Phone Scoop

printed April 21, 2014
See this page online at:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/user_reviews.php?phone=2308

Home  ›  Phones  ›  Samsung  ›

Samsung Flight A797

 

Info Photos Reviews News Forum  9  

Average Ratings

3.81
Overall
 
 

Add your review

Sort by most:      

good phone

 

Aug 8, 2011 by djrfan15

i gotten this phone last year and i love it but there is sum drawbacks to it though

cons-
there is no audio jack to listen to music :(
the phone glitches often but not as bad as most people say
the last 12% of battery life the phone goes dim and the keyboard light does not work but if you memorize the keyboard like me its not a problem
screen- the screen is very easily to scratch every time it fell screen first even in grass there will be tiny scratches but nothing to worry about if you have a screen protector
speaker- when u listen to music the speaker is not all that loud

pros-
toughness -
i had left this phone in a pile of snow for 2 weeks and could not find it but when i did the phone was still in excellent shape no water damage what so ever
it took about 25 mins to fully charge from complete dead
i dropped this phone several times and had no deep scratches to the outer shell

calls - excellent i had no problems what so ever with either end

interface- it is setup completely simple
battery life
it lasted me all day texting non-stop

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Good Phone with drawbacks

 

May 31, 2011 by JJL767886

i was given this phone for Christmas in 2009 and was totally blown away! it was my first phone ever and it was awesome. i mainly use it for calling, texting, music, and pictures. i have never used the mobile web app because i never needed it. about two months of use i noticed that the screen scratched easily. it has been a good little phone, i would have gotten good service out of it. i did have to take it to a at&t store because it has locked me out from time to time.

pros: nice touch screen, awesome camera, clear calls, button/ touch screen texting capabilities.

cons: can be very sluggish, screen scratches easily, phone calls drop on occasion, battery life sucks, hard to get reception.

all in all, i would probably buy this again.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

AD       more reviews below...


It'll do

 

Aug 14, 2010 by arizwldcat

As an "older" person who uses her phone for (shocker here) making phone calls, I have to say that I am mildly annoyed by the new "high tech" version of the manual. It was "all" contained on a CD-Rom. Cheerfully, I put the disk in my computer and prepared to find out why pressing "accept" when someone was calling me didn't do anything...the phone continued to ring. It seemed a simple straightforward question...how to answer a call. Instead of getting answers, I was treated to 15 minutes of annoying "how to press THIS button" pictures. No answers about answer/reject. How to MAKE a call was there (I had figured that out right away). Finally, I was able to locate the information I needed, but honestly, I HATE having my time wasted!! It seems to me that questions about how to MAKE and ANSWER a call should be in the basic information, explained before anything else.Possibly it WAS there, but buried. I certainly didn't come across it in watching the tutorial.I spent WAY more of my valuable time trying to figure out how to use this phone, which is why I've given it 4 stars.

I will say that I DO like the qwerty keyboard, and the option to use the touchscreen for dialing or to use the keypad. The phone seems like it will be just fine.

(PS...to use the "answer/reject" bar that appears when you're receiving a call, you SLIDE the bar to the side. The touchscreen feature seems hit and miss to me. I have had a difficult time in scrolling through my contacts using the touchscreen. Using the arrows on the keyboard works better).

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


easy to use lots of features

 

Jul 22, 2010 by bassfreak

what more could you want from a phone?
i was hesitant at first because the sliderphones are pretty easy to damage but after a day with the flight i was convinced that its a great phone.. someone said no head phones? they have a few mirco sets and a ton of bluetooth head sets..

pros
very easy to use..
the best touch screen I've yet to use.
capable with micro SDHC cards up to 32 gig.
fits my hand perfect(should fit most mens hand great)..
excellent button layout and the keyboard is nice even thought i don't text much its very easy to use if your a big text freak..

cons.. i wish i could put a few movies on it to watch..
micro usb so my previous chargers don't work

warning if your going to use this as a media player get at least a class 6 sd card other wise it takes for even to transfer..

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Very Impressed!

 

Apr 25, 2010 by LapTopDog

After suffering with the LG VU for over a year, I had convinced myself that I would not go back to another touch screen phone. The LG VU touchscreen was horribly sluggish at best, and with no keyboard, a pain to simply make calls with.

However, I decided to go with the Samsung Flight when it was time for an upgrade, and now after using this phone for about 6 months, I am very pleased. The touch screen is very responsive, which was one of my main concerns. The keys on the slide out keyboard are a bit small and close together, but even with big thumbs, it works for me.

My main complaint is the lack of a headphone jack! What were they thinking?! I realize that everything is moving towards Bluetooth, but not that many people have stereo Bluetooth headphones! For this reason, I am deducting one point.

PROS:
*Very responsive touchscreen
*Very customizable phone (something the LG VU also sucked at)
*Great to be able to make videos that last more than 20 seconds (again, not possible with the VU)

CONS:
*No headphone jack!
*Keyboard a bit too small, plus the top row of buttons is too close to the faceplate.
*And did I mention...no headphone jack!!!

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Samsung Flight = Happy Customer!

 

Jan 31, 2010 by MissTweety25

I love the Samsung Flight, I got one for my son and he is obsessed with it. My whole family uses Samsung products simply because they are the best. This one has a great design and awesome features. Very pleased. I was wondering if it is available on the Straight Talk plan? I'd like to go prepaid and save my family some extra money. Its so economical! Feedback?

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


Not What I thought and Hoped For

 

Jan 26, 2010 by Pure1rish

I had great hopes for this phone. It's little brother, The Samsung "Propel" was a great phone.

Unfortunatley I have not seen this New, "Flight" Hold up well.

It has great features, MP3 Player, Etc...
But the phone does not actually work that well.

Not sure if it was the touch screen that screwed up the model or if it was just not made well, but the battery life, call quality and basic functions all lack in expectations.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.


wonderful phone

 

Jan 13, 2010 by rica1209

i got this phone for christmas and so far it has been great..the good things about this phone are that it has a qwerty keyboard, touchscreen, takes good pics, and ive dropped it many times and it still doesnt have any marks.. its just an overall good phone..some bad things that ive noticed so far are that at times when i am in the middle of a text and not using the keyboard it will turn off by itself or freeze. Also, the keys on the keyboard are close together which doesnt really bother me but it may bother others. this is a good phone and i would encourage people to buy it.

Log In to rate this review or report it as inappropriate.

 
 
Page  1  of 1

Add your review

Have a question about this phone? Ask in the Forum ›

Subscribe to Phone Scoop News with RSS Follow @phonescoop on Twitter Phone Scoop on Facebook Phone Scoop on Google+ Subscribe to Phone Scoop on YouTube Follow on Instagram

 

All content Copyright 2001-2014 Phone Factor, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
Content on this site may not be copied or republished without formal permission.
1