  Motorola  ›

Motorola Entice W766

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  15  

Average Ratings

4.79
Overall
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      

Best "PHONE" Verizon offers...

 

Apr 11, 2010 by TheMrBillShow

If your main use for a cell phone is to use it's ability to be a portable telephone, then this phone is for you...

One of the very few Verizon phones that
DOES NOT REQUIRE YOU TO BUY A DATA PLAN

As for similar phones I have had the W755, A840, VU30, VX8300, VX8360 & others (the W766 is now replacing my LG VX8360)

=================================

PROS:
Great signal grabbing and holding...
Great earpiece voice reproduction...
Great speakerphone...
Can use speakerphone with flip CLOSED...
You sound great to party you are talking to...
Nicely spaced keypad...
Crisp, Bright main screen...
Large, Useful exterior screen...
UI is OK (Typical Verizon)...
Blue Tooth works better than most...
Blue Tooth has Stereo feature...
Blue Tooth has File Transfer feature...
Music player works nice...
Good external player controls...
External Touch Key for Blue Tooth On/Off...
External Touch Key for Vibrate Only mode...
Lockable external keys (great feature)...
Uses up to an 8GB microSD card...
Uses "standard" microUSB chargers...
Good Battery life...
Will record BOTH sides of a conversation...
Very light (but feels solid)...
Rubberized finish is easy to hold...
It's FREE... (With 2 year contract)...

Cons:
Would be very old school for TEXTERS..
Don't expect much from the Camera functions...
=================================

This is a GREAT PHONE (as a PHONE) and it has nicely rounded set of feature for the "PHONE USER", and as a bonus it has a very usable MP3 player...

If you want a camera, GET A CAMERA... It will work better than any phone's camera... and it will certainly be better than this phones camera... the optics and CCD are not very good...

Rumor has it that Verizon may be dropping this phone, so I'm buying a spare while I still can...

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Excellent easy to use phone

 

Jan 17, 2010 by GuyinLACA

As far as a basic phone for making calls, this phone is the best available for Verizon.

PROS:
-Loud and clear earpiece
-Outstanding reception (better than the E815)
-Lightweight yet solidly constructed, no creaks or loose parts
-Grippy rubber backing
-Huge brightly lit keypad
-Camera works very well in adequate lighting
-Huge external screen, great for time and phone info
-Threaded Messaging
-Entice Display Theme is like the true Motorola UI
-Choice of Grid, List ot Tab menu layout
-Ability to choose main menu items and their position
-Good battery life

CONS:
-Speakerphone could be louder
-Front bezel can be easily scratched/shows fingerprints
-Unable to read texts or view missed calls on the external screen (given it's size, it should)

All in all, I can't fault the phone for such minor things because all have minor quirks, but overall, it's a solid basic phone for anyone who needs a phone for CALLS first.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


GREAT BASIC PHONE

 

Nov 11, 2009 by byoung70

We've been with Verizon for years and have been through many phones. The Entice seems to be a very good quality basic phone. Feels like its built VERY well and tough. Surprisingly has a lot of features for a basic style phone. The very best part of this phone is call and reception performance. There is about a 3 mile stretch of highway I travel everyday to work. Every Verizon phone ive had in the past never got reception here until this Entice. Its reception and call quality are remarkable really.
If I had to pick one con it would be the camera. It's a 2.0 mega-pixel but doesn't seem to meet my expectations of a 2.0. Strangely enough it takes great video! Go figure?!
Would definitely recommend this phone.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Motorola W766

 

Dec 11, 2009 by waltermax

I only got this phone 3 days ago and find it a very good device. I have had LG's the last 2 phones and decided to try something else this time. The battery life is encouraging. After 3 days, it still has 3 bars left. As far as voice clarity, I have had no problems. I checked out all the phones at the Verizon store for their speakerphone capability and this one won out. I use the speakerphone a lot, as I don't enjoy the phone against my ear. The screen could be a bit brighter, but overall it is a great phone and will update this review in the future. It is a comfortable size for me and is a basic, very sturdy and user friendly device. I have had many, many phones in my lifetime and this ranks at or near the top. The signal strength is strong, and I will be traveling with it and be able to tell more later. I highly recommend that you go to Verizon and test all the phones there. But if it's just a great phone you want, this will fill the bill. I don't use the data so cannot report on that, as all that I want is a great phone to compliment the best cellular service in the country.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Decent Reception

 

Nov 4, 2009 by ColoradoStormChaser

One of the few phones carried by Verizon which excels at making and receiving phone calls, in a rubberized clamshell design. It's lightweight, but it feels to me like it's a bit more rugged than the average phone.

Apps: Some apps are available for installation one day, then gone the next, only to return a few days later. Typical VZW-crippled menus. No location-based services.

Compared to v325: A good replacement. Rural fringe-area digital reception almost as good. Battery life comparable (hopefully the w766 will eventually get an extended-life battery like the v325). Better camera.

Compared to E815: Comparable reception, comparable display.

Compared to old analog bag phone: Rural fringe-area reception is far poorer, of course. No signal in some areas where I once had good analog coverage.

Pros: Simple, reliable, fast data downloads, clear display. Can dial by feel without looking, though a few of the keys have that indistiguishable Razr feel to them. Light and easy to hold. MicroSD card.

Cons: Difficult to completely silence it, no connector for external antenna, average speakerphone.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Enticed by Motorola!

 

Oct 7, 2009 by frayway

I usually wait a week before reviewing a new cell phone but I am so excited about this device that I need to shout it out!

After years of ups and downs with LG phones, I chose the brand new Motorola Entice. Yes, its a basic phone, ahhh, but a basic phone on steroids!

I use a speakerphone quite often and I can tell you, the speaker on the Entice is crisp and loud. The graphics are clean and bright; the back of the Entice has a rubberized bottom ensuring a good grip.

Motorola did their homework on this baby. I really like it.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Excellent Phone

 

Oct 4, 2009 by Herd-12

Only have this phone a few days but it is very good, probably the best phone I've had.Fontsize is very readable, reception has been excellent and battery life appears to be very good. This phone works in areas where others have had dropped calls. All the features are very good and easy to access. Highly recommend.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

 
 
Page  1  of 1

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
1